Switch Theme:

Buffmander attached to Riptide still legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Fragile,
they will simply come back with "the mc joined the ic, not the other way around." It is honestly a useless and pointless battle on both sides.
That's because there IS a difference.
Example:
Mephiston cannot join brother Corbulo.
But Corbulo can join Mephiston.
So it's not the same.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kangodo wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Fragile,
they will simply come back with "the mc joined the ic, not the other way around." It is honestly a useless and pointless battle on both sides.
That's because there IS a difference.
Example:
Mephiston cannot join brother Corbulo.
But Corbulo can join Mephiston.
So it's not the same.


I believe the earlier statement essentially saying "if joining were a 2 way street then no IC could ever join a unit without an IC already in it" is a very valid point.

I also believe the RAI supports this as crazy as it might sound. O'Vesa is only taken as part of farsight's personal commander unit. By the codex he starts the game in a unit full of other IC's.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
You have joined an IC to a MC. Hence illegal.

Nope, the mc IC joined the IC

If you claim that joining is two way, then no IC can ever join a unit without the IC rule. Given we know that to be false, your argument is refuted. Please do not repeat it.


Is the IC joined to the same unit that the MC is ?

Then, the IC is joined to the MC, which is a clear violation of the rules. Your argument is based on the flawed thinking that you can order of operations to avoid the rule. The end result is that an IC is joined to an MC within the same unit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Fragile wrote:
Is the IC joined to the same unit that the MC is ?
Yes it is

Fragile wrote:
[Then, the IC is joined to the MC, which is a clear violation of the rules. Your argument is based on the flawed thinking that you can order of operations to avoid the rule. The end result is that an IC is joined to an MC within the same unit.
Incorrect . The IC is joined to the unit which makes it a member of that unit for all rules purposes . The IC did not join the MC. At no time did the IC join a unit containing vehicles or MC

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 01:48:05


 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Fragile wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
You have joined an IC to a MC. Hence illegal.

Nope, the mc IC joined the IC

If you claim that joining is two way, then no IC can ever join a unit without the IC rule. Given we know that to be false, your argument is refuted. Please do not repeat it.


Is the IC joined to the same unit that the MC is ?

Then, the IC is joined to the MC, which is a clear violation of the rules. Your argument is based on the flawed thinking that you can order of operations to avoid the rule. The end result is that an IC is joined to an MC within the same unit.



And your argument is based on a flawed twisting of the words.

Join (action) vs joined to (state)
The rules do not prevent the state of an IC being joined to a MC.
They do prevent the act of an IC joining a MC.
They don't prevent a MC joining an IC.
As others have said: there are plenty of examples to show that 'joining' is not a 2-way action.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Joining is prohibited. Being joined to isn't actually prohibited. It seems like a lot of people think the rules say that an IC can never be in a unit with an MC. They don't. He can't actively perform the action of joining a unit with an MC, but if the MC does the joining, they'll hang out together with no problem!

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

All a matter of opinion o both sides. Neither can prove anything if the other interperates the rules the other way. And was, it is how you ibterperate the rules. Unless you wrote the rules yourself, you can not say otherwise.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Pain4Pleasure, think on this:
The Rule for Joining another Unit requires the Independent Character to move...
If an Independent Character does not move, say they wants to fire a heavy weapon next phase, can that model meet the requirement to Join a unit?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 04:55:09


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fragile wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
You have joined an IC to a MC. Hence illegal.

Nope, the mc IC joined the IC

If you claim that joining is two way, then no IC can ever join a unit without the IC rule. Given we know that to be false, your argument is refuted. Please do not repeat it.


Is the IC joined to the same unit that the MC is ?

Then, the IC is joined to the MC, which is a clear violation of the rules. Your argument is based on the flawed thinking that you can order of operations to avoid the rule. The end result is that an IC is joined to an MC within the same unit.

So youre saying a unit also joins an IC when the IC joins a unit?

Page and graph allowing a non-IC unit to join a unit. When you fail to provide this, your concession will be accepted, given you flat out ignored that your argument has already been refuted.

JOINING is prohibited. BEING JOINED TO is not. There is a difference in language, please dont conflate the two and pretend theyre the same.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Fragile wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
You have joined an IC to a MC. Hence illegal.

Nope, the mc IC joined the IC

If you claim that joining is two way, then no IC can ever join a unit without the IC rule. Given we know that to be false, your argument is refuted. Please do not repeat it.


Is the IC joined to the same unit that the MC is ?

Then, the IC is joined to the MC, which is a clear violation of the rules. Your argument is based on the flawed thinking that you can order of operations to avoid the rule. The end result is that an IC is joined to an MC within the same unit.


There is NO rule stating 'An IC cannot be in a unit with a MC.'

The only restriction is Joining a unit. As we have proven already, When an IC character joins a unit, the unit being joined is NOT performing the act of joining at all. If they were, it would make all instances of any IC joining any unit illegal. (It would work like this if joining was a 2-way street: IC moves into coherency with unit. IC initiates joining. Unit attempts to join. There are no IC's. Joining cannot happen.)

An IC MC can join an IC as the MC is doing the joining and the IC is getting joined.

This is supported by RAW, RAI, and fluff.
RAW: We've discussed this
RAI: The Farsight Enclaves codex mandates you can only take the MC IC as part of a larger IC-only unit. It comes out of the codex and deploys as a singular unit. Since unit was created before the game started, there was no 'joining' process. Since there is zero wording or rules on forcing such a unit to split apart, it stays as is and enters the game like that. I know GW's potential for stupidity is very high, but you cannot tell me the guy writing the farsight enclaves book intended for the 'elite commander bodyguard team' that farsight can include as his unit of bodyguards would make taking one of the bodyguards illegal in the first place.

Now, if farsight leaves that unit, he can't rejoin as O'vesa is there. But if Farsight wants to re-join and ovessa leaves, he can. Then O'vesa can join the unit again.

Fluff: O'vesa is part of Farsight's elite commander-bodyguard team. It would be plain stupid to not allow o'vesa and farsight to occupy the same unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 10:00:09


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Hydromancer,
Do keep in mind that the Farsight Supplement is a 6th Edition Supplement, when it was written there was nothing preventing a Independent Character from joining a O'vesa or a regular Riptide. The Fluff was also written at that point in time, where the concept of these two being joined together was already supported by the Rules. With changes to the Rules there are also changes to 'Authors Intentions,' but short of asking the Author themselves it is near impossible to know what retro-active changes the Rule changes have made.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





JinxDragon wrote:
Hydromancer,
Do keep in mind that the Farsight Supplement is a 6th Edition Supplement, when it was written there was nothing preventing a Independent Character from joining a O'vesa or a regular Riptide. The Fluff was also written at that point in time, where the concept of these two being joined together was already supported by the Rules. With changes to the Rules there are also changes to 'Authors Intentions,' but short of asking the Author themselves it is near impossible to know what retro-active changes the Rule changes have made.

I don't think a change to rules automatically causes the "Author's Intentions" to change unless that part of the book was rewritten. A change of author's intent is not explicitly or implicitly changed by a change in another book, only the rules that the first derives. Since none of the fluff or wording of Farsight's command team has changed from 6e, it would be fair to say that the Fluff and RAI has not changed either.

The change mainly stops spam of the combo (buffmander/tide + shadowsun/tide, and super farsight bomb), which is toxic, and only ever allows a one off of this type of unit with O'vesa so you can't sandwich your Warlord and his unit between two Riptides.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 19:18:16


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Nilok, it all comes down to the question:
Did the Author of the Farsight Enclave have any input into the new Independent Character Special Rule?

Everyone has the ability to change their mind on certain matters, and the Authors are in a position to do so with every edition re-write of the basic Rules. Even if we could answer the difficult question of what Author was thinking when they penned the Rule and Fluff interaction, it is still impossible to determine if that original intention is carried over into 7th Edition. If they are the same Author and the intention of the new Independent Character Restriction was to prevent O'vesa from joining ShadowSun, then it would be impossible for us to state that the Farsight Enclave Author wants the two to be joined within 7th edition.

Personally, I feel that the current Rule still support the 'original intention' of a O'Vesa being in the same Unit as the commander they have devoted their life to personally protecting but that is irrelevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 20:29:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Ultimately, rules as written allows it owing to O'Vesa being the only (I think) IC who is also an MC. They've had the opportunity to put out an FAQ and haven't.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





JinxDragon wrote:
Nilok, it all comes down to the question:
Did the Author of the Farsight Enclave have any input into the new Independent Character Special Rule?

Everyone has the ability to change their mind on certain matters, and the Authors are in a position to do so with every edition re-write of the basic Rules. Even if we could answer the difficult question of what Author was thinking when they penned the Rule and Fluff interaction, it is still impossible to determine if that original intention is carried over into 7th Edition. If they are the same Author and the intention of the new Independent Character Restriction was to prevent O'vesa from joining ShadowSun, then it would be impossible for us to state that the Farsight Enclave Author wants the two to be joined within 7th edition.

Personally, I feel that the current Rule still support the 'original intention' of a O'Vesa being in the same Unit as the commander they have devoted their life to personally protecting but that is irrelevant.


I never said it was to prevent O'vesa from joining Shadowsun, simply to prevent any spam of the combo, reducing it to one unit and the T6 Farsight deathstar. O'vesa joining Shadowsun makes it tough as nails, but isn't as effective since the ECPA already provides the reroll 1s. But other than that, I see what your saying, but to say we can't take it into account what is in the book when it could have been errated but wasn't basically says that the information is invalid.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/28 22:04:15


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Cobleskill

If you know a player trying to combine O'Vesa and Shadowsun, kindly point them towards 'Divergent Destiny' on FE P. 50

'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
Racerguy180 wrote:
rules come and go, models are forever...like herpes.
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






I don't see why it is a big deal. It's not even a good strategy. Sure, let the guy form up into some ridiculous gunline. He would be tabled turn 3 in my meta.


There is a good reason Tau has barely placed top 10 in the last major few tournaments.

Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 carldooley wrote:
If you know a player trying to combine O'Vesa and Shadowsun, kindly point them towards 'Divergent Destiny' on FE P. 50


Good thing the FAQ changed Divergent Destiny to read "A Farsight Enclaves Detachment cannot include Aun'va or Commander Shadowsun."

Just take Shadowsun in a different Detachment and there's no reason O'Vesa can't join her.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Lord Commissar wrote:
I don't see why it is a big deal. It's not even a good strategy. Sure, let the guy form up into some ridiculous gunline. He would be tabled turn 3 in my meta.


There is a good reason Tau has barely placed top 10 in the last major few tournaments.


Quite a few of the things we debate in YMDC aren't really useful tactics. The tactics sub forum is for debating strategy and tactics. We're just trying to establish whether or not something is viable.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/29 00:03:22


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I do apologize, I meant joining Farsight as that is the commander the bodyguards are selected for.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/29 01:35:32


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





7th actually changed how characters join units.

they do not join units by moving within 2" and they they are joined, so there is no order of who joined who.

IC can join a unit by moving within 2"

then at the end of the movement phase for the player, the IC

In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining. If an Independent Character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must (where possible) remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase.


So the joining doesn't happen until the end of the movement phase, and there obviously is no order at the end of the phase.

the issue then becomes, that you only pick who is joining what in the case of the IC being in range of more than one unit. If it is just two ICs within 2" you don't have the option to pick.

as such you cannot have certain ICs join other ICs as some people have suggested, because they join each other at the same time at the end of the movement phase, you don't get to actually declare who joined who in that case.

in the case of the buffmander and Ovesa this is possibly illegal. one of the units does not have permission to join the other IC joined to MC. The MC-IC does have permission to join to the IC, so it creates a weird situation where half of the joining is illegal and there is no actual RAW to make that part not count.

Ovesa can join non ICs, or units that contain an IC as its not a lone IC anymore but rather an MC-IC joining a unit, which is allowed.

This also means if for some reason the Buffmander+whatever and ovesa ends up being reduced to ovesa+buffmander you have an unit combination you are not illegal allowed to form, much like Crimson Slaughter possessed in a Rhino getting the beast effect and beasts not being allowed in a rhino.

At that point I guess they would stay together as there is no RAW preventing them from remaining in a unit, just RAW preventing them from joining at the end of the movement phase.



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/29 01:50:34


 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

I think you have that wrong Blaktoof. The quote you have provided refers to "their" MP, "its" MP. The only time it refers to the end of the MP is to state that an IC must be 2 or more inches away.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

blaktoof wrote:
7th actually changed how characters join units.

they do not join units by moving within 2" and they they are joined, so there is no order of who joined who.

IC can join a unit by moving within 2"

then at the end of the movement phase for the player, the IC

In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining. If an Independent Character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must (where possible) remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase.


So the joining doesn't happen until the end of the movement phase.

the issue then becomes, that you only pick who is joining what in the case of the IC being in range of more than one unit.

as such you cannot have certain ICs join other ICs as some people have suggested, because they join each other at the same time at the end of the movement phase, you don't get to actually declare who joined who in that case.

in the case of the buffmander and Ovesa this is possibly illegal. one of the units does not have permission to join the other IC joined to MC. The MC-IC does have permission to join to the IC, so it creates a weird situation where half of the joining is illegal and there is no actual RAW to make that part not count.

Ovesa can join non ICs, or units that contain an IC as its not a lone IC anymore but rather an MC-IC joining a unit, which is allowed.

This also means if for some reason the Buffmander+whatever and ovesa ends up being reduced to ovesa+buffmander you have an unit combination you are not illegal allowed to form, much like Crimson Slaughter possessed in a Rhino getting the beast effect and beasts not being allowed in a rhino.

At that point I guess they would stay together as there is no RAW preventing them from remaining in a unit, just RAW preventing them from joining at the end of the movement phase.





There is nothing illegal about an IC and an MC IC being in the same unit. No rule prevents this situation. If you believe a rule makes this illegal, please quote the rule.

Also, you seem to think ICs somehow rejoin a unit at the end of every movement phase. Not so. Once joined, they remain a part of that unit until they willingly move out of coherency. If you believe that an IC rejoins a unit at the end of every movement phase, please quote the rule.

Ultimately, this is a situation unique to a named special character. I'm not sure why everyone is so opposed to this. The rules aren't vague or unclear. Nothing prevents O'Vesa from joining another IC or a unit with an IC. Nothing prevents O'Vesa and another IC from both joining a unit at the same time (since up until the time of joining, the target unit has no MC in it and both IC joinings occur at the same time - end of the movement phase). There seems to be a persistent misunderstanding of how ICs join units, remain with units and leave units.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Blaktoff,
Sequencing!

Whenever we have two Rules which are triggering at the same point in the time-line then we are required to nominate an order in which the Rules are being resolved. This is especially true if we have multiple versions of the same Rule to be resolved, as they will undoubtedly have the same timing involved. This makes it entirely possible for us to nominate to Join one Model first, then another and then the last in a order of operations which violate no written Rule. It also makes it a lot more difficult to demand that the two Independent Characters are joining together at the same time, as that would requires us to resolve both rules Simultaneously and we only have permission to do so sequentially by default.

Besides, what if I do not move the Model being Joined?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/29 02:02:58


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





JinxDragon wrote:
Blaktoff,
Sequencing!

Whenever we have two Rules which are triggering at the same point in the time-line then we are required to nominate an order in which the Rules are being resolved. This is especially true if we have multiple versions of the same Rule to be resolved, as they will undoubtedly have the same timing involved. This makes it entirely possible for us to nominate to Join one Model first, then another and then the last in a order of operations which violate no written Rule. It also makes it a lot more difficult to demand that the two Independent Characters are joining together at the same time, as that would requires us to resolve both rules Simultaneously and we only have permission to do so sequentially by default.

Besides, what if I do not move the Model being Joined?


I don't think it would matter if the model moved or not, since the check is at the end of the movement phase and at that point you made the choice to move any model you wanted (or forgot, I forget somttimes, everyone does ya know! )

Regarding the sequencing, you are correct on that, the owning player would get to pick the sequencing and the result would be as you state.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Blaktoff,
You quoted the Rule yourself:
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase

The requirement to Move is just as much part of the Rule as being within 2 inches at the end of their Movement Phase, so a Model which fails to Move can never Join another.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, "has to move" is unambiguous in direction
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

I posted the following in another similar thread. I think it sums up the various issues...

I don't have page numbers to quote, as I'm using the eBook version, but all of these quotes come from the Independent Character section of the main rulebook.

"Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join units that contain vehicles or Monstrous Creatures. They can join other Independent Characters, though, to form a powerful multi-character unit!"

Ok, so this establishes that Independent Characters can join other units. It establishes that they can join other Independent Characters. It prohibits them from joining units that contain vehicles or Monstrous Creatures. So far, so good.

But how does he actually perform the join?

"In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase."

So, for an Independent Character to join a unit of Crisis Suits, he must simply move such that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of the unit of Crisis Suits at the end of the Crisis Suits' movement phase.

Ok, so what happens now that he's joined the unit?

"While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters."

Sure sounds like he's considered to be a part of the unit. Now, how does he leave the unit?

"An Independent Character can leave a unit during the Movement phase by moving out of unit coherency with it."

This makes sense. If he can just walk up, then he can just walk off. But there has been a serious implication that the simple act of moving causes an Independent Character to leave and rejoin a unit. Well, he's a part of the unit for all rules purposes. Let me check the rules on how a unit moves. The first bit is quoted from the movement section under Which Models are Moving. The second bit is quoted from the movement section under Unit Coherency.

"You may decide that only some of the models in a unit are going to move this turn. If this is the case, declare which models are remaining stationary just before you start moving the other models of that unit. Remember that all models in the unit must still maintain unit coherency (see below)."

"When you are moving a unit, its individual models can each move up to their maximum movement distance. However, units have to stick together, otherwise individual models become scattered and the unit loses its cohesion as a fighting force. So, once a unit has finished moving, the models in it must form an imaginary chain where the distance between one model and the next is no more than 2" horizontally and up to 6" vertically. We call this ‘unit coherency’."

Ok, so I have a unit composed of a Commander and 3 Crisis Suits. I choose to move them. I know that the Commander CAN leave the unit during the movement phase by moving out of unit coherency with the other Suits, but I don't want him to leave quite yet. Let me fall back on the standard unit movement rules for the unit to see how a move works. Looks like I declare that no models are remaining stationary and move each model up to 6", which is the movement range of both the Commander and the Crisis Suits he is hanging out with. Now, when I move the models up to 6", I have to ensure that they remain within 2" unit coherency of each other. Fantastic! I've followed all the rules to the exact letter and I was able to move while remaining joined to a unit insomuch as I did not leave the unit. At no point was the Commander out of unit coherency, which is the requirement for leaving a unit.

Now let's try the exercise with O'Vesa and Farsight/3 Crisis Suits.

During my movement phase, I choose to move Farsight and the Crisis Suits 6" forward. I move them towards O'Vesa, but can only get far enough that I'm just over 4" away. Farsight and crew will take no further action this movement phase. Now it's O'Vesa's turn. O'Vesa moves closer to Farsight and crew such that he is within 1" of a Crisis Suit (or Farsight... makes no difference). He is intending on joining Farsight's unit. O'Vesa can do this because Farsight's unit is not a unit containing a vehicle or a Monstrous Creature. I conclude my movement phase. Since I am now at the end of Farsight and crew's movement phase and am in unit coherency, they are now joined as one unit with O'Vesa.

In my next movement phase, I decide to move the unit forward. I declare that no models are remaining stationary and move each model 6" forward, making sure to keep them within 2" unit coherency of each other. Since Farsight and O'Vesa are both part of the unit for all rules purposes, I've used the standard unit movement rules above. At no point did they break coherency, so at no point did either model leave the unit. They are still joined.

In my next movement phase, I decide to have Farsight go off on his own. I move Farsight 6" due east and I move the rest of the unit, O'Vesa and the Crisis Suits, 6" due west. Once I've completed the movement I notice that Farsight is no longer in coherency and has therefore left the unit. This was intentional.

In my next movement phase, I decide that Farsight is lonely. I attempt to move Farsight back into unit coherency with his Crisis Suit buddies, but he is forced to stop just outside of 2". This is because he is forbidden from joining a unit that contains a Monstrous Creature and the Crisis Suit unit currently contains a Monstrous Creature! Oh, woe is he. Farsight should have just stayed joined the whole time.

...

Now, I've posted rules. I've posted a very specific scenario showing how you can join Farsight and O'Vesa into one unit. And just in case you try to say that they are joining each other... as per the above, joining requires movement. As per this quote from The Movement Phase section, you completely move one unit and then move onto the next unit.

"In your turn, you can move any of your units – all of them if you wish – up to their maximum movement distance. Once a unit has completed all of its movement, you can select another unit and move that one, and so on, until you have moved all of the units you wish to move."

It would be a violation of the rules if they joined each other because it would necessitate that they both be moving at the same time, and it's pretty clear that you move one unit completely before moving onto the next.

Now...

I've had my say. Please explain to me how they are joining each other or how they're leaving and joining each time they move despite never being out of coherency with each other. And when you give this explanation, please do me the courtesy of quoting rules as I did for you.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Can you join O'vesa to a unit with Buffmander in reserves? If so, how? If not, why not?

My take - In that situation you would have to roll off to see who controls the sequencing.

Spoiler:
SEQUENCING
While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to
be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar.
When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then
the player whose turn it is chooses the order. If these things occur before or after the
game, or at the start or end of a game turn, the players roll-off and the winner decides in
what order the rules are resolved in.


The reserves situation underscores that even though O'vesa can join Buffmander unit per RAW the rules are convoluted since sequencing is awkardly significant in a situation where sequencing should have nothing to do with resolution.
It becomes a situation where, outside of a house rule, you have to uphold RAW but really, really want an FAQ confirming RAW. Rolling off to see if you can join O'vesa to Buffmander in reserves is just dumb and raises a red flag that something is wrong with RAW if we wind up doing a roll off to see who controls the sequencing.

But sure I reluctantly agree to following RAW and allowing O'vesa to join Buffmander in the absence of a house rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/29 20:05:08


 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

col_impact wrote:
Can you join O'vesa to a unit with Buffmander in reserves? If so, how? If not, why not?

My take - In that situation you would have to roll off to see who controls the sequencing.

Spoiler:
SEQUENCING
While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to
be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar.
When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then
the player whose turn it is chooses the order. If these things occur before or after the
game, or at the start or end of a game turn, the players roll-off and the winner decides in
what order the rules are resolved in.


The reserves situation underscores that even though O'vesa can join Buffmander unit per RAW the rules are convoluted since sequencing is awkardly significant in a situation where sequencing should have nothing to do with resolution.
It becomes a situation where, outside of a house rule, you have to uphold RAW but really, really want an FAQ confirming RAW. Rolling off to see if you can join O'vesa to Buffmander in reserves is just dumb and raises a red flag that something is wrong with RAW if we wind up doing a roll off to see who controls the sequencing.

But sure I reluctantly agree to following RAW and allowing O'vesa to join Buffmander in the absence of a house rule.


I don't think the rules are particularly convoluted, nor is the sequencing awkward. I feel like it's pretty straightforward. I also feel like sequencing is absolutely key to the resolution as we're talking about a process that involves moving and you move one unit after another. Moving your units in the correct order to achieve the desired outcome while following RaW can be a tactical move.

Anyways, as to Reserves... Small Rulebook, page 135, Combined Reserve Units section - "During Deployment, when deciding which units are kept as Reserves, you must specify if any of the Independent Characters in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they arrive together." So, you have two things going on at the same time.

1. I specify that Farsight is joining the Crisis Suits in Reserves.
2. I specify that O'Vesa is joining the Crisis Suits in Reserves.

This happens before the start of the game, so you'd technically have to roll off with your opponent to see which resolves first. If Farsight joins first, you're fine. If O'Vesa joins first, then Farsight is out of luck. I think I would only demand this roll off if I was in a hyper competitive tournament environment where sportsmanship wasn't as important as winning. In a real world scenario, I'd most likely let the O'Vesa player pick the order.

I also don't think the fact that a Reserves scenario requires a roll off has any impact whatsoever on the in game situation. If it's my turn, I get to pick the order. If it's before the game, the order is randomly chosen. That's pretty straightforward.


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Indeed,
The O'vesa / Farsight combination is not the only one which is affected by the Sequencing Rule when applied to Reserves, though one of the more controversial, and my view on these matters in the past still remains unchanged: We obey the Written Rule. Besides, the concept of an entire tactic based around random chance is not at all strange, given how we Generate Psychic Powers. Should a player wish to use this tactic from Reserves, then they do so knowing they are at the mercy of a random chance element because that is how the Rules as Written.

However, given that this is all a game, I am more then willing to Rule in favour of my opponent even if I win the Roll off.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/29 22:16:38


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: