Switch Theme:

Nightscythes and Triarch Praetorians  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

 Kriswall wrote:
OK then...
When I play versus the Triarchs in a Night Scythe, I'll be fielding 30 man Ork Boyz Trukk gunboats.
*looks at location*
Sure, I'm not going to lose any sleep over it.

PS. While you are going to play 100% RAW, will you also allow Necrons to autopass Reanimation Protocol?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, your changing a restriction to a permission. As I suspect you know full well.
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





Oberron wrote:
Don't know if this helps but page 80 of the BRB under Transport Capacity
"A Transport can carry a single infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters (as long as they are also Infantry), upto a total number of models equal to the vehicle's Transport capacity"

Now that rule doesn't limit what can be carried on a Transport but then there is this line later on

"Only Infantry models can embark upon transports (this does not include Jump or Jet Pack Infantry), unless specifically stated otherwise."
Now the key work here is embark and that is not with a big E so does this mean it is the action Embarking (the rule) and not a state of the unit "inside" of the transport?

Also a bit of time sillyness Combined Reserve Units on page 135 states "Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together."
Key word here is embarkED as past tense form of embark meaning that it is already inside of the transport and does not go through the embarking steps.


So is embarking the state of a unit inside the Transport or is it the process of getting onto the Transport?

(Also on another note what is this magical realm where the unit is while carried on the Transport called? All it says is remove the unit from the table and place it aside making a note that the unit is being transported is that it?)

I don't know what side I am on because i can see it both ways I just wanted to post some stuff that could be seen as confusion or misunderstanding or misinterpretation of the rules that are effectively the same thing meaning wise but different effects.


Reposting.

I think the bigger issue of this is are the pretoriens ever trying to go through the Embarking process?

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes. Any assumptions otherwise have yet to be proven with actual rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Yes. Any assumptions otherwise have yet to be proven with actual rules.


I have posted the rule that I follow that gives me chain of permission to deploy the Praetorians in the Night Scythe. The burden is on you to show me a rule that I break.
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





rigeld2 wrote:
Yes. Any assumptions otherwise have yet to be proven with actual rules.


What are the rule quotes to show that they are trying to go through the Embarking step?

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

So you're saying a unit that starts the game in a transport isn't Fearless and if it fires a template weapon it will hit the transport?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





 Ghaz wrote:
So you're saying a unit that starts the game in a transport isn't Fearless and if it fires a template weapon it will hit the transport?


Who is that directed to? If a unit starts the game already embarked on a transport of course it still has the Fearless special rule. Unshakable Nerve "Units embarked upon Transports have the Fearless special rule while they are embarked." It doesn't say units that are embarking it is saying units that are embarked. With the Combined Reserve Units rule it says "Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together." If the unit and transport are in reserves you simply state they are embarked on the transport. You can't do the Embarking rule because they aren't deployed. Combined Reserve Units rule pretty much skips that process so that it is possible to be embarked on a Transport in reserve. unless I am mistaken? If I am please explain it to me, I might have missed something.

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Its for those claiming starting the game in a transport aren't 'embarked'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





 Ghaz wrote:
Its for those claiming starting the game in a transport aren't 'embarked'.


Oh... Well they clearly are according to the Combined Reserve Units rule I posted. Now does the unit go through the "Embarking" rule to get on there? If not the Preatorians can still use their night scythe, if they do then they can't.

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I agree that they are embarked, I was just bringing up a few 'problems' that would arise by claiming otherwise.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghaz wrote:
I agree that they are embarked, I was just bringing up a few 'problems' that would arise by claiming otherwise.


I am not claiming that they are not embarked once on the transport, only that I was not required to embark them. If you feel otherwise point out in the rules where I am being asked to embark them on the Night Scythe.

I follow the rules provided and deploy them on the Night Scythe. They wind up being pre-embarked by no action of mine per the Combine Reserves rule.
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I agree that they are embarked, I was just bringing up a few 'problems' that would arise by claiming otherwise.


I am not claiming that they are not embarked once on the transport, only that I was not required to embark them. If you feel otherwise point out in the rules where I am being asked to embark them on the Night Scythe.

I follow the rules provided and deploy them on the Night Scythe. They wind up being pre-embarked by no action of mine per the Combine Reserves rule.


I already went through comprehensively why your argument was wrong. Why do you keep repeating it as if it's magically become correct? For all your whining about it being rules lawyering (it wasn't) and mentioning invulnerable saves (which were totally irrelevant), you never actually showed why the debunking was wrong. Most likely, because as almost every other person in this thread has told you, you are the one at fault. You cannot argue that you are embarked yet never embarked. It make literally no sense whatsoever. You need to go back to that post and explain how your argument addresses each of the four logical flaws which were pointed out.

Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Eyjio wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I agree that they are embarked, I was just bringing up a few 'problems' that would arise by claiming otherwise.


I am not claiming that they are not embarked once on the transport, only that I was not required to embark them. If you feel otherwise point out in the rules where I am being asked to embark them on the Night Scythe.

I follow the rules provided and deploy them on the Night Scythe. They wind up being pre-embarked by no action of mine per the Combine Reserves rule.


I already went through comprehensively why your argument was wrong. Why do you keep repeating it as if it's magically become correct? For all your whining about it being rules lawyering (it wasn't) and mentioning invulnerable saves (which were totally irrelevant), you never actually showed why the debunking was wrong. Most likely, because as almost every other person in this thread has told you, you are the one at fault. You cannot argue that you are embarked yet never embarked. It make literally no sense whatsoever. You need to go back to that post and explain how your argument addresses each of the four logical flaws which were pointed out.

Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.


I follow the rule I posted amd deploy the Praetorians on the Night Scythe as allowed by the Dedicated Transport definition. The Combine Reserves rule establishes the Praetorians as pre-embarked through no action of my own. I am breaking no rule. The burden is on you to show me a rule that I am breaking. You have not so the burden is on you.

If you have a problem with it making sense then you have a problem with the rules making sense. I am simply following rules.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Eyjio wrote:
Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.

Except you're making the assumption that the typo is what's preventing them from embarking on the transport and not the fact that they get a transport in the first place. There's three possible scenarios at play here:

1 .) Triarch Praetorians were intended to have a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport they could embark upon and GW somehow accidentally removed the explicit permission from the previous codex that allowed them to embark.

2. ) The rules for the Night Scythe were deliberately changed to not allow anything other than Infantry to embark and either forgot to remove the option from the Triarch Praetorians entry or forgot that they're Jump Infantry and can't embark in the first place.

3. ) The rules are as they should be and they have a transport they can't embark on.

Personally I feel the second scenario is most likely, but I'm not going to claim that I know what they intended. As of right now, the third scenario is the RAW.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




col_impact wrote:
Eyjio wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I agree that they are embarked, I was just bringing up a few 'problems' that would arise by claiming otherwise.


I am not claiming that they are not embarked once on the transport, only that I was not required to embark them. If you feel otherwise point out in the rules where I am being asked to embark them on the Night Scythe.

I follow the rules provided and deploy them on the Night Scythe. They wind up being pre-embarked by no action of mine per the Combine Reserves rule.


I already went through comprehensively why your argument was wrong. Why do you keep repeating it as if it's magically become correct? For all your whining about it being rules lawyering (it wasn't) and mentioning invulnerable saves (which were totally irrelevant), you never actually showed why the debunking was wrong. Most likely, because as almost every other person in this thread has told you, you are the one at fault. You cannot argue that you are embarked yet never embarked. It make literally no sense whatsoever. You need to go back to that post and explain how your argument addresses each of the four logical flaws which were pointed out.

Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.


I follow the rule I posted amd deploy the Praetorians on the Night Scythe as allowed by the Dedicated Transport definition. The Combine Reserves rule establishes the Praetorians as pre-embarked through no action of my own. I am breaking no rule. The burden is on you to show me a rule that I am breaking. You have not so the burden is on you.

If you have a problem with it making sense then you have a problem with the rules making sense. I am simply following rules.

It has been shown repeatedly, and you have still not even attempted to address the 4 major flaws. You're a lost cause, friend.


Ghaz wrote:
Eyjio wrote:
Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.

Except you're making the assumption that the typo is what's preventing them from embarking on the transport and not the fact that they get a transport in the first place. There's three possible scenarios at play here:

1 .) Triarch Praetorians were intended to have a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport they could embark upon and GW somehow accidentally removed the explicit permission from the previous codex that allowed them to embark.

2. ) The rules for the Night Scythe were deliberately changed to not allow anything other than Infantry to embark and either forgot to remove the option from the Triarch Praetorians entry or forgot that they're Jump Infantry and can't embark in the first place.

3. ) The rules are as they should be and they have a transport they can't embark on.

Personally I feel the second scenario is most likely, but I'm not going to claim that I know what they intended. As of right now, the third scenario is the RAW.

I made no such assumption, I just said they can buy a transport which they can't enter and that it's probably a typo. I suspect that it's a mix of one and two - it was a copy paste job with point tweaking for the entry, and Night Scythes were deliberately changed to only allow infantry.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Col_Impact may have missed your argument Eyjio. Could you please repost it instead of saying you already refuted him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/01 23:09:18


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghaz wrote:
Eyjio wrote:
Until then, we can all safely assume that you're incorrect, and that it's a typo from GW, where a unit can take a dedicated transport it cannot enter.

Except you're making the assumption that the typo is what's preventing them from embarking on the transport and not the fact that they get a transport in the first place. There's three possible scenarios at play here:

1 .) Triarch Praetorians were intended to have a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport they could embark upon and GW somehow accidentally removed the explicit permission from the previous codex that allowed them to embark.

2. ) The rules for the Night Scythe were deliberately changed to not allow anything other than Infantry to embark and either forgot to remove the option from the Triarch Praetorians entry or forgot that they're Jump Infantry and can't embark in the first place.

3. ) The rules are as they should be and they have a transport they can't embark on.

Personally I feel the second scenario is most likely, but I'm not going to claim that I know what they intended. As of right now, the third scenario is the RAW.


Except that I can follow the rules and deploy the Praetorians on the Night Scythe and have everything work just fine.

so Scenario 4 is . . .

4: ) GW thinks the rules work just fine as is, and the Praetorians can deploy in their dedicated transport no problem.


Basically, through strict adherence to the rules GW provides, the Praetorians deploy in the Night Scythe and count as pre-embarked per the Combined Reserves rule, and with that chain of permission everything works according to the obvious RAI (that a unit can use its own dedicated transport).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/01 23:12:20


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

I don't see in the NS or Triarch profiles when it states that the NS can carry Jump Infantry (like in a Stormraven's profile)

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Frozocrone wrote:
I don't see in the NS or Triarch profiles when it states that the NS can carry Jump Infantry (like in a Stormraven's profile)


GW inconsistency across codex's is irrelevant and given their track record hardly expected.

I have shown you the rules that give me a chain of permission. It's up to you to show me a rule that I have broken.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

col_impact wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
I don't see in the NS or Triarch profiles when it states that the NS can carry Jump Infantry (like in a Stormraven's profile)


GW inconsistency across codex's is irrelevant and given their track record hardly expected.

I have shown you the rules that give me a chain of permission. It's up to you to show me a rule that I have broken.


Surely the (this excludes Jump Infantry and Jet Infantry) rule is being broken by you?

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Eyjio wrote:
I made no such assumption, I just said they can buy a transport which they can't enter and that it's probably a typo.

Sorry I misread your original post, but saying that its probably a typo is still making an assumption if you don't have the facts to support it

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

col_impact wrote:
so Scenario 4 is . . .

4: ) GW thinks the rules work just fine as is, and the Praetorians can deploy in their dedicated transport no problem.

Wouldn't be the first time that GW wrote rules that they think work completely differently to what they actually wrote in the book. See Psychic Units in this edition. Or the KFF with vehicles in 4th edition. Or Counter Attack/Furious Charge interaction in 5th edition. Or Grotesques being given access to a transport if they were accompanied by a character with no way to actually add that character to the unit in 3rd edition...


Where that gets problematic is that when it does come time for them to clarify those sorts of things, depending on what sort of mood they're in they might rule to play it as written, to play it as they intended, or change the rule to work completely differently.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Frozocrone wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
I don't see in the NS or Triarch profiles when it states that the NS can carry Jump Infantry (like in a Stormraven's profile)


GW inconsistency across codex's is irrelevant and given their track record hardly expected.

I have shown you the rules that give me a chain of permission. It's up to you to show me a rule that I have broken.


Surely the (this excludes Jump Infantry and Jet Infantry) rule is being broken by you?


I don't break that rule because at no point am I embarking.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

col_impact wrote:

I don't break that rule because at no point am I embarking.

This interpretation would allow jump Infantry, bikes, monstrous creatures, or Titans to begin the game in any transport, though, so is unlikely to be what was intended.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

col_impact wrote:
I don't break that rule because at no point am I embarking.


According to the Combined Reserves Rules, you have to state at the beginning of the game 'if units are embarked upon any transport vehicles in reserve in which case they arrive together'. (eBook copy, page ref. unavailable)

Following this argument, since at no point are you embarking, you are prohibited from declaring the Triarchs are embarked on the NS.
If you declare the Triarch's are embarked, then you have to have done 'embarking', which the Transports' rules that 'exclude Jump and Jet Pack infantry' disallow you from doing so

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
col_impact wrote:

I don't break that rule because at no point am I embarking.

This interpretation would allow jump Infantry, bikes, monstrous creatures, or Titans to begin the game in any transport, though, so is unlikely to be what was intended.


The rule has a loophole so people have to consciously or unconsciously patch the rule with some view of intent. This is not the first sloppy rule area.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Frozocrone wrote:
col_impact wrote:
I don't break that rule because at no point am I embarking.


According to the Combined Reserves Rules, you have to state at the beginning of the game 'if units are embarked upon any transport vehicles in reserve in which case they arrive together'. (eBook copy, page ref. unavailable)

Following this argument, since at no point are you embarking, you are prohibited from declaring the Triarchs are embarked on the NS.
If you declare the Triarch's are embarked, then you have to have done 'embarking', which the Transports' rules that 'exclude Jump and Jet Pack infantry' disallow you from doing so


Stating something as embarked or not (note past tense) is not the same as embarking. If they are embarked I have not put them there and broke no restriction. They come pre-embarked per the Combined Reserves rule. I have broken no rule.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/02 02:10:25


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

col_impact wrote:
The rule has a loophole so people have to consciously or unconsciously patch the rule with some view of intent.

Indeed. But in doing that, you need to patch it with something that doesn't create a bigger problem than it solves.

Arguing that a unit that begins the game embarked into a vehicle side-steps the transport rules because they never actualy goes through the process of embarking causes bigger problems, so is not a good resolution to this particular issue.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
col_impact wrote:
The rule has a loophole so people have to consciously or unconsciously patch the rule with some view of intent.

Indeed. But in doing that, you need to patch it with something that doesn't create a bigger problem than it solves.

Arguing that a unit that begins the game embarked into a vehicle side-steps the transport rules because they never actualy goes through the process of embarking causes bigger problems, so is not a good resolution to this particular issue.




It is a fine resolution of this issue in isolation. Keep in mind that on the Praetorian profile there is a dedicated transport that is OBVIOUSLY meant to indeed be used.

We need to really only be consistent with our patching. That the patching is guided by intent.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 02:22:57


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

col_impact wrote:
It is a fine resolution of this issue in isolation.

But that's the whole point - You can't make rulings like this in isolation. You have to consider what effect they will have elsewhere.

A ruling that results in a Warhound Titan starting the game inside a Rhino is not a good ruling.


Keep in mind that on the Praetorian profile there is a dedicated transport that is OBVIOUSLY meant to indeed be used.

Indeed. So an appropriate ruling would be 'Praetorians may start the game embarked in their dedicated transport, even though Jump Infantry can not normally embark into transport vehicles'.



We need to really only be consistent with our patching. That the patching is guided by intent.

Absolutely. Which is why ruling that starting in a transport side-steps the embarking rules is a very, very bad idea.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/02 02:50:45


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: