Switch Theme:

Blood Slaughterers, the Impaler and charging from deep strike.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hey Dakka,

It looks like if you deepstrike 1-3 blood slaughterers with impalers, its very easy to get a "charge" on the same turn you deepstrike.

- From IA13:
"measure a straight line between the Blood slaughter and its target, and move the target model 2D6" towards the blood slaughterer. If the target model moves into base contact with the blood Slaughterer, the Blood Slaughterer then counts as having charged it. "

My question is does this conflict with the usually may not charge after a deep strike rule, and what would take precedence?

Thanks

DFTT 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




Perfectly legal to draw someone in combat as far as I'm concerned.

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You cannot declare a charge. You haven't done
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

You have dragged them into you, thus, broken no rules.

   
Made in gb
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




Huddersfield

 Jackal wrote:
You have dragged them into you, thus, broken no rules.


nosferatu1001 wrote:
You cannot declare a charge. You haven't done


DaPino wrote:
Perfectly legal to draw someone in combat as far as I'm concerned.


This. I think this is an amazing ability if you can secure a safe deep strike for them near some juicy targets.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ok bonus follow up questions!

Can the impaler shoot at a flyer/fmc?

Would it hit on a 6 or a 4+ as stated?

Could it drag a flyer/fmc?

Could it charge a flyer/fmc?

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




Huddersfield

I think you can hit a flyer and move it about so long as it's not superheavy.

You cannot charge a flyer unless it is in hover mode.
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





I do believe that their impalers can never be snap shotted (IA13). So unless you get real lucky by landing on the skyfire mysterious objectives is probably a no go. Also you'll be needing to hit a multi wound model I believe or it will just die and you won't get to be locked in combat
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




There is nothing in IA 13 about cannot be snap shotted. It is described as a "shooting attack thats hits on a 4+". This is bizarre as the BS is bs1.

Well are there any MCs that aren't multi wound?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Opera wrote:
I think you can hit a flyer and move it about so long as it's not superheavy.

You cannot charge a flyer unless it is in hover mode.


I think I agree with you on day to day gaming function, but would say as per original arguments that I have not declared a charge, and therefore have broken no rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/21 07:01:56


DFTT 
   
Made in se
Chaos Space Marine dedicated to Slaanesh





Visually I like the idea of 3 Blood Slaughterers dragging a flyer out of the air, and it seems legal RAW to count as having charge and hit it I guess.

HIWPI is that it cannot shoot FMC and flyers, this is backed up by this http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/297570-blood-slaughterer-vs-flyersfmc/ where someone is said to have mailed FW and got an answer which says:
"The Blood Slaughterer's Impaler cannot target Zooming Flyers or Swooping Monstrous or Gargantuan Creatures"

This silence offends Slaanesh! Things will get loud now!

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




A reasonable answer. I still think they should be able to snap shot, but it is a bit much them being a FMC killer.

Although on the same note, all things being fair, they should ignore flyers and FMCs as part of their blood crazy rules. Otherwise they will be chasing things they can't charge.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript





By RAW it can shoot at the flyer hitting on a 4+. Since this is a specific rule, regarding the impaler, it will take presedence over a general rule (for targeting flyers).

As it is not charging, the flyer really has no protection against it unless it was a super heavy (aside from jink). The rule for impaler is pretty specific as to what is immune to it and flyer is not one of them. At a 12" range it's really not a threat in most cases, unless the player using the flyer is careless or gets unlucky.

I of it as like a giant chameleon or frog, shooting flys outta the sky with it's tongue.

As it was not changed in IA:13 I doubt FW thinks its an issue. Maybe we will see it changed when they get around to their next FAQ update, maybe not...
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






"...any shooting attack that does not use Ballistic Skill cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot." -Rulebook, Snap Shots

The Impaler Cannon does not use the model's BS, therefore it cannot be fired as a Snap Shot when forced to do so.

So no, you cannot use the Impaler Cannon against Zooming Flyers and Swooping FMCs.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Makes sense.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript





Well there ya go then, makes sense.
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






 Cheexsta wrote:
"...any shooting attack that does not use Ballistic Skill cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot." -Rulebook, Snap Shots


Means flyers, fmc and invisible units can't be hit by nova powers?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/23 07:02:32


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I think flyers are specifically are stated as hit by nova. Invisible is .. I think auto hit, overrides snap shot. Probably.

Says me without rulebook from memory.

DFTT 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




 koooaei wrote:
 Cheexsta wrote:
"...any shooting attack that does not use Ballistic Skill cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot." -Rulebook, Snap Shots


Means flyers, fmc and invisible units can't be hit by nova powers?


You cannot target them, but if you target something else and it hits them its a hit. RAW that is. Just like scattering blasts or models out of LOS with flamers and so on.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect Yonasu.

Nova automatically targets everything in range, and WILL auto hit flyers.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Incorrect Yonasu.

Nova automatically targets everything in range, and WILL auto hit flyers.


im a dolt, my bad
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: