Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 10:20:56
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I tried, TRIED,using paint to visually explain why I believe it's not possible to get behind enemy lines if the table is 48" long.
Image: http://i.imgur.com/Ra0UKSg.png
When you arrive from reserves, you're not ON the table, you're against the table. If you move 36", you're not on the line of the enemy deployment zone but you're standing against it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 10:21:14
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 10:27:02
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Your example is deceptive, since it is reliant on a line having a thickness.
If your table is 48" across, and your model moves 36" across it, there is 12" remaining between your model and the opposite edge of the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 11:07:42
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
insaniak wrote:Your example is deceptive, since it is reliant on a line having a thickness.
If your table is 48" across, and your model moves 36" across it, there is 12" remaining between your model and the opposite edge of the table.
This, exactly, is what it comes down to. Math.
If you state that you're going to move your models 36'' straight across, measurement errors don't really matter. You stated your intent - which was a valid option - so even if you're not precise enough, your model should count as being 48''-36'' away from the opposite edge of the table.
The next question one could ask then is whether or not being exactly 12'' away from something is counted as being within 12'' - and the answer to that is clearly YES based on the BRB "Measuring Distances" chapter and especially the examples presented there. "Distance between A and B is C inches" is the same as saying "A is within C inches of B". Same applies to the "wholly within" - "furthest point of A is C inches away from B" is equal to "A is wholly within C inches of B"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 11:53:00
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But you're not starting your move on that 36th inch, you're starting behind it because the model is considered to be off the table.
If your table is 48" across, and your model starts off the table and moves 36" it means that there is more than 12" left. Your model had to at least start on 48.0000000...01 inches from the enemy table edge, so at least 36.000...01 inches away from the enemy deployment zone. It's not 36" TO the enemy deployment zone, there's 36" IN BETWEEN you and the deployment zone.
It's not about measuring correctly or not. Even if you measured it correctly down to 1 atom, you'd still be 1 atom away from the enemy deployment zone.
I am not so narrow-minded as to tell someone they can't do something because they are not physically capable of measuring it correctly because of human limitations.
However, if your table is 48" long, you cannot get in the enemy deployment zones with a 36" move if the unit is arriving from reserves, not even in theory.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/07/13 11:56:38
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 12:07:35
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DaPino wrote:But you're not starting your move on that 36th inch, you're starting behind it because the model is considered to be off the table.
Yes, off the table, against the table edge.
When you measure 36" on from the table edge, you're left with 12" to the opposite edge.
You're once again assuming that a line has width. It doesn't.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 12:08:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 12:20:45
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
DaPino wrote:But you're not starting your move on that 36th inch, you're starting behind it because the model is considered to be off the table.
If your table is 48" across, and your model starts off the table and moves 36" it means that there is more than 12" left. Your model had to at least start on 48.0000000...01 inches from the enemy table edge, so at least 36.000...01 inches away from the enemy deployment zone. It's not 36" TO the enemy deployment zone, there's 36" IN BETWEEN you and the deployment zone.
It's not about measuring correctly or not. Even if you measured it correctly down to 1 atom, you'd still be 1 atom away from the enemy deployment zone.
I am not so narrow-minded as to tell someone they can't do something because they are not physically capable of measuring it correctly because of human limitations.
However, if your table is 48" long, you cannot get in the enemy deployment zones with a 36" move if the unit is arriving from reserves, not even in theory.
You're off the table. You then start at exactly 0 and move 36 inches. On a table of 48 inches, you're now 12 inches away from the other side. That's HIWPI at least - since i quite frankly don't give a feth about atoms and I assume the rule authors didn't either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 12:58:29
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mathematically speaking:
If you start (are at the beggining) OFF the table, you are asymptotically behind the 0" line. Being in the 0" line would mean you are ON the table.
So, if you move 36" you are asymptotically behind the 36" line (measuring from your table side). So you are asymptotically not in the enemy deployment zone.
So you can't claim it even if you measure it PERFECTLY.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 12:59:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 13:03:28
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
The rules state that part of your base must be within. Its only the example given that says otherwise.
Am i missing something?
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 13:15:30
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
jokerkd wrote:The rules state that part of your base must be within. Its only the example given that says otherwise.
Am i missing something?
The example - which is still part of the BRB - explains that the wording for "within" is equal to "distance between both models".
"The distance between the Space Marine unit and the hull of the Ork Trukk is 5 inches. We normally say that the Trukk is within 5" of the Space Marine unit."
The same applies to both other examples - They're just lacking the "we normally say" part, but make the same statements regardless: distance between is 3 inches = within 3 inches; Distance from base to other most distant point is 8 inches = within 8 inches.
The only line that could be interpreted otherwise comes before those clarifying examples and is an example of it's own:
"For example, if any part of a model’s base is within 6" of the base of an enemy model, the two models are said to be within 6" of each other."
And this line does NOT exclude the other examples or even contradict them. And once you take into consideration that the rules on the same page continue with basically saying "If something is 5 inches appart, we call that within 5 inches" it's not even different. "any part of a models base is within 6 inches" then INCLUDES the situation where the distance between both models is exactly 6 inches.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 13:27:37
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BRB wrote:Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
If it is not on the table, it's not on the 0" line. I'ts behind it, so it ends the turbo-boost before the enemy deployment zone.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 13:46:49
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Wallur wrote:BRB wrote:Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
If it is not on the table, it's not on the 0" line. I'ts behind it, so it ends the turbo-boost before the enemy deployment zone.
There is no line.
Being at 0 is - at least in my opinion - "off" the table. hold a model at your imaginary line and let go, it will free-fall to the ground since it is not on the table. If it was "0.1" inch on the table it'd at least touch the table and THEN fall to the ground. This obviously requires a perfectly cut table.
For a better table example - imagine painting a line on the table all around it, making sure the distance between the opposing lines is 48 inches - NOT including the lines. Then, if you place something "off" that table, it would sit with the lid right on the inner side of that outlying line which is "off the table". Start measuring 36 inches from there and you will end up within 12 inches of the opposite table sides line.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 13:49:17
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wallur wrote:BRB wrote:Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
If it is not on the table, it's not on the 0" line. I'ts behind it, so it ends the turbo-boost before the enemy deployment zone.
This is incorrect. It is exactly at 0. 36 inches then puts it exactly at 12 inches from the other edge. Which is within 12 by rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 15:18:36
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nekooni wrote:Wallur wrote:BRB wrote:Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
If it is not on the table, it's not on the 0" line. I'ts behind it, so it ends the turbo-boost before the enemy deployment zone.
There is no line.
Being at 0 is - at least in my opinion - "off" the table. hold a model at your imaginary line and let go, it will free-fall to the ground since it is not on the table. If it was "0.1" inch on the table it'd at least touch the table and THEN fall to the ground. This obviously requires a perfectly cut table.
As you said, if it will free-fall and not touching the table, it will require an infinitesimal to be ON the table, so it will be an infinitesimal away the """ 12" line """ that indicates the start of the enemy deployment zone.
Mathematically speaking:
If you start OFF the table, you are asymptotically behind the 0" line. Being in the 0" line would mean you are ON the table, you are on the very first atom that compose the table, the table START at 0, not at 0.000000000000[as many zero you want]0000000000000000000001
nekooni wrote:For a better table example - imagine painting a line on the table all around it, making sure the distance between the opposing lines is 48 inches - NOT including the lines. Then, if you place something "off" that table, it would sit with the lid right on the inner side of that outlying line which is "off the table". Start measuring 36 inches from there and you will end up within 12 inches of the opposite table sides line.
Exactly, it sits on the inner side of that outlying, it's not on 0", it's behind it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 15:35:57
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Wallur wrote:
As you said, if it will free-fall and not touching the table, it will require an infinitesimal to be ON the table, so it will be an infinitesimal away the """ 12" line """ that indicates the start of the enemy deployment zone.
Mathematically speaking:
If you start OFF the table, you are asymptotically behind the 0" line. Being in the 0" line would mean you are ON the table, you are on the very first atom that compose the table, the table START at 0, not at 0.000000000000[as many zero you want]0000000000000000000001
Exactly, it sits on the inner side of that outlying, it's not on 0", it's behind it.
So what you're saying is that "0" is "infinitesimal" bigger than "nothing"?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 16:09:09
Subject: Re:Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you could perfectly measure this, then it'd be acceptable. If you are exactly 12" away from one table edge on a 4' table, then by definition you are also exactly 36" away from the other edge. In which case, if you communicated with an opponent that this is your intent, it would be unfair for them not to let you. If your argument is that it is not physically possible, then would you deny a disabled person the right to place their models in the positions they wished? After all, they may not be physically able enough to place as per their intentions. Their communication to you of their intention should qualify and be allowed. A limitation of the person is not a valid excuse to deny a player something that they are allowed to do, especially in a game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 16:09:29
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 16:14:18
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Couldn't you just say to your opponent: 'This model moved from reserves in a line perpendicular to my edge of the board' so that the 24" flat out move would touch the opponents deployment zone?
Or do we all:
A) Have to precisely measure (in which case I need to fetch me laser pointer out)?
B) Have TFG's for opponents who will make us measure?
C) Become TFG's for saying stuff like this in game?
I'm not actually sure when this would come into affect, all reserves come in on T4 and the game only ends on T5 onwards, earlier if someone gets tabled.
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 16:27:25
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nekooni wrote:Wallur wrote:
As you said, if it will free-fall and not touching the table, it will require an infinitesimal to be ON the table, so it will be an infinitesimal away the """ 12" line """ that indicates the start of the enemy deployment zone.
Mathematically speaking:
If you start OFF the table, you are asymptotically behind the 0" line. Being in the 0" line would mean you are ON the table, you are on the very first atom that compose the table, the table START at 0, not at 0.000000000000[as many zero you want]0000000000000000000001
Exactly, it sits on the inner side of that outlying, it's not on 0", it's behind it.
So what you're saying is that "0" is "infinitesimal" bigger than "nothing"?
No, I'm saying that the movement starts at =0"-infinitesimal" .
Being 0" the start of the table and 48" the end of the table, the unit starts at negative infinitesimal" behind 0, OFF the table.
The table starts at 0", so the model can´t be at 0" otherwise it would be ON the table.
Againt, it's reduce to the discussion that you said that 0" is OFF the table... I said 0" is ON the table... and we probably won't change our opinions respect that, less to agree
But as I see it, the point 0 it's the starting point of anything and it forms part of that thing. For example a video, it starts at second 0, not 0:01, 0 is part of the video.
If something is 48" long, it starts at 0" including it and ends at 48" including it, anything before 0" and after 48" are excluded. So, if the model starts off the table, outside the table, excluded from the table, it can't be on 0", so it can't be at 36" at the end. Automatically Appended Next Post: Frozocrone wrote:I'm not actually sure when this would come into affect, all reserves come in on T4 and the game only ends on T5 onwards, earlier if someone gets tabled.
They are talking about the Tactical Objective, so it's granted at the end of his turn (being 3, 4 or whichever)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 16:32:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 16:53:50
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
No, I'm saying that the movement starts at =0"-infinitesimal" .
Being 0" the start of the table and 48" the end of the table, the unit starts at negative infinitesimal" behind 0, OFF the table.
The table starts at 0", so the model can´t be at 0" otherwise it would be ON the table.
Againt, it's reduce to the discussion that you said that 0" is OFF the table... I said 0" is ON the table... and we probably won't change our opinions respect that, less to agree
Glass Half Full Glass Empty aside, you're both looking at it wrong. The model can start 6 feet in the other room. you don't start measuring it's movement until it hits zero, ergo it could start 5 inches off the table, it could start 50, but it moves 6/12/etc inches on the table.
|
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 17:09:09
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Breton, that is what we are discussing.
Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
We discuss if that OFF the board is zero or not.
We discuss if the 0" is the first step or the starting step.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 17:16:10
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Wallur wrote:Breton, that is what we are discussing.
Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn.
We discuss if that OFF the board is zero or not.
We discuss if the 0" is the first step or the starting step.
Emphasis mine - why I think my interpretation is correct. the invisible zero-width line that is the edge of the table is where you start measuring. Ergo, 0 inch is where you start
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 17:19:18
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no? you need to be within it. How can you possibly argue that?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 17:19:33
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 17:28:15
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table (your call for Yes), as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn. (My call for no)
They tried to make it clear so hard that they shrouded it...
RAI you may be right.
Next time use a slightly bigger/smaller table to avoid this problem. (?)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:10:26
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Again, just off can be as big as you want to make it, you start measuring at 0. Not just off from 0.
|
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:19:59
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
DaPino wrote:But you're not starting your move on that 36th inch, you're starting behind it because the model is considered to be off the table.
If your table is 48" across, and your model starts off the table and moves 36" it means that there is more than 12" left. Your model had to at least start on 48.0000000...01 inches from the enemy table edge, so at least 36.000...01 inches away from the enemy deployment zone. It's not 36" TO the enemy deployment zone, there's 36" IN BETWEEN you and the deployment zone.
It's not about measuring correctly or not. Even if you measured it correctly down to 1 atom, you'd still be 1 atom away from the enemy deployment zone.
I am not so narrow-minded as to tell someone they can't do something because they are not physically capable of measuring it correctly because of human limitations.
However, if your table is 48" long, you cannot get in the enemy deployment zones with a 36" move if the unit is arriving from reserves, not even in theory.
Start measuring at the EDGE of the table, not off the table. Basically, you can assume your model is off the board, with the front edge of what you are measuring just touching the edge of the board. You know, like how everyone measures their flyers coming in?
Desubot wrote:If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no?
you need to be within it.
How can you possibly argue that?
Because within in doesn't mean physically within. It means the closest point of my base to whatever I'm measuring to is X inches away or less. If something is EXACTLY 12 inches away from the closest point of my model, then I'm WITHIN 12 inches of it.
Wallur wrote:Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table (your call for Yes), as if they had been positioned just OFF the board in the previous turn. (My call for no)
They tried to make it clear so hard that they shrouded it...
RAI you may be right.
Next time use a slightly bigger/smaller table to avoid this problem. (?)
RAW, we're right. ---- When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table There is NOTHING ambiguous about that. Start measuring from your table edge. Not just off your table edge.
WHEN have you EVER been told to measure distances from the BACK of a model to the FRONT of a model? That's the only way being just off the table could make you lack in distances. I don't know about any of you, but I was told that if you measure from front to back, you are cheating. If you measure from back to front, you are cutting yourself distance... Not cheating, but making things harder for yourself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:29:10
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
greytalon666 wrote:
Desubot wrote:If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no?
you need to be within it.
How can you possibly argue that?
Because within in doesn't mean physically within. It means the closest point of my base to whatever I'm measuring to is X inches away or less. If something is EXACTLY 12 inches away from the closest point of my model, then I'm WITHIN 12 inches of it.
You wouldn't be with in 12 because you are AT 12
These are two pretty important distinctions.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:35:58
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Desubot wrote:greytalon666 wrote:
Desubot wrote:If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no?
you need to be within it.
How can you possibly argue that?
Because within in doesn't mean physically within. It means the closest point of my base to whatever I'm measuring to is X inches away or less. If something is EXACTLY 12 inches away from the closest point of my model, then I'm WITHIN 12 inches of it.
You wouldn't be with in 12 because you are AT 12
These are two pretty important distinctions.
Not according to measuring distances in the BRB. from page ten. There are exactly FIVE inches between the closest point of a marine and the closest point of a truck. Those models are WITHIN five inches of each other. NOT * AT, but NOT WITHIN* five inches. WITHIN five inches.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:49:58
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
greytalon666 wrote: Desubot wrote:greytalon666 wrote:
Desubot wrote:If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no?
you need to be within it.
How can you possibly argue that?
Because within in doesn't mean physically within. It means the closest point of my base to whatever I'm measuring to is X inches away or less. If something is EXACTLY 12 inches away from the closest point of my model, then I'm WITHIN 12 inches of it.
You wouldn't be with in 12 because you are AT 12
These are two pretty important distinctions.
Not according to measuring distances in the BRB. from page ten. There are exactly FIVE inches between the closest point of a marine and the closest point of a truck. Those models are WITHIN five inches of each other. NOT * AT, but NOT WITHIN* five inches. WITHIN five inches.
Well then citing the book, it seems to be kosher if not entirely slowed since you are not "in" 12" though you are citing rules for measuring between models.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:53:57
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Desubot wrote:greytalon666 wrote: Desubot wrote:greytalon666 wrote:
Desubot wrote:If you move on from the table at 0" and go exactly 36" to the opponents edge. you would be exactly 12" Away from their table edge no?
you need to be within it.
How can you possibly argue that?
Because within in doesn't mean physically within. It means the closest point of my base to whatever I'm measuring to is X inches away or less. If something is EXACTLY 12 inches away from the closest point of my model, then I'm WITHIN 12 inches of it.
You wouldn't be with in 12 because you are AT 12
These are two pretty important distinctions.
Not according to measuring distances in the BRB. from page ten. There are exactly FIVE inches between the closest point of a marine and the closest point of a truck. Those models are WITHIN five inches of each other. NOT * AT, but NOT WITHIN* five inches. WITHIN five inches.
Well then citing the book, it seems to be kosher if not entirely slowed since you are not "in" 12" though you are citing rules for measuring between models.
Can you cite the rules for measuring distances? Oh, that's right, its in the same chapter, and they use models for their example, because that's what people are measuring 99.99999999999% of the time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 18:57:25
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Im saying you are mostly correct from GWs point of view no need to get snippy.
BTW apparently people ARE measuring to things that are not models. ie this thread.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/13 19:03:20
Subject: Behind Enemy Lines and moving 36" from reserves
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Desubot wrote:Im saying you are mostly correct from GWs point of view no need to get snippy.
BTW apparently people ARE measuring to things that are not models. ie this thread.
Which is why I didn't say ALL THE TIME. Just emphasized MOST of the time. Does it make sense for GW to go "this is how you measure to models. Let me give you five examples. Now, let me explain and give you another five examples on measuring to the board edge (which is the exact same thing), and now let me explain and show you how to measure to objectives (exact same thing)" etc etc...
It doesn't. If they did that with EVERYTHING the rulebook would be another 20 pages long.
Also, I'm not *mostly* correct. I'm 100% correct. Mostly correct would apply that there is written ambiguity in the rules... There isn't any at all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 19:05:02
|
|
 |
 |
|