Switch Theme:

Preferred enemy and blast templates.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
Yes we've quoted it many times. Here you go again:

Blast Weapons:
"When firing a Blast Weapon models do not roll To Hit."

Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls:
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast Weapon, the player must re-roll both the Scatter Dice and the 2D6."

Preferred Enemy:
"A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking it's Preferred Enemy."

Still failing to actually argue against points raised I see. So again why post on YMDC when you aren't interested in discussing the rules?


No, actually I'm failing to see how any of the above states that you can re-roll regardless of whether it's a 1 or not.

Does PE have the ability to re-roll hits in general, or just the rolls of 1?

If you are trying to argue it can re-roll scatters you might as well re-roll 2's as well. Because it doesn't say you can't, right?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Does Prescience have the ability to re-roll hits in general, or just the failed to hits?

Indeed the above is true for all rerolling to hit abilities they all have a trigger, normally failed to hits, sometimes a specific number.

Are you contesting this rule never does anything?

Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls:
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast Weapon, the player must re-roll both the Scatter Dice and the 2D6."

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
Does Prescience have the ability to re-roll hits in general, or just the failed to hits?

Indeed the above is true for all rerolling to hit abilities they all have a trigger, normally failed to hits, sometimes a specific number.

Are you contesting this rule never does anything?

Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls:
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast Weapon, the player must re-roll both the Scatter Dice and the 2D6."


I think you have the wrong post, the OP never mentioned anything about Prescience.

You are trying to argue that a rule that clearly states 'ROLLS OF 1' can re-roll scatter dice, yet you can't quote a rule that states this.

As you said, the PE trigger is 1, not a failed scatter dice.


   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





What is a "failed scatter dice" you keep mentioning it where is it defined in the rules? So you're clearly just trolling now as you continue to refuse to discuss the points raised.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Does Prescience have the ability to re-roll hits in general, or just the failed to hits?

Indeed the above is true for all rerolling to hit abilities they all have a trigger, normally failed to hits, sometimes a specific number.

Are you contesting this rule never does anything?

Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls:
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast Weapon, the player must re-roll both the Scatter Dice and the 2D6."


I think you have the wrong post, the OP never mentioned anything about Prescience.

You are trying to argue that a rule that clearly states 'ROLLS OF 1' can re-roll scatter dice, yet you can't quote a rule that states this.

As you said, the PE trigger is 1, not a failed scatter dice.




If a model has an ability to re-roll all failed To Hit rolls, can it re-roll Blast scatter?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 Happyjew wrote:
 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Does Prescience have the ability to re-roll hits in general, or just the failed to hits?

Indeed the above is true for all rerolling to hit abilities they all have a trigger, normally failed to hits, sometimes a specific number.

Are you contesting this rule never does anything?

Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls:
"If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast Weapon, the player must re-roll both the Scatter Dice and the 2D6."


I think you have the wrong post, the OP never mentioned anything about Prescience.

You are trying to argue that a rule that clearly states 'ROLLS OF 1' can re-roll scatter dice, yet you can't quote a rule that states this.

As you said, the PE trigger is 1, not a failed scatter dice.




If a model has an ability to re-roll all failed To Hit rolls, can it re-roll Blast scatter?


Yes it can, see the rule 'Blasts and Re-Rolls' as quoted above. However the Preferred Enemy rule does not alloy you to re-roll failed hits, it only allows re-rolls of 1, for some reason a few people in this post can't understand that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FlingitNow wrote:
What is a "failed scatter dice" you keep mentioning it where is it defined in the rules? So you're clearly just trolling now as you continue to refuse to discuss the points raised.


A failed scatter would be a Blast Template that has scattered beyond your intended target. As stated in the rules, if I have a rule which allows me to re-roll failed to-hits, I can they choose to re-roll this. However PE doesn't allow me to re-roll failed hits, it only allows me to re-roll dice rolls of 1, which obviously can't happen when Roll to scatter as the Dice rolls are measurements, not rolls to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/01 23:46:40


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





A failed scatter would be a Blast Template that has scattered beyond your intended target. As stated in the rules, if I have a rule which allows me to re-roll failed to-hits, I can they choose to re-roll this.


You've invented that definition. Unless you have a rules quote to support it? Also rerolling failed to hits is only trigger by a failed to hit. Blast weapons don't roll to hit so don't you won't get a failed to hit anymore than you'll get a 1 to hit. So why does one work and not the other?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
A failed scatter would be a Blast Template that has scattered beyond your intended target. As stated in the rules, if I have a rule which allows me to re-roll failed to-hits, I can they choose to re-roll this.


You've invented that definition. Unless you have a rules quote to support it? Also rerolling failed to hits is only trigger by a failed to hit. Blast weapons don't roll to hit so don't you won't get a failed to hit anymore than you'll get a 1 to hit. So why does one work and not the other?


Why would I choose to re-roll a successful scatter? Tangent much, are you sure you aren't trolling me? You've just hit the nail on the head here exactly "Also rerolling failed to hits is only trigger by a failed to hit. Blast weapons don't roll to hit so don't you won't get a failed to hit anymore than you'll get a 1 to hit"

The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule that you're trying to use against me here does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here.

However, the preferred enemy rules states that you can ONLY re-roll to-hit rolls of 1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 00:04:58


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I never said you would choose to reroll a successful scatter (another invented term). However the blasts and rerolls rule never mentions failed or successful To Hit rolls and therefore does not care about them which brings us to...

The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule that you're trying to use against me here does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here.

However, the preferred enemy rules states that you can ONLY re-roll to-hit rolls of 1.


And Prescience states that you can ONLY re-roll failed To Hit rolls. So why are you treating that differently?


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
I never said you would choose to reroll a successful scatter (another invented term). However the blasts and rerolls rule never mentions failed or successful To Hit rolls and therefore does not care about them which brings us to...

The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule that you're trying to use against me here does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here.

However, the preferred enemy rules states that you can ONLY re-roll to-hit rolls of 1.


And Prescience states that you can ONLY re-roll failed To Hit rolls. So why are you treating that differently?



I am reading the rules for Preferred Enemy, Blasts and Blasts & Re-Rolls. If I was in the OP's situation why would I be looking for the Prescience rule? Why are we talking about the Prescience rule? That is it's own rule.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
I never said you would choose to reroll a successful scatter (another invented term). However the blasts and rerolls rule never mentions failed or successful To Hit rolls and therefore does not care about them which brings us to...

The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule that you're trying to use against me here does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here.

However, the preferred enemy rules states that you can ONLY re-roll to-hit rolls of 1.


And Prescience states that you can ONLY re-roll failed To Hit rolls. So why are you treating that differently?



I am reading the rules for Preferred Enemy, Blasts and Blasts & Re-Rolls. If I was in the OP's situation why would I be looking for the Prescience rule? Why are we talking about the Prescience rule? That is it's own rule.


Because your interpretation leads to the blast rule as non-functional. If you must meet the requirement of Preferred Enemy (roll a 1) to get t he r-roll, you must also met the requirements of all special rules that grant re-rolls (almost all of which require a failed roll). As such, with the exception of Twin-linked (which has permission via Twin-linked itself).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Because you claimed:

RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
Happyjew wrote: If a model has an ability to re-roll all failed To Hit rolls, can it re-roll Blast scatter?


Yes it can, see the rule 'Blasts and Re-Rolls' as quoted above. However the Preferred Enemy rule does not alloy you to re-roll failed hits, it only allows re-rolls of 1, for some reason a few people in this post can't understand that.


So you're saying that the blasts and rerolls rule works when youhave a reroll based on the criteria "failed To Hit" but not "1s To Hit". I'm asking why and have been for more than a page now and you keep refusing to answer. Why?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
Because you claimed:

RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
Happyjew wrote: If a model has an ability to re-roll all failed To Hit rolls, can it re-roll Blast scatter?


Yes it can, see the rule 'Blasts and Re-Rolls' as quoted above. However the Preferred Enemy rule does not alloy you to re-roll failed hits, it only allows re-rolls of 1, for some reason a few people in this post can't understand that.


So you're saying that the blasts and rerolls rule works when youhave a reroll based on the criteria "failed To Hit" but not "1s To Hit". I'm asking why and have been for more than a page now and you keep refusing to answer. Why?


Yes, I am saying that, and if you read above you will see this:

"The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here"

But the PE rule does not allow you to re-roll failed to-hit rolls in general, does it? No. It allows you to re-roll failed 1's.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 00:40:00


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Happyjew wrote:
 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
I never said you would choose to reroll a successful scatter (another invented term). However the blasts and rerolls rule never mentions failed or successful To Hit rolls and therefore does not care about them which brings us to...

The 'Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls' rule that you're trying to use against me here does not at all state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to hit. It states that if a particular model has the ability to re-roll it's to-hit rolls, it can use this ability here.

However, the preferred enemy rules states that you can ONLY re-roll to-hit rolls of 1.


And Prescience states that you can ONLY re-roll failed To Hit rolls. So why are you treating that differently?



I am reading the rules for Preferred Enemy, Blasts and Blasts & Re-Rolls. If I was in the OP's situation why would I be looking for the Prescience rule? Why are we talking about the Prescience rule? That is it's own rule.


Because your interpretation leads to the blast rule as non-functional. If you must meet the requirement of Preferred Enemy (roll a 1) to get t he r-roll, you must also met the requirements of all special rules that grant re-rolls (almost all of which require a failed roll). As such, with the exception of Twin-linked (which has permission via Twin-linked itself).


twin linked and ammo runts. the blast rule is functional, just not as functional as you want to make it.

But speaking of ammo runts and RAW, if you allow PE to reroll blasts you allow a model that bought a ammo runt to reroll it's blasts all game long. Because once the runt is bought, the model has the ability to reroll "it's to hit roll" once per game. If needing to roll a 1 is an irrelevant requirement to gain the ability to reroll, then the once per game is just as irrelevant. Because Blasts don't care about the conditions right? the model has the reroll ability, and it can reroll all the blasts it wants because it also never once rerolls a to hit roll, never, not even once.




 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.


So if I cannot roll a 1 To Hit, I cannot re-roll, correct? If I cannot roll a failed To Hit, I can re-roll, correct? How are these different? In both cases I have a re-roll correct?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 Happyjew wrote:
 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.


So if I cannot roll a 1 To Hit, I cannot re-roll, correct? If I cannot roll a failed To Hit, I can re-roll, correct? How are these different? In both cases I have a re-roll correct?


If you have a model with a rule that allows you to re-roll failed to hit rolls, these models in particular can use this here - as stated in the 'Blasts and Re-Rolls' rule.

However the PE rule doesn't allow you to re-roll failed to hit does it. It always you to re-roll a D6 when a roll of 1 is made.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So if a model that has BS 5 rolls a 1, did it miss?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.


I'll try and put it another way for you, which might help. Let's have 3 almost imaginary situations:

1) Your model has the ability to re-roll any roll To Hit, whether it hit or missed.
2) Your model has the ability to re-roll To Hit rolls that did not Hit (Prescience, and other rules).
3) Your model has the ability to re-roll To Hit rolls of 1 that did not Hit (PE).

Per the Blast rule, it is clear the 1) is allowed: "If a model has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit"

You are however claiming that 2) is also possible? But it's not just "has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit", it is now "has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit that did not Hit".
You are then claiming that 3) is not possible? But it's not just "has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit" either, it is now "has the ability to re-roll it's rolls To Hit of 1 that did not Hit".

The only reason prescience is an example is because it has the same wording as PE but is not as specific. Allow one and you allow the other.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.


Are you incapable of discussing the matter at hand? Stop stating irrelevant things, stop making claims you know to be false. The first sentence is irrelevant, the second an outright lie as we've NEVER stated that. So can you actually answer the question asked?

Why does reroll failed hits matter? What in the blasts and rerolls rule states it cares at all about failed hits.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.

It is irrelevant what PE requires on the to hit. Because, as PROVEN the actual Reroll rule only cares about the ability to Reroll to hit

Which PE, proven, gives you.

You don't appear to understand the difference between a qualified requirement and an unqualified one. Blasts and rerolls is the latter. This is factual.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Please do not reply if this was not aimed at me:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Does the model have the ability to Reroll its hit? Yes. Absolutely.

Please find where the rules state you have to have rolled To hit. Page and graph.

"A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed To Hit and To Wound rolls of 1 if attacking its Preferred Enemy." (PE)
"the target unit can re-roll all failed To Hit rolls"(Prescience)
"Weapons with the Master-crafted special rule allow the bearer to re-roll one failed roll To Hit per turn with that weapon."

All 3 rules above clearly require a condition to be met before the Re-roll exists. The "ability to re-roll" only exists once that condition is met.

Otherwise models with Master-crafted "have the ability" when they rolled all 3 dice To Hit with Assault 3 (and the same goes for Blast).

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, they have an ability. That the ability has a condition is irrelevant.

Proven, over and over again.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

 FlingitNow wrote:
 RedEyeJedi21 wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why does reroll failed to hit rolls matter? What makes failed to hit an acceptable criteria but not 1s?


Because does the PE say that you can re-roll failed hits in general, or just 1's?

It specifically says, 1's. You guys are taking it upon yourselfes and stating that Blasts are an exception to this... if the rule said 'however this is not the case for blasts etc' there wouldn't be a problem... but it doesn't mention blasts.


Are you incapable of discussing the matter at hand? Stop stating irrelevant things, stop making claims you know to be false. The first sentence is irrelevant, the second an outright lie as we've NEVER stated that. So can you actually answer the question asked?

Why does reroll failed hits matter? What in the blasts and rerolls rule states it cares at all about failed hits.


Wow, how is that an irrelevant thing? How is that a claim I know to be false? It's literally the ONLY thing that the PE rule states, yet you STILL assume it means any failed to hit can be re-rolled.

As stated above, the Blast and Re-Rolls rule does not state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to-hit; that would be very contradictory to the Blast rule which clearly states this. It does however state that should your model have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls, it can use this ability here. PE does not have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls, it simply does not. Otherwise would you accept a re-roll of 2 when firing with a non blast weapon? Of course you wouldn't. Because it's not ALL hits, it's 1's
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Again, you're not understanding a qualified vs unqualified rule. The blasts and rerolls rules doesn't apply any qualifier on "how good" your Reroll has to be.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, they have an ability. That the ability has a condition is irrelevant.

Proven, over and over again.


Proven by who? Are you implying the PE ability can be used irrelivent of dice roll? Even though the Warhammer 40K Rule Book specifically states re-rolls of 1?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, try reading more thoroughly.

The blast Reroll doesn't care how good your ability to Reroll to-hit is.

As has been proven. If you disagree, find where the blast and Reroll imoses a condition on how good your Reroll needs to be. I'll wait. Page and graph.

This was settled a long time ago -you're making exactly the same debunked argument.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 12:21:11


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Wow, how is that an irrelevant thing? How is that a claim I know to be false? It's literally the ONLY thing that the PE rule states, yet you STILL assume it means any failed to hit can be re-rolled.


It is irrelevant because my question wasn't about how PE works. Do you even understand English? Then the lie again. Stop lying no one has ever stated that PE means you can reroll any failed to hit rolls.

As stated above, the Blast and Re-Rolls rule does not state that a Blast Weapon is a roll to-hit; that would be very contradictory to the Blast rule which clearly states this. It does however state that should your model have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls, it can use this ability here. PE does not have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls, it simply does not. Otherwise would you accept a re-roll of 2 when firing with a non blast weapon? Of course you wouldn't. Because it's not ALL hits, it's 1's


So we agree that the blast weapon roll is not a roll to hit. So why does the trigger "failed To Hit" work? Is the trigger irrelevant due to the blast weapons not being a To Hit roll?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




North East, UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, try reading more thoroughly.

The blast Reroll doesn't care how good your ability to Reroll to-hit is.

As has been proven. If you disagree, find where the blast and Reroll imoses a condition on how good your Reroll needs to be. I'll wait. Page and graph.

This was settled a long time ago -you're making exactly the same debunked argument.


Whether or not the blast re-roll rule cares or not how good a roll is isn't for any user on this forum to decide. All we can do is take what it says and compare it to what we have. When shooting does the TL rule allow one to re-roll all failed to hit rolls? Yes. Does the PE ability? No, only 1's. As a whole, the PE ability simply is not a re-roll of all failed to hits.

Proven by who? Users of 40K forums or somebody official?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: