Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/15 23:28:11
Subject: In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Or does that just mean that when you take one as a dedicated transport, it fills up a heavy slot?
Secondly, could I purchase a Land Raider for some terminators, then give it to a unit of death company?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/15 23:35:32
Subject: In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Or does that just mean that when you take one as a dedicated transport, it fills up a heavy slot?
If it is the heavy support section you can take it as a heavy support choice, if taken as dedicated transport(if it even can be*) it would become the same type as the unit taking it but not taking a slot(so for termies it becomes elite).
Secondly, could I purchase a Land Raider for some terminators, then give it to a unit of death company?
You could but they would have to board it on your first turn as they can't start the game in another units dedicated transport.
*I don't have the BA codex so not sure what if anything can take land raiders as DT.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/15 23:47:30
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/16 14:04:04
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Both of these questions should be in the codex and rule book. Dakka is not a sub for the book. YMTC is more for unclear question that GW has chosen not to address.
|
<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/16 14:30:26
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
jason1977 wrote:Both of these questions should be in the codex and rule book. Dakka is not a sub for the book. YMTC is more for unclear question that GW has chosen not to address.
They are not really addressed in the books, more of a logical conclusion from what is read in the books.
YMDC is both for debating vague/unknown situations as much as it is to answer standard "how do you do this" questions.
From the mod posts:
"YMTC - How YOU Play the Game of 40k, a series of polls dedicated to finding out how players actually *play* some of the trickier situations in the 40k rules."
TheAvengingKnee covered the answers though.
You can take Land Raider as Heavy support choices, embarking whoever you want.
Or you can purchase them for Units with Dedicated Transport (Land Raider) as an Option. In that case, only that Unit can embark, and they do not use a Heavy Support Slot.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 13:10:23
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
jason1977 wrote:Both of these questions should be in the codex and rule book. Dakka is not a sub for the book. YMTC is more for unclear question that GW has chosen not to address.
The point is they're not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 13:58:45
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch
|
BlackTalos wrote:
You can take Land Raider as Heavy support choices, embarking whoever you want.
Or you can purchase them for Units with Dedicated Transport (Land Raider) as an Option. In that case, only that Unit can embark, and they do not use a Heavy Support Slot.
Not entirely true.
If you purchase the Land Raider as a Dedicated Transport, only the unit who's Dedicated Transport it is, can start the game embarked (but they don't have to). Once that Land Raider is on the board, any infantry model from the same faction (or Battle Brothers) can embark on that Land Raider.
|
12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 14:07:09
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
natpri771 wrote: jason1977 wrote:Both of these questions should be in the codex and rule book. Dakka is not a sub for the book. YMTC is more for unclear question that GW has chosen not to address.
The point is they're not.
No. They are. You just have to actually read the book to find it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 14:08:38
Subject: Re:In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hansisaf wrote: BlackTalos wrote:
You can take Land Raider as Heavy support choices, embarking whoever you want.
Or you can purchase them for Units with Dedicated Transport (Land Raider) as an Option. In that case, only that Unit can embark, and they do not use a Heavy Support Slot.
Not entirely true.
If you purchase the Land Raider as a Dedicated Transport, only the unit who's Dedicated Transport it is, can start the game embarked (but they don't have to). Once that Land Raider is on the board, any infantry model from the same faction (or Battle Brothers) can embark on that Land Raider.
Indeed, my point only applies in term of deployment options.
Both methods can indeed start empty, with any Unit moving into them on Turn 1.
As the question was more on which slot they belong to, it was the long answer for:
Either, but not both.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 16:11:13
Subject: In A BA Army Using The New Codex, Can You Take A Land Raider As A Heavy Support Choice?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
This is actually a pretty good question, because the Codex is easily misleading.
If you take a Land Raider to fill a Heavy Support slot, it is considered to have Battlefield Role "Heavy Support" and ANY unit that is able to embark can start the game inside the Land Raider.
If you take a Land Raider as a Dedicated Transport choice for a unit of Assault Terminators it is considered to have the Battlefield Role "Elites" (because it was bought for an Elites unit) and ONLY the Terminators and any attached ICs (because ICs count as a part of the unit for all rules purposes) can start the game inside the Land Raider.
In essence, there are TWO Land Raiders in the Codex... the Heavy Support version and the Dedicated Transport version. They are each treated slightly differently.
You can deploy either with NO embarked units and then just embark ANY eligible unit after the game has started on your first turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|