Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 00:30:52
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
Greetings all!
Hope your weekends are treating you well.
I just had a quick question. I am currently in progress playing a game with my cousin who is Dark Eldar.
I deep struck a drop pod with Vulkan and some sternguard with heavy flamers down and was able to cover 3 of his vehicles with the heavy flamer shots.
Long story short with the combination of lucky rolls, salamander chapter tactics, and the No Escape rule I blew up all 3 vehicles and BBQed everything but 1 lone wych.
This was so unbelievable it left me wondering if this was even possible.
So I am coming here to ask, if I hit all 3 vehicles with the heavy flamers do the units inside of EACH vehicle take the d6 hits from each flamer?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 00:42:50
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yes, why wouldn't they?
Although the rule requiring you to cover as much as possible of the target vehicle with the template will limit the number of times this is actually likely to happen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 00:44:48
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
iinvisionx wrote:Greetings all!
Hope your weekends are treating you well.
I just had a quick question. I am currently in progress playing a game with my cousin who is Dark Eldar.
I deep struck a drop pod with Vulkan and some sternguard with heavy flamers down and was able to cover 3 of his vehicles with the heavy flamer shots.
Long story short with the combination of lucky rolls, salamander chapter tactics, and the No Escape rule I blew up all 3 vehicles and BBQed everything but 1 lone wych.
This was so unbelievable it left me wondering if this was even possible.
So I am coming here to ask, if I hit all 3 vehicles with the heavy flamers do the units inside of EACH vehicle take the d6 hits from each flamer?
Maybe? Depends on the layout.
Vulkan and Sternguard nominate a target to shoot at. If possible, every template weapon in the unit has to cover that target. If you can hit the target AND a 2nd unit with a single template, awesome... that 2nd unit takes hits also. If you can cover the target unit, but instead choose to put the template over a different unit, you've broken the rules.
Here is the relevant bit... "Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much of the vehicle as possible without touching a friendly model." So, you see, it's generally impossible to "cover as much of the vehicle as possible" and still tag a second vehicle unless the vehicle are almost stacked on top of each other.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 01:06:54
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Was your squad putting all of its templates so that they'd be hitting the primary target with as much template as possible? If you did this and happened to catch the edges of other vehicles with your templates, it's all good.
If you had templates placed so they'd be pointed at the edge of the target vehicle, or not at the target vehicle at all, then this would not be allowed.
The center of your template needs to be near the center of the vehicle, so you can hit as much of it as possible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 01:19:37
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
kingbobbito wrote:The center of your template needs to be near the center of the vehicle, so you can hit as much of it as possible.
Not necessarily. If you have your guys set up right, it is possible that you cannot physically place the the center of the template (nor the large end) over the vehicle. For example (sorry for crude)
_______________
|___ VEHICLE___|
A_C_E_G_I_K_M
_B_D_F_H_J_L
the large end of the template from B, D, F, H, J and L can not be placed over the vehicle.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 01:31:51
Subject: Re:Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator
|
That's correct. Normally, you'd have to cover one vehicle and you'd be lucky to get multiple vehicles, but you can just "force" the position of the template by the way you position your guys. Leave only one viable way of placing the template, and you can make sure that one option is the option that gives you the best results.
|
I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 01:42:42
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Happyjew wrote: kingbobbito wrote:The center of your template needs to be near the center of the vehicle, so you can hit as much of it as possible.
Not necessarily. If you have your guys set up right, it is possible that you cannot physically place the the center of the template (nor the large end) over the vehicle. For example (sorry for crude)
_______________
|___ VEHICLE___|
A_C_E_G_I_K_M
_B_D_F_H_J_L
the large end of the template from B, D, F, H, J and L can not be placed over the vehicle.
I'm a bit confused, are you saying that the vehicle is too far away for the center of the template to reach the vehicle from those spots? From my understanding your template would still need to be pointed directly at the vehicle... you can't aim from at something other than where you wrote "VEHICLE" on the model. Not necessarily that the template center has to be over it, but that the template center has to be pointed at it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 02:42:10
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
kingbobbito wrote: Happyjew wrote: kingbobbito wrote:The center of your template needs to be near the center of the vehicle, so you can hit as much of it as possible.
Not necessarily. If you have your guys set up right, it is possible that you cannot physically place the the center of the template (nor the large end) over the vehicle. For example (sorry for crude)
_______________
|___ VEHICLE___|
A_C_E_G_I_K_M
_B_D_F_H_J_L
the large end of the template from B, D, F, H, J and L can not be placed over the vehicle.
I'm a bit confused, are you saying that the vehicle is too far away for the center of the template to reach the vehicle from those spots? From my understanding your template would still need to be pointed directly at the vehicle... you can't aim from at something other than where you wrote "VEHICLE" on the model. Not necessarily that the template center has to be over it, but that the template center has to be pointed at it.
"Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much as possible without touching a friendly model."
Happyjew was referring to that last bit of the Template rule.
Also you seem to be conflating Template with Blast Marker. You do not need to put the center of a Template (flamer) weapon over or at anything, you do need to do that for blast weapons before scatter. The only requirement for templates is the above quotation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/09 02:45:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 02:59:36
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Just place squad members close to and slightly in front of the firing squad member to "control" the angel of the template cone. This will make it easier to hit multiple vehicles  !
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 04:07:41
Subject: Re:Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Or a better way is to declare the farthest away vehicle (or whichever requires you to cover more vehicles in the process) as your target. As long as you can see it and it's in range, you can shoot it.
|
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 04:45:00
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Tarrasq wrote: kingbobbito wrote: Happyjew wrote: kingbobbito wrote:The center of your template needs to be near the center of the vehicle, so you can hit as much of it as possible.
Not necessarily. If you have your guys set up right, it is possible that you cannot physically place the the center of the template (nor the large end) over the vehicle. For example (sorry for crude)
_______________
|___ VEHICLE___|
A_C_E_G_I_K_M
_B_D_F_H_J_L
the large end of the template from B, D, F, H, J and L can not be placed over the vehicle.
I'm a bit confused, are you saying that the vehicle is too far away for the center of the template to reach the vehicle from those spots? From my understanding your template would still need to be pointed directly at the vehicle... you can't aim from at something other than where you wrote "VEHICLE" on the model. Not necessarily that the template center has to be over it, but that the template center has to be pointed at it.
"Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much as possible without touching a friendly model."
Happyjew was referring to that last bit of the Template rule.
Also you seem to be conflating Template with Blast Marker. You do not need to put the center of a Template (flamer) weapon over or at anything, you do need to do that for blast weapons before scatter. The only requirement for templates is the above quotation.
To clarify, the center of the Blast Marker just has to be wholely over the base for Infantry or anywhere on the hull of the vehicle. It doesn't necessarily have to be over the center.
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/09 13:14:36
Subject: Flamer templates hitting multiple open topped vehicles
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Tarrasq wrote:"Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much as possible without touching a friendly model."
Happyjew was referring to that last bit of the Template rule.
Also you seem to be conflating Template with Blast Marker. You do not need to put the center of a Template (flamer) weapon over or at anything, you do need to do that for blast weapons before scatter. The only requirement for templates is the above quotation.
Ah, okay. I usually only have 1 flamer in a squad (such as tacticals) so don't really have to worry about that sort of stuff as much, or on dreadnoughts where I probably won't have anything in front of it.
|
|
 |
 |
|