Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 10:43:30
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
Hi dakka I know multiple units cant share a dedicated transport but what about a non dedicated transport I will be using a storm eagle but I want to put two destroyer squads in it can I do that?
Or do I have to ask my opponent if I can house rule it.
When I asked in my gw a veteran player told me no so was he wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/11 10:46:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 10:47:21
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The restriction is nothing to do with whether or not the transport is dedicated. Transports can only carry a single unit unless they have a special rule that says otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 11:35:22
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
I've looked in the rule book it does say that I've been an idiot and missed it but surly most people wont object if I ask first nicely and let them do a similar thing?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 11:45:01
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
e.earnshaw wrote:surly most people wont object if I ask first nicely and let them do a similar thing?
This is quite a fundamental rule that's been about for many editions. I'm a pretty relaxed gamer, but two units in one transport is a step to far for me I'm afraid.
And are you planning on sticking Destroyers in there? As in Necron Destroyers? Aren't they Jetbikes? So can't go into a transport any?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 11:53:09
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Moustache-twirling Princeps
|
grendel083 wrote:And are you planning on sticking Destroyers in there? As in Necron Destroyers?
I assume they're talking about a Space Marine Legion (30k) list, so a Legion Destroyer Squad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 14:07:45
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Just one unit per transport (can include attached IC's too) unless there's a special rule as another poster stated.
In one of my first 40k games, before I knew any better, my opponent disembarked Abaddon and a unit of Terminators and Typhus with Plague marines from the same transporting flyer. It was horrible 8|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 14:36:07
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
e.earnshaw wrote:I've looked in the rule book it does say that I've been an idiot and missed it but surly most people wont object if I ask first nicely and let them do a similar thing?
I think most people would object. It's like shooting at two units without the Split Fire rule, or launching a Disordered Charge without the penalties.
I might allow it under very rare narrative circumstances, but a "pretty please, I'll even let you do the same!" won't be enough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 14:47:29
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
Not gonna lie I wouldnt allow this, if the rule were perhaps unclear I occasionally let it slide just to avoid having a row over something unneccesary, but this is clearly going against the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 15:07:29
Subject: Re:multiple units in transport
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
in 6th you were allowed one squad and any number of characters as long as you had space for them. cant remember if the characters can have a retinue with them as well...
|
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle.. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 15:37:32
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Any number of ICs, as they're part of the hit. Meaning only one unit. No to a retinue as an IC csnnot join two units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 15:39:29
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The rules havn't changed from 6th in that regard.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 16:00:26
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
grendel083 wrote: e.earnshaw wrote:surly most people wont object if I ask first nicely and let them do a similar thing?
This is quite a fundamental rule that's been about for many editions. I'm a pretty relaxed gamer, but two units in one transport is a step to far for me I'm afraid.
And are you planning on sticking Destroyers in there? As in Necron Destroyers? Aren't they Jetbikes? So can't go into a transport any?
Also, Necron Destroyers have been jump infantry since 5th edition, unfortunately. So they're just bulky.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 16:08:33
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
NakedSeamus wrote: grendel083 wrote: e.earnshaw wrote:surly most people wont object if I ask first nicely and let them do a similar thing?
This is quite a fundamental rule that's been about for many editions. I'm a pretty relaxed gamer, but two units in one transport is a step to far for me I'm afraid.
And are you planning on sticking Destroyers in there? As in Necron Destroyers? Aren't they Jetbikes? So can't go into a transport any?
Also, Necron Destroyers have been jump infantry since 5th edition, unfortunately. So they're just bulky.
Ah fair enough.
But Jump Infantry are still not allowed to Embark in a Transport without a specific rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 16:35:08
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
if the unit has the "Combat Squad" special rules then you can turn them effectively in two units when they disembark.
Otherwise it's a no go.
|
DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+
"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 17:27:51
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
AFAIK, the only thing that can carry two units is the StormRaven: Termies or Space Marines and a Dreadnought. Everything else is one unit only, even if an Independent Character is joined.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 19:59:07
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Buy a Gorgon Assault Transport from forgeworld.
|
5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/11 20:06:29
Subject: multiple units in transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Icculus wrote:if the unit has the "Combat Squad" special rules then you can turn them effectively in two units when they disembark.
In the current rules, they're actually split when you put them in there, rather than when they disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/12 00:20:10
Subject: Re:multiple units in transport
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
some superheavies can take multiple different units - specified in unit entry.
the thunderhawk gunship is one, as 'smitty0305' suggested, a gorgon - and the crassus comes to mind.
|
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle.. |
|
 |
 |
|