Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 05:09:40
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Movement rules say skimmers forced to move over enemies stop before they get within 1".
Question is: Is deep striking movement, or deployment.
If it's deployment, then how to summoned units get summoned by Imperial armies, since they deep strike onto the board but can't be placed within 12" of a come the apocalypse ally.
Kind of rests on whether deep striking onto the board, and the subsequent scatter, counts as movement or as something else.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 05:47:31
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The scatter and placement is not movement.
Deep Striking counts as moving.
Skimmers mishap before the Deep Strike rule is finished resolving and therefore can't be forced to end their move over a unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 05:56:01
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
thankyou for bringing up one of the most contested arguments on these sites, Spellbound. Personally, I don't really care, but in a competitive enviroment, I'd push for mishaps.
As I say this though, keep in mind that I do not use deep striking skimmers. I wish that my Tau vehicles had the rule, but that is another story.
|
'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 09:11:24
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It mishaps.
It's not movement or deployment, it's " arriving by deep strike ", which makes the unit count as having moved but does not follow anything like a movement mechanic.
It's important to understand that even though the model is generally placed on the table prior to the scatter roll, it's not on the battlefield yet.
It's just being put in a theoretical position where it should land if there was no scatter.
Then, the scatter is rolled, and the unit enters play where the scatter dice said, and it mishaps if it must.
There is no movement with Deep Strike, there is no big tournament clarification that stands by the 1" move, and there is no logical argument supporting that camp either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:05:35
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
It doesn't say that exactly, if I remember right.
[Rustling noise]
Ah, here we are. Page 83.
"If a Skimmer is forced to end its move over friendly or enemy models, move the Skimmer the minimum distance so that no models are left underneath it."
'No model underneath' is not the same as 'no model within 1"'. Even if you allow the rule to apply during deep striking, you end up in base contact with enemy models, which is still a mishap. Compare the wording to the Trygon/Drop Pod, which reduce scatter by sufficent 'to avoid the mishap' or similar wordings.
I would potentially let you use it to avoid mishaps from landing on friendly troops, though, since you can place friendly models - even if they're from different units - in base contact.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:17:51
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Ya, the skimmer rule does nothing for deep striking.
On an aside, it was realized that this can be used so if a flyer is forced to stop over a model, it shifts off it. Though if it moves backwards to less than 18", it will crash.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:25:36
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Nilok wrote:Ya, the skimmer rule does nothing for deep striking.
On an aside, it was realized that this can be used so if a flyer is forced to stop over a model, it shifts off it. Though if it moves backwards to less than 18", it will crash.
You mean i can intentionally crash them?! That's great!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:37:46
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
koooaei wrote:
You mean i can intentionally crash them?! That's great!
They have to move the shortest distance off the models, so it may not crash depending on where the flyer "rests". Based on the way it is written, it may be possible to shuffle sideways(?) if you place the flyer perfectly, though that needs it's own thread for.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/19 10:38:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:41:51
Subject: Re:Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
No, i mean i do want to crash flyers from time to time. And now i have a rule allowance to make a bunch of kamikaze blitza bombers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/19 10:42:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:46:09
Subject: Re:Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
koooaei wrote:No, i mean i do want to crash flyers from time to time. And now i have a rule allowance to make a bunch of kamikaze blitza bombers.
I don't think you would be able to drop a bomb before you exploded on that movement, though if you need that "spare" bomb...
The standard word of warning, check with your opponent/ TO, no sense being "That Guy" and not being able to play in the long run, though if that kind of stuff is the norm at your place, happy flying.
EDIT: You mileage may very since it says "If a Skimmer is forced to end its movement over a friendly or enemy models" which leads me to believe that you can only get it to work if you have Locked Velocity.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/19 10:52:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:56:08
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
Little Rock, Arkansas
|
Yeah it's kind of like getting your king into check. You can't really do it intentionally, your opponent has to help.
|
20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 14:12:12
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I was asking mostly to see if there's SOME saving grace for the awful, awful dreadclaw drop pod forgeworld recently updated the rules for.
Imagine a drop pod that can mishap by scattering into enemies, but it costs 100 points, eats the passengers, and can't use its weapons if it disembarks anyone.
.....yay...
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 14:36:31
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its a drop pod that isnt an immobile vehicle though, so you dont have to DS as close - you can stay a decent distance away, as you can move 6" disembark 6" and then assault.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 15:49:51
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DS models count as moving, but they did not move.
there is no end or beginning of their movement, you can't actually measure their start to end movement position.
the skimmer will mishap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 17:01:36
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
oh god, not again this...
OK, my 5cents is, deep striking is moving, scattering though, isn't (supported by the fact that you can't change facing) so yes, it mishaps.
|
I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 17:37:05
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
side note:
Drop Pods state to reduce the distance to avoid the 'obstacle,' and what that means is open to debate.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 17:45:48
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Crawfordsville Indiana
|
As written the rule does absolutely nothing besides wasting ink, increasing word count, and creating arguments. As intended, I believe(but can not prove do to shoddy rules writing) it was intended to work to protect it from mishaps. I do reason it with the removal of the deep strike protection from the monolith.
I don't think this rule applies to a flyer, as a flyer is not a skimmer.
|
All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 01:26:43
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Yeah but the dreadclaw A) must deep strike in hover mode, so it's a skimmer B) does not have the marine drop pod's inertial guidance rule
And for the one poster saying you can move 6" then disembark 6" after deep striking, you in fact can't. It counts as moving combat speed already when it deep strikes, so you can only disembark.
Although I suppose, if I didn't want to get out, I could deep strike and move 6", declaring it as moving cruising speed (combat speed deep strike, then move further to move at cruising speed). I don't know if anything forbids me from doing that, hmmm...
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 01:30:35
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Spellbound wrote:Yeah but the dreadclaw A) must deep strike in hover mode, so it's a skimmer B) does not have the marine drop pod's inertial guidance rule
And for the one poster saying you can move 6" then disembark 6" after deep striking, you in fact can't. It counts as moving combat speed already when it deep strikes, so you can only disembark.
Although I suppose, if I didn't want to get out, I could deep strike and move 6", declaring it as moving cruising speed (combat speed deep strike, then move further to move at cruising speed). I don't know if anything forbids me from doing that, hmmm...
Well other than the Deep Strike rules forbidding further movement (except disembarking).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 01:35:56
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
"A flyer can move over intervening units and impassable terrain exactly as a skimmer" - page 84 first sentence, third paragraph on the 2nd column.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 02:33:43
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Spell - more that the turn after you can move disembark and charge. You can also re embark so aren't stuck in one place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 05:18:57
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
@Happyjew seriously? Even flat-out movement?
It doesn't prevent running or turbo-boosting, so why would it affect moving flat out, unless it specifically says so?
Man, there's just no way I can make the new dreadclaw rules work even remotely in my favor. It's just 100 points of sheer and utter worse-than-marine-pod rules.
100 points for mishappable, no guns, hurts itself on a 1, eats a model inside (including a dreadnought) on a 1, terrible weapons and limited use as a dedicated transport utter and total crap.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 10:56:58
Subject: Does a deep striking skimmer stop 1" away from enemy units instead of suffering a mishap?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The Dreadclaw can also Jink, which is pretty sweet.
|
|
 |
 |
|