Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 02:40:50
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Ohio, United States
|
hi, I tried searching and didn't see anything regarding this;
Are you allowed to attach necron lords from your primary CAD to a unit in a separate formation?
|
★★★Wears velvet tracksuits everywhere I go Crew★★★
★★★Trying to become NGA Pro Bodybuilder Crew★★★
★★★MISC Crew★★★ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 03:27:56
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
No, units that don't take up a foc slot must be included in the detachment or formation that unlocked them. So lords and crypteks have to be in the same formation as the overlord. Sw lone wolves have to be in the same detachment as the troops choice that unlocked them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 03:39:37
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
I would say yes. I haven't read anything empirically imperative contrary to allowing it. A good example to extrapolate from is The Conclave of the Burning One. It explicitly prohibits ICs from joining it. So its a safe bet ICs can in fact join Battle brother formations, just like any other allied detachment. You just can't take a IC from given formation, and have him join your BBC CAD.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/08 03:41:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 03:55:12
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
I don't see anything disallowing this. Royal court just says that each member may split off to join another unit, it does not specify that it must be in the same detachment. Furthermore, I believe this would allow the Lord/Cryptek to benefit from certain special rules from that formation such as Crownworld Reawakened (re-roll 1s for reanimation). I base this on this entry from the Necron FAQ: Q: Do models from a Royal Court that are attached to a Deathmark Squad benefit from the Hunters from Hyperspace special rule? (p90) A: Yes. So that sets a precedent that attached royal court members benefit from special rules that affect the unit they are attached to. The wording for Crownworld Reawakened and Hunters from Hyperspace are worded similarly, so it seems like the ruling would transfer over. This is not a hard ruling, however, so I must label it as my opinion.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/08 03:56:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 03:57:41
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
As for a lord (character), it doesn't specify if he has to be in the same detachment, but if NakedSeamus can reference a source on that, I'm curious to see it myself.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/08 03:58:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 03:59:03
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
NakedSeamus wrote:No, units that don't take up a foc slot must be included in the detachment or formation that unlocked them.
Got a page reference for that? I can't seem to find that in the rulebook. Thanks.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 04:07:14
Subject: Re:question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Ohio, United States
|
alright glad to see this is somewhat of a mystery to you guys too.
the rules in the book just say a royal court unit splits off before the battle and is allowed to join any of the specified units; it says nothing about detachment, formations, army, etc.
basically I want to put lords with resurrection orbs with the infantry in the WD monolith formation for a wicked tanky steel tide.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/08 04:09:56
★★★Wears velvet tracksuits everywhere I go Crew★★★
★★★Trying to become NGA Pro Bodybuilder Crew★★★
★★★MISC Crew★★★ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 04:30:53
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
I would allow it. Seems legit to me, and not unfairly strong. All of the units would have to stick pretty close to the monolith since it can only spawn models within 6" of it, and taking the monolith out would severely dampen the formation's effectiveness. It would definitely make a neat list!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/08 13:04:23
Subject: question about necron lords and formations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bojazz wrote:I don't see anything disallowing this. Royal court just says that each member may split off to join another unit, it does not specify that it must be in the same detachment. Furthermore, I believe this would allow the Lord/Cryptek to benefit from certain special rules from that formation such as Crownworld Reawakened (re-roll 1s for reanimation).
I base this on this entry from the Necron FAQ:
Q: Do models from a Royal Court that are attached to a Deathmark
Squad benefit from the Hunters from Hyperspace special rule? (p90)
A: Yes.
So that sets a precedent that attached royal court members benefit from special rules that affect the unit they are attached to. The wording for Crownworld Reawakened and Hunters from Hyperspace are worded similarly, so it seems like the ruling would transfer over. This is not a hard ruling, however, so I must label it as my opinion.
Crownworld Reawakened would depend on whether the attached member qualifies as Troops or HQ rather than whether they're part of the unit, I think?
|
|
 |
 |
|