Switch Theme:

Do Wraiths get a bonus attack when purchasing wargear?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Wraiths have no CCW mentioned in their profile, therefore when naked, they count as having one close combat weapon.

The wording in the rulebook says "If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon".

If you purchase Whip coils, which have the Melee type, and since in the Wraith entry it doesn't say "replace ccw with whip coils", does that mean that the model counts as having 2 CCW for the purposes of having an extra attack, or is it considered that the whip coils replace the imaginary ccw?

Same goes for the pistol. Since it's a pistol, does it count as CCW + pistol = extra attack, or does it replace the imaginary ccw?

Thx.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

If there isn't one stated in the wargear originally, then when striking, they count as having one. If you purchase a weapon, it uses that Weapon. So no, Wraiths can't dual wield.

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 krodarklorr wrote:
If there isn't one stated in the wargear originally, then when striking, they count as having one. If you purchase a weapon, it uses that Weapon. So no, Wraiths can't dual wield.


I see. Is there any source for this? Not doubting you, would just like to check.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mavlun wrote:
 krodarklorr wrote:
If there isn't one stated in the wargear originally, then when striking, they count as having one. If you purchase a weapon, it uses that Weapon. So no, Wraiths can't dual wield.


I see. Is there any source for this? Not doubting you, would just like to check.

You cited it. If they don't have a CCW, they use the default one.
A Wraith with Whip Coils has a CCW and therefore doesn't use the default one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

 Mavlun wrote:
 krodarklorr wrote:
If there isn't one stated in the wargear originally, then when striking, they count as having one. If you purchase a weapon, it uses that Weapon. So no, Wraiths can't dual wield.


I see. Is there any source for this? Not doubting you, would just like to check.


I don't have my rulebook on me, as I'm at work. But I remember there was huge debate about models (Praetorians with Rods) being treated as having CC weapons if they have no other one. I'll double check when I get my rulebook.

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 krodarklorr wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
 krodarklorr wrote:
If there isn't one stated in the wargear originally, then when striking, they count as having one. If you purchase a weapon, it uses that Weapon. So no, Wraiths can't dual wield.


I see. Is there any source for this? Not doubting you, would just like to check.


I don't have my rulebook on me, as I'm at work. But I remember there was huge debate about models (Praetorians with Rods) being treated as having CC weapons if they have no other one. I'll double check when I get my rulebook.


Cool, thanks a bunch. Ah, the debate about the ranged/melee profiles and that rule about use one or the other. Yeah, fun times.
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





All models are treated as having a CCW if one isn't listed in their profile. If you have a whipcoil, you have a CCW, therefore you do not use the CCW given to those without weapons listed.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

A simpler answer might be are whip coils pistols?

No. Then no extra attack. They are coils that tangle your opponent up and give you swift strike.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

Lungpickle wrote:
A simpler answer might be are whip coils pistols?

No. Then no extra attack. They are coils that tangle your opponent up and give you swift strike.


Whip Coils being pistols or not has no bearing on whether the unit would gain an extra attack from having 2 CCWs.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

The actual rule is...

"If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon."

So, as soon as you give the model a melee weapon, it no longer fulfills the requirement to get a CCW. In other words, giving a model a melee weapon creates a scenario where the model IS specifically stated as have a weapon with the Melee type. The special rule above ceases to have effect and the model is no longer treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






 Kriswall wrote:
The actual rule is...

"If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon."

So, as soon as you give the model a melee weapon, it no longer fulfills the requirement to get a CCW. In other words, giving a model a melee weapon creates a scenario where the model IS specifically stated as have a weapon with the Melee type. The special rule above ceases to have effect and the model is no longer treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.


But then, ironically, is now treated as having a single close combat weapon (because you gave him one).
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Mavlun wrote:Wraiths have no CCW mentioned in their profile, therefore when naked, they count as having one close combat weapon.

The wording in the rulebook says "If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon".


You literally quoted it.
If the whipcoils are a melee weapon, then they won't have an "invisible" CCW.
Otherwise, you've given them this "invisible" CCW when they have a melee weapon and/or pistol, therefore breaking the rules.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 NightHowler wrote:
 Kriswall wrote:
The actual rule is...

"If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon."

So, as soon as you give the model a melee weapon, it no longer fulfills the requirement to get a CCW. In other words, giving a model a melee weapon creates a scenario where the model IS specifically stated as have a weapon with the Melee type. The special rule above ceases to have effect and the model is no longer treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.


But then, ironically, is now treated as having a single close combat weapon (because you gave him one).


If you give them Whip Coils, they have Whip Coils. They most certainly are no longer treated as having a CCW. Whip Coils are NOT the same thing as a CCW. Whip Coils are basically CCWs with Swiftstrike.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





So then if you get the Pistol though, the rule wouldn't be invoked, as a Pistol does not have the Melee type, but counts as a close combat weapon, so if you get the Pistol, you get the extra attack.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

 Mavlun wrote:
So then if you get the Pistol though, the rule wouldn't be invoked, as a Pistol does not have the Melee type, but counts as a close combat weapon, so if you get the Pistol, you get the extra attack.


You can spend 2 points per model to give CSMs a close combat weapon. They are stock armed with a Bolter and a bolt pistol. Are they dual wielding already then?

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Mavlun wrote:
So then if you get the Pistol though, the rule wouldn't be invoked, as a Pistol does not have the Melee type, but counts as a close combat weapon, so if you get the Pistol, you get the extra attack.

Since a Pistol counts as a close combat weapon and uses the profile give in the rulebook (this profile does have the 'Melee' type) you would not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule if all you have is a Pistol weapon.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 Ghaz wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
So then if you get the Pistol though, the rule wouldn't be invoked, as a Pistol does not have the Melee type, but counts as a close combat weapon, so if you get the Pistol, you get the extra attack.

Since a Pistol counts as a close combat weapon and uses the profile give in the rulebook (this profile does have the 'Melee' type) you would not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule if all you have is a Pistol weapon.


The rulebook rule states "If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon."

Neither the Particle caster (specific case for this discussion), nor the Bolt Pistol in the example in the rulebook on pg. 42 have the Melee type, so as far as I see you still get the CCW, and together with the pistol, the +1 attack.

Am I missing something?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

And when used in close combat, a Pistol weapon uses the profile given in the book which does have the Melee type. So if you have a Pistol, you do not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 Ghaz wrote:
And when used in close combat, a Pistol weapon uses the profile given in the book which does have the Melee type. So if you have a Pistol, you do not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule.


Which profile that has the melee type? I can't see it anywhere...
   
Made in gb
Auspicious Skink Shaman




Louth, Ireland

FFS

CSM have bolt pistol + bolter. You pay 2pts to get a pointy stick which then gives you +1 attack since you have a ccw (pointy stick) and pistol (bolt pistol)

For wraiths - are whipcoils weapons or equipment?
If they are equipment it doesn't matter you get a CCW for 'free'
If they are melee weapons then they are CCWs since they are not listed as anything special (IE specialist) so if you bought a pistol then you'd also get +1 attack.

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Mavlun wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
And when used in close combat, a Pistol weapon uses the profile given in the book which does have the Melee type. So if you have a Pistol, you do not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule.


Which profile that has the melee type? I can't see it anywhere...

Again, from 'Pistols as Close Combat Weapons' in the main rulebook in the 'Weapons' section:

A pistol can be used as a close combat weapon. If this is done, use the profile given above - the Strength, AP and special rules of the pistol's shooting profile are ignored.

Now tell us what "... the profile given above..." has under 'Type'?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Ghaz wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
And when used in close combat, a Pistol weapon uses the profile given in the book which does have the Melee type. So if you have a Pistol, you do not benefit from the 'No Specified Melee Weapon' rule.


Which profile that has the melee type? I can't see it anywhere...

Again, from 'Pistols as Close Combat Weapons' in the main rulebook in the 'Weapons' section:

A pistol can be used as a close combat weapon. If this is done, use the profile given above - the Strength, AP and special rules of the pistol's shooting profile are ignored.

Now tell us what "... the profile given above..." has under 'Type'?


Wow, I am blind as a bat, somehow managed to totally miss that passage. Thanks buddy.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/13 00:52:47


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: