Switch Theme:

Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Numberless Necron Warrior




Bremen

Hey,

if a Necron Destroyer as part of the Dstroyer Cult tries to penetrate the armour of a tank he connot normally penetrate, does he have to reroll sixes in order to gain his extermination protocol?


1.Extermination Protocols: All units in this Formation re-roll failed To Wound rolls and
Armour Penetration rolls in the Shooting phase.
2. If the total is less than the vehicle’ s Armour Value, the shot has no ef fect.
3. Gauss: When firing a weapon with this special rule, a To Wound roll of a 6 wounds
automatically, regardless of the target’ s Toughness. Against vehicles and buildings, an
Armour Penetration roll of a 6 that does not cause a penetrating hit automatically causes
a glancing hit.


from my understanding so far it means a roll of six is a succesful glancing hit right? Thereofre I do not have to reroll the first 6es?

Bye!

9,500pts 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If you roll a 6 you glance. If you do not, you can attempt to reroll to get a 6.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

blaktoof wrote:
rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.


Yeah you would be able to because you have ailed to penetrate the armour and that is what is neccessary for the reroll not that you can penetrate it or harm it just that you failed to do so. Any failed roll is rerolled. It doesn't matter what the weapon is, if Destroyers were equiped with Lasguns, and were ST3 and did not have Gauss, they'd still be able to reroll as they failed the armour penetration roll.

If they had lasguns they'd just reroll and fail again.

There's nothing in that rule that says you have to be able to hurt it, just that you reroll failed Armour penetration rolls.

Does that make sense?

Remove Gauss from the equation, if someone had that rule and was ST4 rolling against AV12, would they still get the reroll if they failed? Yes, it just wouldn't do anything.

All that rule cares about is if you failed, not if you can hurt it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/25 16:06:32


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Hollismason wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.


Yeah you would be able to because you have because you failed to penetrate the armour. Any failed roll is rerolled. It doesn't matter what the weapon is, if Destroyers were equiped with Lasguns, and were ST3 and did not have Gauss, they'd still be able to reroll as they failed

They'd just reroll and fail again.

There's nothing in that rule that says you have to be able to hurt it, just that you reroll failed Armour penetration rolls.

Does that make sense?

Remove Gauss from the equation, if someone had that rule and was ST4 rolling against AV12, would they still get the reroll if they failed? Yes, it just wouldn't do anything.

Removing Guass from the equation changes everything. A glancing hit result is not a failed armor penetration roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.

I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Hollismason wrote:
That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.

I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.

So you're agreeing with blaktoof? The tone and content of your post doesn't seem that way.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Hollismason wrote:
That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.

I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.

So you're agreeing with blaktoof? The tone and content of your post doesn't seem that way.


Agreed
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

No I agree that you won't be able to reroll a 6 because it's a glance , but you can reroll anything else because it's a failure. Its just semantic.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Hollismason wrote:
No I agree that you won't be able to reroll a 6 because it's a glance , but you can reroll anything else because it's a failure. Its just semantic.


And you appear to be arguing with yourself, since no one has claimed that you have to reroll it.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok another similar question after reading this.

Say it's late in the game and I need to pop a tank for my maelstrom objective and it has 2 HP and shoot with a heavy gauss cannon, I glance the vehicle, am I allowed to re-roll this inorder to try and pen and get a lucky destroyed result or do I have to accept the glance?

 Psienesis wrote:
While that's possible, it's also stupid to build your game around your customers being fething morons
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It isn't a failed armor pen, you can't reroll it.

This is assuming the quote in the OP is correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You didn't fail your armour pen roll, so no.
   
Made in fr
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman



France, Paris

 Henker-Kind wrote:
Hey,

if a Necron Destroyer as part of the Dstroyer Cult tries to penetrate the armour of a tank he connot normally penetrate, does he have to reroll sixes in order to gain his extermination protocol?


1.Extermination Protocols: All units in this Formation re-roll failed To Wound rolls and
Armour Penetration rolls in the Shooting phase.
2. If the total is less than the vehicle’ s Armour Value, the shot has no ef fect.
3. Gauss: When firing a weapon with this special rule, a To Wound roll of a 6 wounds
automatically, regardless of the target’ s Toughness. Against vehicles and buildings, an
Armour Penetration roll of a 6 that does not cause a penetrating hit automatically causes
a glancing hit.


from my understanding so far it means a roll of six is a succesful glancing hit right? Thereofre I do not have to reroll the first 6es?

Bye!


The rule states that you may re-roll failed penetration checks, not that you have to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/26 17:10:10


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: