Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 06:35:26
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice? I'm thinking no, but hoping for yes.
I think the question is: what constitutes a failed to hit roll with scatter die? An arrow on the Scatter die? Missing the targeted model? Missing the targeted unit? Missing all units? Scattering off the table? Has the question ever come up before?
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 08:38:05
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
It has.. I remember thinking it's a gray area.. I would ask ahead before doing it. The argument on one side was "anything that hits the ground is not a miss" the other was "but anything that isn't a direct hit on the scatter dice is a Miss".
I did that with the SAG like two weeks ago my friend had no problem letting me roll anything that scatters again.
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 10:27:11
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You need to look at the rule for re-rolling blast weapons.
If you have the ability to re-roll a To Hit dice, you can re-roll a scatter. There are no "failed to hit on a scatter", you just get a straight up re-roll.
Ammo Runts also do this, there are far more usefull places for the Stikk to go.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 14:54:42
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:You need to look at the rule for re-rolling blast weapons.
If you have the ability to re-roll a To Hit dice, you can re-roll a scatter. There are no "failed to hit on a scatter", you just get a straight up re-roll.
Ammo Runts also do this, there are far more usefull places for the Stikk to go.
but you can only use the stikk if the hit roll 'failed'
If you're right and there isn't a "failed to hit on a scatter", can you use the stikk? Why?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 15:01:29
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jcress410 wrote: grendel083 wrote:You need to look at the rule for re-rolling blast weapons.
If you have the ability to re-roll a To Hit dice, you can re-roll a scatter. There are no "failed to hit on a scatter", you just get a straight up re-roll.
Ammo Runts also do this, there are far more usefull places for the Stikk to go.
but you can only use the stikk if the hit roll 'failed'
If you're right and there isn't a "failed to hit on a scatter", can you use the stikk? Why?
Read. The. Rules. For. Re-rolling. Blast. Weapons.
It's really not a difficult concept.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:05:49
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:jcress410 wrote: grendel083 wrote:You need to look at the rule for re-rolling blast weapons.
If you have the ability to re-roll a To Hit dice, you can re-roll a scatter. There are no "failed to hit on a scatter", you just get a straight up re-roll.
Ammo Runts also do this, there are far more usefull places for the Stikk to go.
but you can only use the stikk if the hit roll 'failed'
If you're right and there isn't a "failed to hit on a scatter", can you use the stikk? Why?
Read. The. Rules. For. Re-rolling. Blast. Weapons.
It's really not a difficult concept.
The rules do not address the question in the thread.
Read. The. Thread. Before. Being. Snarky.
The stikk only lets you reroll failed to hit. The blast rules cover situations where "a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
The question in the thread is; do you have the ability to reroll a blast with the stikk. I am leaning toward no because there's no such thing as a failed to-hit with a blast.
There are scatter rolls that result in zero hits, is there a part of the rules you're reading that indicates these kinds of rolls are "failed" ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:16:30
Subject: Re:Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Do you have the ability to reroll, if you have the ability to reroll a miss? (Answer is yes) The stikk gives you the ability to re-roll a miss. That is the ability to re-roll that the "a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit" is requiring you to have.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/30 15:18:33
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:19:53
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jcress410 wrote:The rules do not address the question in the thread.
Read. The. Thread. Before. Being. Snarky.
I did read the thread.
The stikk only lets you reroll failed to hit. The blast rules cover situations where "a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
The question in the thread is; do you have the ability to reroll a blast with the stikk. I am leaning toward no because there's no such thing as a failed to-hit with a blast.
If that's your position, the Prescience doesn't allow you to reroll blasts. Neither does literally any other reroll ability save Twin-Linked. Please at least be consistent.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:24:33
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You'll find that every single re-roll ability is the same, they all say re-roll failed to hit rolls.
Prescience is re-rolls failed to hit rolls, twin-link the same - re-roll failed to hit rolls etc.
As far as I know, the only re-roll ability that just grants a straight re-roll (hit or miss) is the Ork Ammo-Runt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:30:04
Subject: Re:Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From Codex Orks:
In addition, the bearer can choose to re-roll any failed To Hit or To Wound rolls or saving throws that they make.
It is as rigled2 and the others have stated.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:38:46
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:jcress410 wrote:The rules do not address the question in the thread.
Read. The. Thread. Before. Being. Snarky.
I did read the thread.
The stikk only lets you reroll failed to hit. The blast rules cover situations where "a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit".
The question in the thread is; do you have the ability to reroll a blast with the stikk. I am leaning toward no because there's no such thing as a failed to-hit with a blast.
If that's your position, the Prescience doesn't allow you to reroll blasts. Neither does literally any other reroll ability save Twin-Linked. Please at least be consistent.
I'm not sure its my position, but it is one reading.
I'm just trying to figure out how we know a blast has 'failed' in order to be eligible for a re-roll. Thats the part I can't find in the rules.
Is it zero hits?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:38:49
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is "Yes", because the rules do not require you to have a "good enough" ability to reroll; just an ability to reroll.
DLS gives a reroll, therefore this works on the to-hit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:46:47
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jcress410 wrote:I'm just trying to figure out how we know a blast has 'failed' in order to be eligible for a re-roll. Thats the part I can't find in the rules.
They don't Hit/Miss, they have a different mechanic.
That's why blasts have a rule, that says if you have the ability to re-roll a to hit roll, you can re-roll the blast.
Re-rolling failed to hit rolls, is an ability to re-roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 15:50:49
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jcress410 wrote:I'm not sure its my position, but it is one reading.
I'm just trying to figure out how we know a blast has 'failed' in order to be eligible for a re-roll. Thats the part I can't find in the rules.
Is it zero hits?
Do you have the ability to re-roll hits? It's a yes or no question - "sometimes" isn't a valid answer.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 17:54:48
Subject: Re:Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
While trying not to pour oil over the "Re-roll To Hit and Blast weapons" debate, I can point out that there is only 1 rule that "defines" what a "failed To Hit" is for Blasts:
Twin-linked
If a shooting weapon has the twin-linked special rule, (...) it re-rolls all failed To Hit rolls.
Twin-linked Blast Weapons
If the scatter dice does not roll a hit, you can choose to re-roll the dice with a Twin-linked Blast weapon. If you choose to do so, you must re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice.
So you could technically conclude that the Lucky Stickk allows you to "re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice" if "the scatter dice does not roll a hit".
And now i'm out before i get lynched...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/30 17:56:45
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 18:12:11
Subject: Re:Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
BlackTalos wrote:While trying not to pour oil over the "Re-roll To Hit and Blast weapons" debate, I can point out that there is only 1 rule that "defines" what a "failed To Hit" is for Blasts:
Twin-linked
If a shooting weapon has the twin-linked special rule, (...) it re-rolls all failed To Hit rolls.
Twin-linked Blast Weapons
If the scatter dice does not roll a hit, you can choose to re-roll the dice with a Twin-linked Blast weapon. If you choose to do so, you must re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice.
So you could technically conclude that the Lucky Stickk allows you to "re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice" if "the scatter dice does not roll a hit".
And now i'm out before i get lynched...
Leave me out of this
anyway, I agree with your conclusion since I'm here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/31 01:45:14
Subject: Re:Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BlackTalos wrote:While trying not to pour oil over the "Re-roll To Hit and Blast weapons" debate, I can point out that there is only 1 rule that "defines" what a "failed To Hit" is for Blasts:
Twin-linked
If a shooting weapon has the twin-linked special rule, (...) it re-rolls all failed To Hit rolls.
Twin-linked Blast Weapons
If the scatter dice does not roll a hit, you can choose to re-roll the dice with a Twin-linked Blast weapon. If you choose to do so, you must re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice.
So you could technically conclude that the Lucky Stickk allows you to "re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice" if "the scatter dice does not roll a hit".
And now i'm out before i get lynched...
That does not define a non hit roll as a failed to hit though. It is a leap to say the two are linked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/31 10:20:13
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
That's just how Twin-Linked works with blasts. It never says "this is a failed To Hit".
It doesn't define anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/31 11:09:16
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Under blast weapons, it states that any ability to reroll to hit allows you to reroll both the scatter dice and however many d6 you rolled for scatter. Heck, tactical doctrine only gives re rolls of ones but it lets thunderfire cannons reroll their scatter dice.
Edit: though I suppose the lucky stick, if it's worded as 'reroll misses' might strictly be different, as its worded... Differently.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 11:10:53
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/31 11:30:49
Subject: Does the Lucky Stickk allow reroll SAG scatter dice?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Crazyterran wrote:Edit: though I suppose the lucky stick, if it's worded as 'reroll misses' might strictly be different, as its worded... Differently.
That's how almost every re-roll ability is written.
|
|
 |
 |
|