Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 12:31:41
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Bremen
|
Hey,
if a Necron Destroyer as part of the Dstroyer Cult tries to penetrate the armour of a tank he connot normally penetrate, does he have to reroll sixes in order to gain his extermination protocol?
1.Extermination Protocols: All units in this Formation re-roll failed To Wound rolls and
Armour Penetration rolls in the Shooting phase.
2. If the total is less than the vehicle’ s Armour Value, the shot has no ef fect.
3. Gauss: When firing a weapon with this special rule, a To Wound roll of a 6 wounds
automatically, regardless of the target’ s Toughness. Against vehicles and buildings, an
Armour Penetration roll of a 6 that does not cause a penetrating hit automatically causes
a glancing hit.
from my understanding so far it means a roll of six is a succesful glancing hit right? Thereofre I do not have to reroll the first 6es?
Bye!
|
9,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 13:33:55
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you roll a 6 you glance. If you do not, you can attempt to reroll to get a 6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 15:51:49
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:02:51
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
blaktoof wrote:rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.
Yeah you would be able to because you have ailed to penetrate the armour and that is what is neccessary for the reroll not that you can penetrate it or harm it just that you failed to do so. Any failed roll is rerolled. It doesn't matter what the weapon is, if Destroyers were equiped with Lasguns, and were ST3 and did not have Gauss, they'd still be able to reroll as they failed the armour penetration roll.
If they had lasguns they'd just reroll and fail again.
There's nothing in that rule that says you have to be able to hurt it, just that you reroll failed Armour penetration rolls.
Does that make sense?
Remove Gauss from the equation, if someone had that rule and was ST4 rolling against AV12, would they still get the reroll if they failed? Yes, it just wouldn't do anything.
All that rule cares about is if you failed, not if you can hurt it.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/25 16:06:32
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:06:03
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Hollismason wrote:blaktoof wrote:rolling a 6 with gauss is a glance, so you have not failed the armor penetration roll. So yeah, they would not be re-rolled.
Yeah you would be able to because you have because you failed to penetrate the armour. Any failed roll is rerolled. It doesn't matter what the weapon is, if Destroyers were equiped with Lasguns, and were ST3 and did not have Gauss, they'd still be able to reroll as they failed
They'd just reroll and fail again.
There's nothing in that rule that says you have to be able to hurt it, just that you reroll failed Armour penetration rolls.
Does that make sense?
Remove Gauss from the equation, if someone had that rule and was ST4 rolling against AV12, would they still get the reroll if they failed? Yes, it just wouldn't do anything.
Removing Guass from the equation changes everything. A glancing hit result is not a failed armor penetration roll.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:08:09
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.
I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:13:34
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Hollismason wrote:That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.
I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.
So you're agreeing with blaktoof? The tone and content of your post doesn't seem that way.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:33:17
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Hollismason wrote:That's not what I am stating please don't straw man argument me thanks.
I'm stating that the rule does not care about what the weapon is, just that if you have failed a armour penetration roll you get to reroll it. A glance is not a failure.
So you're agreeing with blaktoof? The tone and content of your post doesn't seem that way.
Agreed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:41:41
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
No I agree that you won't be able to reroll a 6 because it's a glance , but you can reroll anything else because it's a failure. Its just semantic.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 16:50:28
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hollismason wrote:No I agree that you won't be able to reroll a 6 because it's a glance , but you can reroll anything else because it's a failure. Its just semantic.
And you appear to be arguing with yourself, since no one has claimed that you have to reroll it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 20:08:57
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok another similar question after reading this.
Say it's late in the game and I need to pop a tank for my maelstrom objective and it has 2 HP and shoot with a heavy gauss cannon, I glance the vehicle, am I allowed to re-roll this inorder to try and pen and get a lucky destroyed result or do I have to accept the glance?
|
Psienesis wrote:While that's possible, it's also stupid to build your game around your customers being fething morons |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 20:12:26
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It isn't a failed armor pen, you can't reroll it.
This is assuming the quote in the OP is correct.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/25 20:12:53
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You didn't fail your armour pen roll, so no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/26 17:07:36
Subject: Destroyer Cult; Destroyers, Exterminaton Protocols and armour penetration
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
France, Paris
|
Henker-Kind wrote:Hey,
if a Necron Destroyer as part of the Dstroyer Cult tries to penetrate the armour of a tank he connot normally penetrate, does he have to reroll sixes in order to gain his extermination protocol?
1.Extermination Protocols: All units in this Formation re-roll failed To Wound rolls and
Armour Penetration rolls in the Shooting phase.
2. If the total is less than the vehicle’ s Armour Value, the shot has no ef fect.
3. Gauss: When firing a weapon with this special rule, a To Wound roll of a 6 wounds
automatically, regardless of the target’ s Toughness. Against vehicles and buildings, an
Armour Penetration roll of a 6 that does not cause a penetrating hit automatically causes
a glancing hit.
from my understanding so far it means a roll of six is a succesful glancing hit right? Thereofre I do not have to reroll the first 6es?
Bye!
The rule states that you may re-roll failed penetration checks, not that you have to.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/26 17:10:10
|
|
 |
 |
|