Switch Theme:

Deep Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pr
Been Around the Block



Puerto Rico

When Deep Striking a unit and placing the models around the initial one in circles, if one of those models would end up in impassable terrain, or off the board, does that trigger a mishap, or can you "skip" that spot and keep placing models? For example, say you end up with the initial model right up against the board edge, and the unit is, say, 20 models (or in any case large enough so that a full circle must be completed), is that a mishap, or can you place them in a semi-circle against the board edge?

The rules seem pretty clear that it would be a mishap, but I was watching a battle report yesterday and that happened (initial model scattered right up to the board's edge), and the player placed the rest of the models in a semi-circle right up against the board edge. No mention was made of a house rule or anything.

Tonio  
   
Made in gb
Water-Caste Negotiator




Stratford on avon

If there isnt enouph models to make a full circle then yes its ok but if you cant complete a full circle without going off the board/impassible then nope mishap it is

Careful I have CDO it’s like OCD but in alphabetical order LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!!!!

Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.

4000Pts
3000Pts
1000Pts
2000Pts
1500Pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above

You must place all the models, and must complete a circle before moving on. If you cannot place all models due to impassable terrain or scattiner off the table, or models, etc, then you mishap.
   
Made in pr
Been Around the Block



Puerto Rico

That's what I thought... guess the guys in the battle report either did it wrong, or houseruled it w/o saying so. Thanks!

Tonio  
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




Since we are talking about DS... the circles must be as close as possible to the first model? or just a circle in unit coherency? (say a space of 1.5" between the circle of units and the centre model)
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Wallur wrote:
Since we are talking about DS... the circles must be as close as possible to the first model? or just a circle in unit coherency? (say a space of 1.5" between the circle of units and the centre model)

Clearly answered in the Deep Strike rules (second bullet point under Arriving by Deep Strike) where they say "... Models must be placed in base contact with the first model and begin to form a circle around it..."

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator





Bases must touch the first model until there's no more room to do so. Then bases must touch models in the first circle, until theres no more room. Rinse and repeat. The first model will always be in the rough center.

I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




However, unlike 4th edition, from i think 5th edition onwards you do not have to have the outer-most models touching each other, as well as the model on the inner ring. This means for example you could ds a unit of 3 models, with all 3 in a line - one to the left and one to the right of the first model, neither model touching eachother.
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




They are right, I thought that was the way, but last match a friend didn't do it that way... thank you

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/26 16:43:31


 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





Chicago

Wait.... if you DS right next to the tables edge and the one unit that would complete the circle would technically be off the tables edge, wouldn't that destroy the unit, not just cause mishap?

 
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




DS off the table is Mishap, not destroyed, you have to roll mishap and may en up destroyed
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





Chicago

I gotcha.

 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 Snoopdeville3 wrote:
Wait.... if you DS right next to the tables edge and the one unit that would complete the circle would technically be off the tables edge, wouldn't that destroy the unit, not just cause mishap?


This would apply to a squad jumping out of a moving Stormraven using the skies of fury rule but in most cases it's just a mishap.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: