| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 13:30:59
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Puerto Rico
|
When Deep Striking a unit and placing the models around the initial one in circles, if one of those models would end up in impassable terrain, or off the board, does that trigger a mishap, or can you "skip" that spot and keep placing models? For example, say you end up with the initial model right up against the board edge, and the unit is, say, 20 models (or in any case large enough so that a full circle must be completed), is that a mishap, or can you place them in a semi-circle against the board edge?
The rules seem pretty clear that it would be a mishap, but I was watching a battle report yesterday and that happened (initial model scattered right up to the board's edge), and the player placed the rest of the models in a semi-circle right up against the board edge. No mention was made of a house rule or anything.
|
Tonio |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 13:57:51
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Stratford on avon
|
If there isnt enouph models to make a full circle then yes its ok but if you cant complete a full circle without going off the board/impassible then nope mishap it is
|
Careful I have CDO it’s like OCD but in alphabetical order LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!!!!
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
4000Pts
3000Pts
1000Pts
2000Pts
1500Pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 14:14:06
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above
You must place all the models, and must complete a circle before moving on. If you cannot place all models due to impassable terrain or scattiner off the table, or models, etc, then you mishap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 14:48:09
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Puerto Rico
|
That's what I thought... guess the guys in the battle report either did it wrong, or houseruled it w/o saying so. Thanks!
|
Tonio |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 15:22:50
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Since we are talking about DS... the circles must be as close as possible to the first model? or just a circle in unit coherency? (say a space of 1.5" between the circle of units and the centre model)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 15:37:12
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Wallur wrote:Since we are talking about DS... the circles must be as close as possible to the first model? or just a circle in unit coherency? (say a space of 1.5" between the circle of units and the centre model)
Clearly answered in the Deep Strike rules (second bullet point under Arriving by Deep Strike) where they say "... Models must be placed in base contact with the first model and begin to form a circle around it..."
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 15:44:55
Subject: Re:Deep Strike
|
 |
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator
|
Bases must touch the first model until there's no more room to do so. Then bases must touch models in the first circle, until theres no more room. Rinse and repeat. The first model will always be in the rough center.
|
I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 16:16:43
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
However, unlike 4th edition, from i think 5th edition onwards you do not have to have the outer-most models touching each other, as well as the model on the inner ring. This means for example you could ds a unit of 3 models, with all 3 in a line - one to the left and one to the right of the first model, neither model touching eachother.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 16:42:49
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
They are right, I thought that was the way, but last match a friend didn't do it that way... thank you
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/26 16:43:31
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 17:04:27
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Wait.... if you DS right next to the tables edge and the one unit that would complete the circle would technically be off the tables edge, wouldn't that destroy the unit, not just cause mishap?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 17:13:36
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DS off the table is Mishap, not destroyed, you have to roll mishap and may en up destroyed
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/26 20:53:20
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
I gotcha.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/27 07:56:37
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Snoopdeville3 wrote:Wait.... if you DS right next to the tables edge and the one unit that would complete the circle would technically be off the tables edge, wouldn't that destroy the unit, not just cause mishap?
This would apply to a squad jumping out of a moving Stormraven using the skies of fury rule but in most cases it's just a mishap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|