Switch Theme:

AoS Close combat ranges?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc





Orem, Utah

So, when you're charging, you have to get within 1/2 inch of the enemy model.

Close combat weapons have ranges up to 3" at least.

So, why do characters not in units ever have a close combat range greater than 3"?

 
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress





 odinsgrandson wrote:
So, when you're charging, you have to get within 1/2 inch of the enemy model.

Close combat weapons have ranges up to 3" at least.

So, why do characters not in units ever have a close combat range greater than 3"?


To enable them to target close-by models (and maybe for the measure from model to model).
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

When you charge, one model from the unit must end its charge within 1/2" of an opposing model however when actually attacking you have to be in range with the weapon.

So one model of a unit must end it charge within 1/2" but the rest only need to 'pile in' into the weapon range.

That's how I interpret it anyway.


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc





Orem, Utah

Taffy17 wrote:
When you charge, one model from the unit must end its charge within 1/2" of an opposing model however when actually attacking you have to be in range with the weapon.

So one model of a unit must end it charge within 1/2" but the rest only need to 'pile in' into the weapon range.

That's how I interpret it anyway.


That's how I read it as well- only they have lots of characters with 3" range on their weapons, but they'd still need to charge to 1/2 inch, right?

 
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

Just one model in the unit needs to reach that close.

For characters I guess if some opponents models die before your character attacks for some reason but after you've charged or if you're locked in combat from a previous turn then it comes in to play


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Or you could charge one unit, move in 1/4" away from them, and swing at another unit if they are 3" away from you or less. As models pile in, you sometimes get an opportunity to swing at a better target, especially a wizard they are trying to hid behind infantry or similar situation.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




Because you don't necessarily have to put all your attacks into the same unit, and you don't have to have charged to be the one fighting.

If a lord on a dragon wants to initiate an attack, he'd have to charge to within 1/2" of an enemy - and since his sword/axe/sharpened stick probably only has a 1" range, he needs to get close anyway. However, his dragon's 2-3" range tail attack can whomp a different unit whilst he does so.

Equally, if the enemy is charging, they may wish (sensibly) not to fight the magic sword wielding psychotic on the giant winged dinosaur. But - in order for him not to be able to fight them - they have to attack someone about 6" away from him, because otherwise he can be selected to attack, pile in 3" towards an intervening enemy model (if there is one), then use his 3" range attack to hit the unit anyway - you don't have to throw all of your attacks at the unit you just piled into.



Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






You also don't have to charge to get into close combat. if you begin your turn within 3" of an enemy unit, you can then Pile In in the combat phase. In fact, you can do so without physically moving, if you like.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So can someone end their movement 3"s away from my unit and then choose to attack my unit in close combat while avoiding my unit with 1" reach attacking back? Since he didn't charge I would not get a pile in correct? Or do you have to charge in order to make an initial attack?
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






If any situation occurs where your unit is within 3" of an enemy unit, you may select that unit to pile in and attack during combat phases.

The most likely (and perhaps only) way of doing this is by one player initiating a charge and getting 1 model within 1/2" of an enemy model with their charge move (which could result in multiple units being eligible for combat).

Example:
(#s are player 1, letters are player 2)

Unit A charges Unit 1 and gets within 1/2"
Unit 2 was 1" behind Unit 1, so is now within 3" of Unit A and can make a pile-in and an attack.
Unit 1 Piles in to a more distant part of Unit A, which brings a model in Unit 1 within 3" of Unit B
Unit B is now eligible to pile-in and attack as an enemy model is within 3".

I'm on a podcast about (video) game design:
https://makethatgame.com

And I also make tabletop wargaming videos!
https://www.youtube.com/@tableitgaming 
   
Made in gb
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Basically units no longer have to sit and twiddle their thumbs while the unit besides them gets mulched.
Charging a battle line can end up with multiple units collapsing into you.

   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Buckyeye6 wrote:
So can someone end their movement 3"s away from my unit and then choose to attack my unit in close combat while avoiding my unit with 1" reach attacking back? Since he didn't charge I would not get a pile in correct? Or do you have to charge in order to make an initial attack?


No, incorrect.

Two ways to get within combat range.

1) In the movement phase, move to 3" of the enemy. You have to stop at 3" and that's the distance that allows you to pile in.

2) There is a charge phase that allows units to charge 2d6 towards a unit, if the dice rolled allow them to come within 1/2" of the enemy. This unit is also allowed to pile in later.

In the assault phase we take turns with units piling in and throwing attacks. The only requirement is being within 3" of the enemy, whether or not they charged.

Example: I send my Hero with 3" reach up to your unit in the movement phase, stoping at 3". Then in my attack phase, i nominate him and swing at your unit. Unless i wipe you out, you'll get a 3" pile in move before you attack, and get to beat on me.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





 mikhaila wrote:
Buckyeye6 wrote:
So can someone end their movement 3"s away from my unit and then choose to attack my unit in close combat while avoiding my unit with 1" reach attacking back? Since he didn't charge I would not get a pile in correct? Or do you have to charge in order to make an initial attack?


No, incorrect.

Two ways to get within combat range.

1) In the movement phase, move to 3" of the enemy. You have to stop at 3" and that's the distance that allows you to pile in.

2) There is a charge phase that allows units to charge 2d6 towards a unit, if the dice rolled allow them to come within 1/2" of the enemy. This unit is also allowed to pile in later.

In the assault phase we take turns with units piling in and throwing attacks. The only requirement is being within 3" of the enemy, whether or not they charged.

Example: I send my Hero with 3" reach up to your unit in the movement phase, stoping at 3". Then in my attack phase, i nominate him and swing at your unit. Unless i wipe you out, you'll get a 3" pile in move before you attack, and get to beat on me.


Enemy Models says "you may not move within 3" of any enemy models". You may pile-in a "unit that has charged or has models within 3"... These rules are mutually exclusive. If you're not within 3" at the start of the Combat Phase, you should have Charged.

   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

My bad for not checking. I remembered it as not moving closer than 3". Yes, can't move within 3" is correct.

So it's not possible for someone to walk up to you and then swing from 3" away.

And always a chance of failing a charge with a 2 or 3 on the roll.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 mikhaila wrote:
My bad for not checking. I remembered it as not moving closer than 3". Yes, can't move within 3" is correct.

So it's not possible for someone to walk up to you and then swing from 3" away.

And always a chance of failing a charge with a 2 or 3 on the roll.


Remember that you don't have to actually reach the target anymore. You only need to be within 1/2" for a successful charge to have occurred. If you're just over 3" away, a 3 result will still get you a successful charge. A result of 2 is the only guaranteed failed charge.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Horrific Horror







Unit A1 Hero has 3" melee attack range
Unit A2 5 'Guys" 1" melee Attack Range
Unit B (enemy) 5 'Guys" 1" attack Range

Unit A2 form around unit A1
Unit B charges unit A2. So now you have

A1
A2 A2 A2 A2 A2
B B B B B

Now Unit A1 can attack during opponents turn.

Note I am basing this on models with 40MM round bases (like stormcast eternals)

If you wanted the Single model to attack in your turn then you have to charge and be within 1/2".

What do you mean "IT MOVED?"

Motto: That which does not Kill me, SHOULD RUN. 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User



United Kingdom

 Kriswall wrote:
A result of 2 is the only guaranteed failed charge.


God I love it when they roll snake eyes on a 3 inch charge! Arguably the most fun in AoS so far.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/22 12:37:01


Please imagine I wrote something funny here.....Something bloody hillarious....

....I know I didn't but lets pretend....

.....Smile, look at who posted the words that are making you happy, remember my name. Feel free to admire my wit. Aspire to emulate my good natured bonhomie. 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: