Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 10:47:26
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
all that says is that, when the rules refer to "ultramarines units" it is referring only to those units that have the ultramarines CT.
Only when the rules specifically refer to a unit by it's chapter does this rule mean anything
technically, "All models in the same Detachment or Formation must be drawn from the same chapter" does not actually refer to a model, character, or unit by their chapter
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 11:11:36
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
How do you determine if models are from the same chapter without referring to their chapter?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 11:50:01
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
I don't, but then it doesn't say "when YOU refer to units by chapter........"
If a rule hasn't specifically referred to a unit by its chapter, then that rule does not necessarily only refer to units with CT.
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 12:20:56
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
What does it refer to?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 13:46:44
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
RAI are crystal on this; even though the RAW is fethed.
Yes you can take vehicles; I would still say no, they do not benefit from ct without the ct rule.
This is coming from a marine player that started a Sons of Medusae chapter in 5th(iron hands successor), so in 6th i had nice iwnd tanks, in 7th i only have iwnd dreads.
Vehicles(other than dreads) in a sm detachment are "generic sm vehicles"; they are of faction:sm(well i guess aa now), and therefore are effected by pe:sm/aa, and honestly the rules can continue to function fine if you only apply the ct rule to units that have it.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 16:18:00
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:RAI are crystal on this; even though the RAW is fethed.
Yes you can take vehicles; I would still say no, they do not benefit from ct without the ct rule.
This is coming from a marine player that started a Sons of Medusae chapter in 5th(iron hands successor), so in 6th i had nice iwnd tanks, in 7th i only have iwnd dreads.
Vehicles(other than dreads) in a sm detachment are "generic sm vehicles"; they are of faction:sm(well i guess aa now), and therefore are effected by pe:sm/aa, and honestly the rules can continue to function fine if you only apply the ct rule to units that have it.
Agreed. But some people believe it requires magical powers to understand English at any level beyond the purely literal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 16:22:18
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Can't have some fun pointing out the rules we purchased don't work?
There is a good understanding that you should be able to include vehicles, but if there is a rules conflict of this magnitude then it's a great throwback to scream at GW for real FAQ's.
That's my whole purpose with this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 16:50:58
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote:
Agreed. But some people believe it requires magical powers to understand English at any level beyond the purely literal.
And some people believe it requires the magical power of telepathy to understand what the writers intended to mean.
Threads like these can be useful. They confirm that this really is a case where the RAW are wrong. It's not us misunderstanding the rules, it's not us forgetting a key page, it really is a case of GW getting it wrong. Once we know that, we can safely add this case to our list of pre-game checks with new opponents (where we quickly mention which RAW we might ignore, just to make sure we're both on the same page).
There's also the fact that we humans are, well, human. We can be biased. We can think that the rules clearly intend something, we can think that it's clear as crystal, but we also know that we're human. We know that it could be our biases speaking. It's useful to touch base with a few other players to confirm that no, we're not being biased - the RAI really are as obvious as we think they are, and yes, the RAW really are as broken as we think they are.
Also, what Juraigamer says. It can be quite nice to poke a broken thing and to mock its brokenness, especially when it's an expensive broken thing whose producer isn't interested in fixing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 17:19:32
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Mallich wrote: FlingitNow wrote:
Agreed. But some people believe it requires magical powers to understand English at any level beyond the purely literal.
And some people believe it requires the magical power of telepathy to understand what the writers intended to mean.
Threads like these can be useful. They confirm that this really is a case where the RAW are wrong. It's not us misunderstanding the rules, it's not us forgetting a key page, it really is a case of GW getting it wrong. Once we know that, we can safely add this case to our list of pre-game checks with new opponents (where we quickly mention which RAW we might ignore, just to make sure we're both on the same page).
There's also the fact that we humans are, well, human. We can be biased. We can think that the rules clearly intend something, we can think that it's clear as crystal, but we also know that we're human. We know that it could be our biases speaking. It's useful to touch base with a few other players to confirm that no, we're not being biased - the RAI really are as obvious as we think they are, and yes, the RAW really are as broken as we think they are.
Also, what Juraigamer says. It can be quite nice to poke a broken thing and to mock its brokenness, especially when it's an expensive broken thing whose producer isn't interested in fixing. 
This!
RAW is wrong, and needs fixed. We all know how it's supposed to work, and good job to whoever caught this glaring error in the first place!
|
Gets along better with animals... Go figure. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 19:42:22
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Another important note:
Since fortifications and lords of war don't have chapter tactics, when you take a CAD from the BRB... you can't take fortifications or lords of war as part of that detachment.
You know, that imperial bunker, aegis defense line or whatever LOW can't be included.
Hell, does this rule from the codex overrule playing unbound? Sure you can take whatever, but do they also have to all be the same chapter tactic?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 19:57:59
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
jokerkd wrote:I don't, but then it doesn't say "when YOU refer to units by chapter........"
If a rule hasn't specifically referred to a unit by its chapter, then that rule does not necessarily only refer to units with CT.
The rule in question refers to chapters. Namely, that everyone has to have the same one . There is no way to apply that rule without referring to the chapter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 20:01:27
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Unbound is easy enough; only your primary detachment and formations are detachments, therefore only the group you buy with your warlord or any given formations will have to all have the same ct.
And ultras can have a cad with a low: calgar.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 20:02:47
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
juraigamer wrote:
Hell, does this rule from the codex overrule playing unbound? Sure you can take whatever, but do they also have to all be the same chapter tactic?
The rule applies specifically to formations and detachments. Formations in am Unbound army would be bound by this rule as normal, but it doesn't apply to the entire army, because detachment rules (aside from formations) don't apply to Unbound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 20:42:44
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
insaniak wrote: jokerkd wrote:I don't, but then it doesn't say "when YOU refer to units by chapter........"
If a rule hasn't specifically referred to a unit by its chapter, then that rule does not necessarily only refer to units with CT.
The rule in question refers to chapters. Namely, that everyone has to have the same one . There is no way to apply that rule without referring to the chapter.
Yes it refers to chapters. It doesn't refer to a unit by its chapter.
It may well imply you must refer to to units by chapter, but does not do so itself, if we're reading it literally
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 20:56:19
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I'm not really sure how you think this changes anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 21:56:00
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Im trying to say that the rule does not actually define a chapter as only including units with CT, as this is the point of the thread.
The rule as written isnt referring to a unit by its chapter. "Iron hands models" is referring to models by their chapter. The rule in question literally does not do that
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 22:03:29
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Actually rules do say that models with CT (x) do from from Chapter X, do you have any permission for any other type of model or unit to come from Chapter X? If not, they don't. That's how a permissive ruleset works.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 22:22:59
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
FlingitNow wrote:Actually rules do say that models with CT (x) do from from Chapter X,
I dont have my book with me, but i believe it is more like "must come from chapter (x) it still doesn't define a chapter as only units with CT
do you have any permission for any other type of model or unit to come from Chapter X? If not, they don't. That's how a permissive ruleset works.
Can you define "chapter (x)" without referring to the rule to which we disagree on the meaning of?
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 22:38:32
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
"The Chapter Tactics special rule represents a group of rules that are specific to a given Chapter." Page 189
So here we KNOW CT(x) makes you part of Chapter X. Do you have any permission for anything else to be part of Chapter x?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 23:11:03
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jokerd, the rule requires all units to come from the same chapter, correct?
How do we know what chapter a unit comes from?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 23:18:13
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Page 189 proves that everything with those rules must be part of a specific chapter. Trouble is everything that is part of the chapter does not necessarily have to have those rules. Land Raiders do not have those rules but there is nothing to prevent my from drawing a land raider from that chapter when adding it to my detachment. If you want to say I don't have permission to draw a land raider from a given chapter because it does not have the chapter tactics rule I will need you to prove where I am given permission to draw units with the CT rule from a given chapter, The closest I can find is a requirement to name the chapter they are being drawn from if they have the CT rule. This inferred permission is no different then the inferred permission to draw them 'from the same chapter' as units already in a detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 23:21:08
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So you agree CTs forces you to name the chapter they are drawn from yet don't see that they have permission to be drawn from that chapter? Also see my quote above.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 23:21:13
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
DJGietzen wrote:Page 189 proves that everything with those rules must be part of a specific chapter. Trouble is everything that is part of the chapter does not necessarily have to have those rules. Land Raiders do not have those rules but there is nothing to prevent my from drawing a land raider from that chapter when adding it to my detachment. If you want to say I don't have permission to draw a land raider from a given chapter because it does not have the chapter tactics rule I will need you to prove where I am given permission to draw units with the CT rule from a given chapter, The closest I can find is a requirement to name the chapter they are being drawn from if they have the CT rule. This inferred permission is no different then the inferred permission to draw them 'from the same chapter' as units already in a detachment.
OK, you take a Land Raider. What Chapter is it from? Is it from the same Chapter as the rest of your detachment? How do you know?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 23:23:56
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
jokerkd wrote:Im trying to say that the rule does not actually define a chapter as only including units with CT, as this is the point of the thread.
From the quote in the first post:
The rules will often refer to a model, character or unit by its Chapter; in all cases, this refers to a model, character or unit with the Chapter Tactics special rule that is drawn from the given Chapter."
So yes, the rules do define a Chapter as only including units with CT.
By that rule, any time that the rules say 'Chapter' they mean 'Chapter Tactics special rule that is drawn from the given Chapter'.
So if you are determining if all models in a formation are fro mthe same chapter, you check if they all have the same version of Chapter Tactics. There is no other method provided by the rules for allocating a model to any specific chapter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 00:31:39
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Referring to a chapter is not the same as referring a to a unit by its chapter. The rule only applies when the book refers to a unit by its chapter.
The rules say models must be from the same chapter.
The rules say i can take a vehicle in the same formation as models with CT
The logical conclusion is that vehicles must be given a chapter.
The rules for CT do not restrict me from doing this as the rule only applies when the book refers to something by its chapter
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 00:34:11
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jokerd, true or false - all units in a detachment must be from the same chapter.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 01:04:31
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
True RAW
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 01:14:30
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
OK, next question. How do you know what Chapter a unit comes from?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 01:50:24
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
You choose what chapter it comes from
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/15 01:55:46
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Do you have a rules quote to back that up?
Because the rule already quoted in this thread several times says that you determine the Chapter by looking at which Chapter Tactics they have.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|