Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 13:54:04
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Wow, this thread is going places.
Lets bring up BS6 as well, pg 33. "it GAINS a reroll whenever it rolls a 1"
the model does not have the ability to reroll unless it rolls a 1. Just like PE, if you don't roll a 1 first, you do NOT have the ability to reroll.
Prescience actually grants the ability to reroll, PE does not.
Can you guys stop with all the appeals to authority and strawmen now.
BS6 is defined as an ability to re-roll its rolls to hit.
From the "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" (which has pretty much identical wording to Blasts)
" If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including from BS6+ and Twin-Linked).."
If BS6+ is a valid re-roll ability, how can you claim PE isn't?
and when does "gets hot" come into play? oh ya a 1 was rolled thus the model gained a reroll that can be used like twin linked. That's some serious grasping for straws and ignoring how BS6 itself says the model "GAINS" the ability after rolling a 1. How can you gain something if you already have it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 13:54:59
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
It's not an all or nothing but like you say it's hard to discuss rulings with people who claim to have put an unofficial proven end to rules, and then not evening quoting them.
My points exactly. They have taken it upon themselves to declare that the Blasts and Re-Rules wording has no restrictions, even though it specifically says models that 'have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls' ...which the PE simply doesn't have.
Bless you're agreeing with someone you don't even understand. So once again:
PE does give you the ability to reroll, but there is a condition to it. Just like a rule that gave you the ability to reroll all failed to hit rolls gives you the ability, but again with a condition.
Show why this condition does not have to be met:
"Failed To Hit roll"
But this condition does:
"To Hit roll of 1"
To help your understanding think about this: let's assume I am Bs 4. Answer the following 3 questions for each example.
1) If I have the ability to reroll to hit can I re roll the dice?
2) If I have the ability to reroll all failed Hits can I reroll the dice?
3) If I have PE can I reroll the dice?
Note these questions are about can not whether you'd want to or not:
A) Say I roll a 1?
B) I roll a 2?
C) I roll a 6?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 13:56:40
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
FlingitNow wrote:BlackTalos check out the near identical wording for Gets Hot and blasts and note the examples it gives.
I'm not sure what point this has for the argument? It reinforces what i think: -Blast weapons cannot roll "1" To Hit: They need an entire paragraph telling you to roll a D6 before they are fired.
If you are referring to "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" and examples of BS6+ or Twin-Linked:
"a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1"
There is a very clear assumption that the To Hit roll was a "1". The model therefore had "the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit", indeed.
Don't forget that all of the above happens after "When firing a weapon that Gets Hot, roll To Hit as normal. For each To Hit roll of 1, the firing model immediately suffers a Wound"
The statement "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit" and examples is clearly within "Gets Hot and Re-rolls": When you are rolling 1s.
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:
You will notice that i am quoting rules support again, even though we are repeating the debate. This is both for the new users and because saying "I've proved it X times before" really does not help while debating. I hope this is understood for further participation.
And again, this makes the Blast rule completely irrelevant - as in it does nothing.
Because Triarch Praetorians having a DT does?
Because Tyrannocyte's "Instictive fire" does?
Some rules do nothing by RaW, and this is known to you.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 13:57:58
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
sirlynchmob wrote: grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Wow, this thread is going places.
Lets bring up BS6 as well, pg 33. "it GAINS a reroll whenever it rolls a 1"
the model does not have the ability to reroll unless it rolls a 1. Just like PE, if you don't roll a 1 first, you do NOT have the ability to reroll.
Prescience actually grants the ability to reroll, PE does not.
Can you guys stop with all the appeals to authority and strawmen now.
BS6 is defined as an ability to re-roll its rolls to hit.
From the "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" (which has pretty much identical wording to Blasts)
" If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including from BS6+ and Twin-Linked).."
If BS6+ is a valid re-roll ability, how can you claim PE isn't?
and when does "gets hot" come into play? oh ya a 1 was rolled thus the model gained a reroll that can be used like twin linked. That's some serious grasping for straws and ignoring how BS6 itself says the model "GAINS" the ability after rolling a 1. How can you gain something if you already have it?
It's a rule with identical wording.
You can try and make the claim its a re-roll for one rule, but not another, but I'm sure you can see how weak an argument that is.
Comparible situations.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 13:58:52
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
sirlynchmob wrote: grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Wow, this thread is going places.
Lets bring up BS6 as well, pg 33. "it GAINS a reroll whenever it rolls a 1"
the model does not have the ability to reroll unless it rolls a 1. Just like PE, if you don't roll a 1 first, you do NOT have the ability to reroll.
Prescience actually grants the ability to reroll, PE does not.
Can you guys stop with all the appeals to authority and strawmen now.
BS6 is defined as an ability to re-roll its rolls to hit.
From the "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" (which has pretty much identical wording to Blasts)
" If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including from BS6+ and Twin-Linked).."
If BS6+ is a valid re-roll ability, how can you claim PE isn't?
and when does "gets hot" come into play? oh ya a 1 was rolled thus the model gained a reroll that can be used like twin linked. That's some serious grasping for straws and ignoring how BS6 itself says the model "GAINS" the ability after rolling a 1. How can you gain something if you already have it?
Indeed.
The Gets Hot rule and examples are all after a 1 has been rolled.
Including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule, they would have the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:00:38
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote: grendel083 wrote:sirlynchmob wrote:Wow, this thread is going places.
Lets bring up BS6 as well, pg 33. "it GAINS a reroll whenever it rolls a 1"
the model does not have the ability to reroll unless it rolls a 1. Just like PE, if you don't roll a 1 first, you do NOT have the ability to reroll.
Prescience actually grants the ability to reroll, PE does not.
Can you guys stop with all the appeals to authority and strawmen now.
BS6 is defined as an ability to re-roll its rolls to hit.
From the "Gets Hot and Re-rolls" (which has pretty much identical wording to Blasts)
" If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including from BS6+ and Twin-Linked).."
If BS6+ is a valid re-roll ability, how can you claim PE isn't?
and when does "gets hot" come into play? oh ya a 1 was rolled thus the model gained a reroll that can be used like twin linked. That's some serious grasping for straws and ignoring how BS6 itself says the model "GAINS" the ability after rolling a 1. How can you gain something if you already have it?
It's a rule with identical wording.
You can try and make the claim its a re-roll for one rule, but not another, but I'm sure you can see how weak an argument that is.
Comparible situations.
Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:02:19
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yes. It allows a slotless transport.
Because Tyrannocyte's "Instictive fire" does?
Yes. It allows the model to fire 5 weapons instead of one.
Some rules do nothing by RaW, and this is known to you.
Your interpretation means the rule does nothing, and if there's another - equally valid - interpretation that means the rule does something, then the interpretation that makes it do nothing cannot be correct.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:03:32
Subject: Re:Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Re-roll
In some situations, the rules allow you to re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like – pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again.
The above "situation" within the rules, is only when you have gauged the result of the first roll.
Or are you saying that having the ability before the roll means you can choose to Re-Roll before you roll?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:05:07
Subject: Re:Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:Re-roll
In some situations, the rules allow you to re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like – pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again.
The above "situation" within the rules, is only when you have gauged the result of the first roll.
Or are you saying that having the ability before the roll means you can choose to Re-Roll before you roll?
I have no idea who this is directed to, but it doesn't make sense in the context of the thread.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:05:25
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If you want to argue a Plasma Cannon with Bs6 can't re-roll its Gets Roll, good luck with that. The rules won't agree.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:05:39
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Yes. It allows a slotless transport.
Because Tyrannocyte's "Instictive fire" does?
Yes. It allows the model to fire 5 weapons instead of one.
Some rules do nothing by RaW, and this is known to you.
Your interpretation means the rule does nothing, and if there's another - equally valid - interpretation that means the rule does something, then the interpretation that makes it do nothing cannot be correct.
Or there was an intention ( RaI) for it to work, but it does not.
The second interpretation means the rule does a lot of things, a few of which break other rules. Is breaking rules more "correct" then? Automatically Appended Next Post: grendel083 wrote:If you want to argue a Plasma Cannon with Bs6 can't re-roll its Gets Roll, good luck with that. The rules won't agree.
How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot?
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 14:08:34
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:09:11
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
grendel083 wrote:If you want to argue a Plasma Cannon with Bs6 can't re-roll its Gets Roll, good luck with that. The rules won't agree.
Back to the strawmen eh?
I've made no such claim. as you have to result to making such strawmen and not address that BS6 has to GAIN the ability to reroll first, then you are clearly not making a RAW case. After BS6 has rolled a 1, thus gaining the ability to reroll, then and only then, is it comparable to twin linked.
Now try to address why BS6 specifically says you "GAIN the ability" when a 1 is rolled. while discussing PE which rule is more akin to it? BS6 or prescience?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:09:16
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
Page 164 of the rulebook disagrees with the underlined. Who should we believe you are the rulebook?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:09:54
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Yes. It allows a slotless transport.
Because Tyrannocyte's "Instictive fire" does?
Yes. It allows the model to fire 5 weapons instead of one.
Some rules do nothing by RaW, and this is known to you.
Your interpretation means the rule does nothing, and if there's another - equally valid - interpretation that means the rule does something, then the interpretation that makes it do nothing cannot be correct.
Or there was an intention ( RaI) for it to work, but it does not.
The second interpretation means the rule does a lot of things, a few of which break other rules. Is breaking rules more "correct" then?
What rules are broken? I've seen you assert this before but you've never ( afaik) proven it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:10:50
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
FlingitNow wrote: Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
Page 164 of the rulebook disagrees with the underlined. Who should we believe you are the rulebook?
Maybe a Title or sub-title for those who only have the e-book and no page numbers.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:13:13
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
FlingitNow wrote: Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
Page 164 of the rulebook disagrees with the underlined. Who should we believe you are the rulebook?
The rule book obviously and what does pg 33 say about BS6?
when does the "gets hot" rule come into play?
How can you gain something if as you claim, you already have?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:14:05
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Yes. It allows a slotless transport.
Because Tyrannocyte's "Instictive fire" does?
Yes. It allows the model to fire 5 weapons instead of one.
Some rules do nothing by RaW, and this is known to you.
Your interpretation means the rule does nothing, and if there's another - equally valid - interpretation that means the rule does something, then the interpretation that makes it do nothing cannot be correct.
Or there was an intention ( RaI) for it to work, but it does not.
The second interpretation means the rule does a lot of things, a few of which break other rules. Is breaking rules more "correct" then?
What rules are broken? I've seen you assert this before but you've never ( afaik) proven it.
Master-crafted for one.
BS6+ is another.
MC: The model has the ability. Fires 3 shots. You can re-roll Blast scatter on all 3. Or would you now say that shooting is not simultaneous?
BS6+: "it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.". If you never rolled a 1, explain how you "gained" the re-roll?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:19:30
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot?
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do).
Because we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit. He have triggered an "ability to reroll its rolls To Hit".
Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:22:15
Subject: Re:Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Hey, we have the exact same discussion in our German forum. In my opinion it is not 100% clear.
The "ability to reroll its rolls to hit" is completely unconditional, I agree.
However, the issue I have is the part "and chooses to do so" (reroll it's rolls to hit). This is in fact a condition, because you can only decide to do something, if you are currently able to actually do it. The problem is, this is impossible since there weren't any rolls to hit in the first place so nothing to be rerollable.
This is a weird unhelpful expression imho because it makes the rule contradict itself. But maybe I get something wrong.
Otherwise, of course, PE, TL, MC, BS6+, Hatred, Zealot graant the "ability to reroll it's rolls to hit" (under certain irrelevant conditions).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 14:23:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:24:02
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
FlingitNow wrote: How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot?
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do).
Because we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit. He have triggered an "ability to reroll its rolls To Hit".
Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
When we've rolled a 1 To Hit, yeah the trigger works.
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit." refers to "Weapons that do not roll To Hit (...) For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot".
If the models has BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule, the "1" has been rolled?
Not seeing an issue?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:27:22
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:MC: The model has the ability. Fires 3 shots. You can re-roll Blast scatter on all 3. Or would you now say that shooting is not simultaneous?
A single model's shooting is simultaneous.
Different weapons from a single model is demonstrably not. If it's Blast 3, Master Crafted (I don't think a single example of a multi-shot master crafted blast weapon exists, so this is theoretical) then I'd have to look closer at the rules, but I would still say no - there's no "limbo" and you resolve the scatters sequentially. You would, however, be able to see the result of all 3 scatters before deciding which to reroll.
BS6+: "it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.". If you never rolled a 1, explain how you "gained" the re-roll?
Poor wording. Not a "broken" rule, however.
Please support your assertion or retract it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:27:25
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
BlackTalos wrote: FlingitNow wrote: How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot?
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do).
Because we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit. He have triggered an "ability to reroll its rolls To Hit".
Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
When we've rolled a 1 To Hit, yeah the trigger works.
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit." refers to "Weapons that do not roll To Hit (...) For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot".
If the models has BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule, the "1" has been rolled?
Not seeing an issue?
is the dice you roll for get's hot blast weapons a to hit roll? or just a d6 roll?
the d6 rolled for blasts will not gain you the ability to reroll from BS6. For other weapons that do work on to hit rolls, the BS6 reroll will allow you to reroll the die, just like twin linked.
You`re conflating two different rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:30:14
Subject: Re:Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
-Nazdreg- wrote:Hey, we have the exact same discussion in our German forum. In my opinion it is not 100% clear.
The "ability to reroll its rolls to hit" is completely unconditional, I agree.
However, the issue I have is the part "and chooses to do so" (reroll it's rolls to hit). This is in fact a condition, because you can only decide to do something, if you are currently able to actually do it. The problem is, this is impossible since there weren't any rolls to hit in the first place so nothing to be rerollable.
This is a weird unhelpful expression imho because it makes the rule contradict itself. But maybe I get something wrong.
Otherwise, of course, PE, TL, MC, BS6+, Hatred, Zealot graant the "ability to reroll it's rolls to hit" (under certain irrelevant conditions).
The "and chooses to do so after firing" is because of how re-roll work:
You roll once, and check the result. If conditions are met, you may re-roll (choice). Same thing for blast: you roll to "firing a Blast weapon", and then you can "chooses to do so"(re-roll).
It's in the re-roll rules:
BlackTalos wrote:Re-roll
In some situations, the rules allow you to re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like – pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again.
It is not an obligation.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:33:09
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
sirlynchmob wrote: FlingitNow wrote: Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
Page 164 of the rulebook disagrees with the underlined. Who should we believe you are the rulebook?
The rule book obviously and what does pg 33 say about BS6?
when does the "gets hot" rule come into play?
How can you gain something if as you claim, you already have?
We're talking about blasts right? So Gets Hot comes into play when you roll a 1 on a Gets Hot roll. Not when you roll a 1 To Hit (the trigger for the Bs6+ reroll) as that would NEVER happen. So likewise the question is have we triggered an "ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit". Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:33:54
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:MC: The model has the ability. Fires 3 shots. You can re-roll Blast scatter on all 3. Or would you now say that shooting is not simultaneous?
A single model's shooting is simultaneous.
Different weapons from a single model is demonstrably not. If it's Blast 3, Master Crafted (I don't think a single example of a multi-shot master crafted blast weapon exists, so this is theoretical) then I'd have to look closer at the rules, but I would still say no - there's no "limbo" and you resolve the scatters sequentially. You would, however, be able to see the result of all 3 scatters before deciding which to reroll.
As you are 'able to see the result of all 3 scatters before deciding', why would using MC for 1 invalidate the other 2? if you select the 3rd shot, why would the sequentially 1st shot loose the ability?
rigeld2 wrote:BS6+: "it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.". If you never rolled a 1, explain how you "gained" the re-roll?
Poor wording. Not a "broken" rule, however.
If you re-roll a scatter with BS10, you have broken the BS6+ rule, as you did not have a re-roll.
A model with BS10 firing a blast weapon reduces scatter by 10". It does not re-roll.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:36:39
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
BlackTalos wrote: FlingitNow wrote: How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot?
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do).
Because we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit. He have triggered an "ability to reroll its rolls To Hit".
Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
When we've rolled a 1 To Hit, yeah the trigger works.
"it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit." refers to "Weapons that do not roll To Hit (...) For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot".
If the models has BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule, the "1" has been rolled?
Not seeing an issue?
What if we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit? What if say we've rolled a 1 on the Gets Hot roll for a Plasma Cannon?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:38:55
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
North East, UK
|
FlingitNow wrote: It's not an all or nothing but like you say it's hard to discuss rulings with people who claim to have put an unofficial proven end to rules, and then not evening quoting them.
My points exactly. They have taken it upon themselves to declare that the Blasts and Re-Rules wording has no restrictions, even though it specifically says models that 'have the ability to re-roll it's to hit rolls' ...which the PE simply doesn't have.
Bless you're agreeing with someone you don't even understand. So once again:
PE does give you the ability to reroll, but there is a condition to it. Just like a rule that gave you the ability to reroll all failed to hit rolls gives you the ability, but again with a condition.
Show why this condition does not have to be met:
"Failed To Hit roll"
But this condition does:
"To Hit roll of 1"
To help your understanding think about this: let's assume I am Bs 4. Answer the following 3 questions for each example.
1) If I have the ability to reroll to hit can I re roll the dice?
2) If I have the ability to reroll all failed Hits can I reroll the dice?
3) If I have PE can I reroll the dice?
Note these questions are about can not whether you'd want to or not:
A) Say I roll a 1?
B) I roll a 2?
C) I roll a 6?
It's very clear by your way of using irrelevant rules as a means of comparing the rules in question that it's you that clearly doesn't understand.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:39:07
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BlackTalos wrote:rigeld2 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:MC: The model has the ability. Fires 3 shots. You can re-roll Blast scatter on all 3. Or would you now say that shooting is not simultaneous?
A single model's shooting is simultaneous.
Different weapons from a single model is demonstrably not. If it's Blast 3, Master Crafted (I don't think a single example of a multi-shot master crafted blast weapon exists, so this is theoretical) then I'd have to look closer at the rules, but I would still say no - there's no "limbo" and you resolve the scatters sequentially. You would, however, be able to see the result of all 3 scatters before deciding which to reroll.
As you are 'able to see the result of all 3 scatters before deciding', why would using MC for 1 invalidate the other 2? if you select the 3rd shot, why would the sequentially 1st shot loose the ability?
If you re-roll more than one, you've broken the Master-crafted rule.
rigeld2 wrote:BS6+: "it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.". If you never rolled a 1, explain how you "gained" the re-roll?
Poor wording. Not a "broken" rule, however.
If you re-roll a scatter with BS10, you have broken the BS6+ rule, as you did not have a re-roll.
A model with BS10 firing a blast weapon reduces scatter by 10". It does not re-roll.
That's your assumption, and one the actual rules don't support. It's demonstrable (and has been demonstrated despite your handwaving) that BS6+ is as re-rollable as Prescience and PE.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:39:46
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
FlingitNow wrote: BlackTalos wrote: FlingitNow wrote: How is this arguing that a Plasma Cannon can't re-roll its Gets Hot? "it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit." There is specific wording for that weapon to function, because the current setting is, of course, when we have rolled a 1 already (which Blast weapons can't do). Because we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit. He have triggered an "ability to reroll its rolls To Hit". Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no? When we've rolled a 1 To Hit, yeah the trigger works. "it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit." refers to "Weapons that do not roll To Hit (...) For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot". If the models has BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule, the "1" has been rolled? Not seeing an issue? What if we haven't rolled a 1 To Hit? What if say we've rolled a 1 on the Gets Hot roll for a Plasma Cannon? Then as sirlynchmob has pointed out this is not a To Hit roll. The rules contained in Gets Hot therefore explains what you get: "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (...) it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 14:40:07
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/02 14:39:51
Subject: Preferred enemy and blast templates.
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
FlingitNow wrote:sirlynchmob wrote: FlingitNow wrote: Yes PE & BS6 are comparable, if you do not roll a 1, you do not have the ability to reroll. If you do not have the ability to reroll, the blast rule does not help you.
Page 164 of the rulebook disagrees with the underlined. Who should we believe you are the rulebook?
The rule book obviously and what does pg 33 say about BS6?
when does the "gets hot" rule come into play?
How can you gain something if as you claim, you already have?
We're talking about blasts right? So Gets Hot comes into play when you roll a 1 on a Gets Hot roll. Not when you roll a 1 To Hit (the trigger for the Bs6+ reroll) as that would NEVER happen. So likewise the question is have we triggered an "ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit". Does that trigger work for PE and Bs6+ yes or no?
Get's hot also has weapons that are not blasts right?
No, neither BS6, nor PE will allow a reroll for blasts, as you can never gain the ability to reroll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|