| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/25 23:23:24
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
So, a few questions about the Big Squiggoth that I feel never got satisfactorily answered:
If it runs, can the unit inside fire out?
Can units embarked fire at all ?(theres some weird wording in the rules for it, thoug it says they effect the model itself, not the units embarked)
If a big squiggoth is locked in combat, can the unit inside fire out, since its not fighting?
The only one I have a good answer for for myself is the second one, which I believe is a "yes" due to vague wording, and that another squiggoth entry states that its guns must be fired by a model embarked on it, thus implying that embarked units can shoot normally. Also, any time I've seen them run, there is no argument about the embarked models firing out.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/25 23:45:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 14:43:44
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
No input or opinions?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 14:47:39
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
BossMakk wrote:So, a few questions about the Big Squiggoth that I feel never got satisfactorily answered:
If it runs, can the unit inside fire out?
Can units embarked fire at all ?(theres some weird wording in the rules for it, thoug it says they effect the model itself, not the units embarked)
If a big squiggoth is locked in combat, can the unit inside fire out, since its not fighting?
The only one I have a good answer for for myself is the second one, which I believe is a "yes" due to vague wording, and that another squiggoth entry states that its guns must be fired by a model embarked on it, thus implying that embarked units can shoot normally. Also, any time I've seen them run, there is no argument about the embarked models firing out.
I would have to say probably not! The squiggoth is in combat and therefore I would assume if the orks inside stay inside then they wouldn't be able to fire. Now if they disembark you might be bringing up a different situation entirely.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 14:52:09
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
You'll need someone with the rules for it to answer your queries, but i'd a guess i'd say "No" then "Yes".
It really depends on how the Gargantuan Creature rules interact with the core Rulebook. Usually moving Flat out (=~ running) does not allow passengers to shoot, and Transports not being locked in combat means passengers can shoot when "In close combat".
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:22:51
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Yeah, i had kinda hoped that I coukd shoot while the transport is in combat, but eh.
So, my only argument for not being able to shoot while the creature runs is that, specifically, it IS a run action, and the entry for monstrous transport states that the only vehicle rules the Squiggoth rules use are those related for embarking/disembarking as it pertains to models gettin on/off. So i thought snap fire might be possible, since even I'd you did want to use movement and shooting the beastie is only going Cruising speed. But i dunno. I didn't get a degree in rules lawyering., thus why i brought it up here
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:31:23
Subject: Re:Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
I'll refer back to a previous post:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/618096.page
DanielBeaver wrote:I'm not sure that the passengers have permission to shoot in the first place. The Squiggoth "counts as an Open-topped transport vehicle, with a Transport capacity of 15 models, for the purposes of allowing infantry models to embark and disembark from it." It also specifically mentions that the Monstrous Transport rule does not bestow any other vehicle rules - so I think it wouldn't use the Fire Points rules at all (since they are not related to embarking and disembarking).
If they do have permission to shoot, then yeah they could shoot even after the Squiggoth runs. They would actually count as being stationary, since they only count as having moved if the vehicle moved at combat speed (which a Squiggoth never does).
If the unit inside does have permission to shoot, then I can't think of any particular reason why they can't shoot while the squiggoth is locked in close combat. But I don't think they can shoot in the first place.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/26 15:34:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:32:09
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The SH Walker rules, of which we have one transport SHW, do not make a distinction for emabarked units firing when their transport is locked in combat. As they do not meet any criteria from being disallowed shooting, they may shoot
Similarly running only stops the model from firing, not anything embarked. So they may shoot while the squiggoth runs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:44:58
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Okay, ups and downs.
There is nothing that says either way whether the unit can or cannot shoot out to begin with, only lots of implied stuff (counts as open topped for embarked units, emplaced weapons must be manned by embarked units, etc)
Are there any sources that I could use to back up either shooting argument? Just if people get argumentative. Just so i can have a "Look, here is RAW, until it's FAQd this is how I will play it".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:50:38
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
IF theyre given permission to shoot to begin with, then nothing about the basic rules for the squiggoth running or being engaged in combat affects this general permission.
Its generally accepted that they can shoot out, but you would need t confirm the precise rules around it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 15:51:07
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Awesome, thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 17:01:20
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
Squiggy is one of those units that is unlike any other....A MC that can act as a mobile open top transport. I have not seen any rules about if the unit can shoot while squiggy is in CC. But I would see it being allowed as the Transport is in CC, Not the actual passengers.
It is a grey area , But thats how I would play it in my group.
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/26 17:57:59
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Cool.
So, for wrap up, here's how I think I'll run it
1:units can shoot out, it's referred to as OT, and the Gar Squiggoth specifically states that some of its weapons must be fired by embarked orks-> implying they can shoot.
2: I will not run and shoot embarked units out. Maybe technically legal, but there is argument on both sides and I'd rather roll dice than nit pick interpretations.
3:units embarked can shoot even if the transport is in CC. Nothing forbids this, and other transported units can shoot out even if their vehicle is stuck in CC with a unit. However, of course, they must shoot at a unit not engaged in CC. Automatically Appended Next Post: Final arguments?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/26 18:00:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 11:24:43
Subject: Re:Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
For Point 3: It is completely legal for Occupants of a Rhino to fire at the Unit that charged the Rhino (They are not engaged in CC). The point is usually moot because the charging Unit destroys the Rhino. But as such, your restriction of "they must shoot at a unit not engaged in CC. " could go both ways here. Of course the Unit engaged with the Gar Squiggoth is "engaged", but for Vehicle transports, you'd have allowance to target that Unit. Automatically Appended Next Post: I'd say: go legal or go "not legal". A) Can run and shoot (legal), but cannot target the Unit in CC with the Squiggoth (legal) or B) Cannot run and shoot (Like Vehicle transports), but can target the Unit in CC with the Squiggoth (Like Vehicle transports).
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/27 11:27:42
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 12:03:23
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
B) isnt always true. If they did an open topped Gorka/Morkanaught then the vehicle WOULD be locked, and couldnt be shot at.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 12:11:43
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:B) isnt always true. If they did an open topped Gorka/Morkanaught then the vehicle WOULD be locked, and couldnt be shot at.
I was thinking Passengers shooting at the Charging Unit, not another enemy shooting at the Squiggoth, but indeed, it would be complete House-rule territory.
I'd just go with following the Rules ("A") if i played against this Unit.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/27 18:36:56
Subject: Ork Big Squiggoth: a few rules questions regarding shooting
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:B) isnt always true. If they did an open topped Gorka/Morkanaught then the vehicle WOULD be locked, and couldnt be shot at.
The Stompa is the example you're looking for
SHWalker with transport capacity and fire points. It's always been a hit of a grey area as to what happens when it is locked in combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|