Switch Theme:

Generating psychic powers w/ psychic focus  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I can't seem to find a clear answer on this question.

I have a Hive Tyrant (ML2), he can only generate Tyranid powers so he has the primaris automatically. I roll for my first power and I get 'The Horror' - don't like it, I want to re-roll to try for a different one. Is this ok to do? A guy in my store said this was ok, but I didn't really see it in the rules how this works. Am I exchanging 'The Horror' for the primaris which then triggers the "re-roll if you already know this power" clause?

Essentially I would like to re-roll the crap powers that I get on my Tyrant and get something good like Catalyst or Onslaught (always getting The Horror and Psychic Scream.... ALWAYS). How would this affect generating my second power?

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Rerolling isn't accurate. Substituting for a primaris doesn't let you reroll that power, it gives you the option to take the primaris over a power that may not be as good in the given situation. It still takes up one of the powers you generate

You can still do it but there is literally no benefit. You were going to get the primaris regardless so all it does is give you one less power overall.
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




In short, no you can't re-roll powers.

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

DaPino wrote:
In short, no you can't re-roll powers.


Unless, of course, you roll the same power twice, which could have been what happened here at ML 2.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BlackTalos wrote:
DaPino wrote:
In short, no you can't re-roll powers.


Unless, of course, you roll the same power twice, which could have been what happened here at ML 2.

Except OP said he doesn't want the power, and wants to switch it for the Primaris (which due to Psychic Focus, he "already" has (explantion for the quotes below)).

OP, you do not get the Primaris until after you've generated all your powers.

So in your example, you roll The Horror. Swap it for the Primaris.
You roll for your second power.

Since you've now generated all your powers on Powers of the Hive Mind, you get the Primaris for free. As it is you are left with Primaris, Primaris, and Generated. As such all it does is cause you to lose a power.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ah, so what I roll is what I get?

Roll one - The Horror (lamesauce, no way to re-roll?)
Roll two - Catalyst (hurray!)

I have literally never gotten Onslaught, Catalyst, or Paroxysm - perhaps I should check my dice?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Feldon wrote:
Ah, so what I roll is what I get?

Roll one - The Horror (lamesauce, no way to re-roll?)
Roll two - Catalyst (hurray!)

I have literally never gotten Onslaught, Catalyst, or Paroxysm - perhaps I should check my dice?


Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/06 17:16:17


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BlackTalos wrote:
Feldon wrote:
Ah, so what I roll is what I get?

Roll one - The Horror (lamesauce, no way to re-roll?)
Roll two - Catalyst (hurray!)

I have literally never gotten Onslaught, Catalyst, or Paroxysm - perhaps I should check my dice?


Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls


Can the nids pick a power if they roll a power they have already?

Because the brb says to re-roll.

Does the nid book say otherwise?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 BlackTalos wrote:
Feldon wrote:
Ah, so what I roll is what I get?

Roll one - The Horror (lamesauce, no way to re-roll?)
Roll two - Catalyst (hurray!)

I have literally never gotten Onslaught, Catalyst, or Paroxysm - perhaps I should check my dice?


Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls


I get to PICK any other power? Or I roll till I get something that isn't the Horror?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Feldon wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
Feldon wrote:
Ah, so what I roll is what I get?

Roll one - The Horror (lamesauce, no way to re-roll?)
Roll two - Catalyst (hurray!)

I have literally never gotten Onslaught, Catalyst, or Paroxysm - perhaps I should check my dice?


Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls


I get to PICK any other power? Or I roll till I get something that isn't the Horror?

You reroll until you don't have a duplicate. BlackTalos is getting confused with WHFB
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 BlackTalos wrote:
Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls
You're confusing the rules for Warhammer Fantasy - in 40k you just roll again if you get a duplicate - page 23, Generating Psychic Powers, 4th paragraph, after the bit in bold.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Quanar wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
Yes. Unless, as i said, you roll twice the same:
Roll one - The Horror (can't re-roll)
Roll two - The Horror (hurray! I get to pick ANY other power)
And then, you get primaris, if you didn't swap it out for any of the rolls
You're confusing the rules for Warhammer Fantasy - in 40k you just roll again if you get a duplicate - page 23, Generating Psychic Powers, 4th paragraph, after the bit in bold.


Ah, yes, sorry. You get to re-roll the result, not pick anything like you do in Fantasy.

My best excuse:
I play sisters of battle so i hunt ALL of these Psyker witches !!
(And never pick powers for anyone)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/07 09:19:42


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: