| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/13 23:36:07
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So I am a little confused on how transports work with allies. Say I take a Space Marines with Inquisition, the inquisition can take land raiders as a transport for henchman. If i wanted to start a space marines squad in that tranport could I? Or do they have to stay outside of it then go into on turn 1? How would that work? How do people run henchmen? Do they or do they just take Cortez? Any help would be nice.Also say I take henchman would they be objective secured troops? Any help would be appreciated, I tried to use the forum but it seems not many use Inquistion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/14 18:41:34
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
What I mean is can I take an allied Inquisition detachment with Corteaz and a warband, Corteaz makes warbands obsec, the warband can take a landraider which makes it obsec. Could I start terminators inside of the landraider instead?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/14 18:56:59
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
Objective Secured is never actually conferred to the Land Raider; the unit inside the Land Raider counts as controlling the objective if the Land Raider is, so their Objective Secured counts. If you put a unit without Objective Secured in a Land Raider it doesn't matter if it was taken as a transport for a Troops unit or not, you don't get Objective Secured.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/14 19:09:22
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I thought if a dedicated transport was taken for an obsec unit than that transport becomes an obsec unit? Like rhinos for tacticals and drop pods?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/14 21:11:25
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
A dedicated transport does indeed become obsec for troop units.
However Coatez doesn't grant obsec. He makes them scoring, but everything is scoring in 7th anyway.
Also a unit cannot start the game inside another units dedicated transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/14 23:49:28
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
AnomanderRake wrote:Objective Secured is never actually conferred to the Land Raider; the unit inside the Land Raider counts as controlling the objective if the Land Raider is, so their Objective Secured counts. If you put a unit without Objective Secured in a Land Raider it doesn't matter if it was taken as a transport for a Troops unit or not, you don't get Objective Secured.
I think this is not true. Dedicated transport gains the section of the unit it was bought for. So a Chimera for Troop veterans will be Troop, no matter what is sitting inside the Chimera. If Obj. sec. is granted for Troops (so you are not playing unbound), your Chimera will be Obj. Sec no matter what.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/15 01:51:05
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Zsolt wrote: AnomanderRake wrote:Objective Secured is never actually conferred to the Land Raider; the unit inside the Land Raider counts as controlling the objective if the Land Raider is, so their Objective Secured counts. If you put a unit without Objective Secured in a Land Raider it doesn't matter if it was taken as a transport for a Troops unit or not, you don't get Objective Secured.
I think this is not true. Dedicated transport gains the section of the unit it was bought for. So a Chimera for Troop veterans will be Troop, no matter what is sitting inside the Chimera. If Obj. sec. is granted for Troops (so you are not playing unbound), your Chimera will be Obj. Sec no matter what.
That's correct. A Dedicated Transport has the same battlefield role as its parent.
But you don't get Ob. Sec for being battleforged.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/15 02:16:59
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Coteaz doesn't grant ObjSec, nor do his rules mention anything about scoring.
Not in the updated Codex: Inquisition anyway
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/15 02:48:11
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I thought it said his warbands grant scoring or object. I thought I had newest codex. The data slate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0001/03/15 03:24:54
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
Objective Secured is a property of a detachment, not a product of battlefield role. So in come detachments (Combined Arms, Allied or even a few formations grant it) "troops" get a Objective Secured.
Since the Inquisition uses it's own detachment, then they will never be Objective Secured barring some special rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/20 03:29:41
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I'll have to look up when I get back to my iPad. Would a rhino be objective secured when taken by tactical marines?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/15 09:30:58
Subject: Allied transports and inquisition questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Righteousrob wrote:I'll have to look up when I get back to my iPad. Would a rhino be objective secured when taken by tactical marines?
Only if the Tactical Marines were from a Combined Arms or Allied Detachment*
*not to be confused with allies.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|