Switch Theme:

One eye open and allied fortifications with a faction (such as the tau and necron fortifications) ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






The tau fortifications seem to be moving Battlefield Debris of the tau faction.
Suppose I want to loot it and use the new tau shield wall thingy in an ork list by somehow allying it in or going unbound
Would my boys and or the wall need to roll for the one eye open rule when they are close to each other ?

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/10/28 14:02:51


Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This is a very good question, I would need to crunch all sorts of Rule interactions to get to the 'Rule as Written' supported answer and I am stuck away from books and don't even have the latest one yet....
I am leaning towards "No, the Fortification in question fails to meet the criteria for a Model/Unit and the Rule in question concerns interactions between Models/Units" but I need to do research!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/28 14:13:21


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

I treat fortifications as terrain features first and foremost. - I'd say you don't have to apply One eye open or anything similar. You'd be worse off than if your opponent took the Wall and you occupied it. That'd be pretty stupid.

RAW might be different due to some strange possible rules-interaction, but to be honest I don't think it's worth the effort of going through the rules for that.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

So a quick review of what Rules I do have access to:
each unit within 6" of a Desperate Allies unit
- One Eye Open, Factions

This informs us the subject matter of the Rule is the Units in question, therefore something must be a Unit before this Rule can be applied.

A unit usually consists of several models that have banded together, but a single, powerful model, such as a lone character, a tank, a war engine or a rampaging monster, is also considered to be a unit in its own right.
- Units, General Principal

This informs us how the game defines a 'Unit,' being a grouping of objects known as Models.

To reflect all their differences, each model has its own characteristics profile.
- Models and Units, introduction
In addition to its characteristics profile, each model will have a unit type
- Models and Units, Other Important Information

The two quotes above inform us how we recognizes a Model, objects lacking a Profile or a Unit Types do not meet the definition of Model.

Terrain Type: .... battlefield debris (defense line).... battlfield debris (Gun Emplacement),
- Tidewall Rampart

All of the above proves that the Tidewall Rampart, like all other Fortifications to date, fails to meet the definition put forth within the Rulebook for Models/Units. Without a secondary Rule that grants the Fortification some ability to circumvent the definitions put forth, and I will have one such example below, the Fortification in question is not a Model and thus never a group of Models known as a Unit. This is important as it is the only thing that prevents Terrain from interacting with the basic and advanced Rules designed for the actual pieces that move around the board and 'shoot' at each other. If you attempt to apply these Rules to a piece of Terrain that lacks a Profile or Unit Type, or secondary Rules that act as a psudo-Profile and Unit Type, the game will immediately grind to a halt as the action can not be resolved.

A claimed building is a unit in the controlling player’s army
- Claimed Buildings

This is an example of a secondary Rule granting the Unit status even though the Terrain in question fails to meet the definitions. It is a Rule unique to Buildings, not surprisingly given the name, so it can only be applied to Terrain with the Type: Building designation. Not surprisingly, the Rules I mentioned earlier that act like a psudo-Profle and Unit Type are also only found on Buildings with a lone exception. That lone exception, thanks to Game Workshop's wonderful writing skills, is currently 'Broken as Rules as Written' in certain specific situations. For those curious, it is the Gun Emplacement which only has a Profile when it is shot at or attacked in close combat and still lacks a Unit Type even then. There are so many questions I can raise on this alone, but unless you are a serious Rule Layer just take 'can be attacked' on face value and move on... but do share any stories you come across of broken situations involving Terrain, I just love them!

Hell, the day I learned Tanks could climb ladders in 6th Edition was sooo fun I didn't care it shattered by argument preventing them from Embarking onto a Battlement!



Ultimate counter for those who still want to treat Citadel Scenery Models, what the Rulebook actually calls them, as Models simply because the both contain the word 'model' please use the following Rule combinations:
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase.
- Joining and Leaving a Unit, Independent Character Special Rule
allocate a Wound from the Wound pool to the enemy model closest to the firing unit
- Allocate Wounds

An Independent Character on a Tidewall Rampart should not become near impossible to kill, thanks to the shot having to be allocated to the Shield Line... where it can not be resolved thanks to a lack of Toughness, Wounds, Saves or other important details.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/28 20:16:24


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"each unit within 6" of a Desperate Allies unit"


Fortifications are not unis, so One eye open does not apply.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Also, the new "Tau" fortifications don't have the Tau Empire faction. They appear to be factionless and available to any faction. They just aren't very useful unless you have Tau Empire units to operate them.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Kriswall wrote:
Also, the new "Tau" fortifications don't have the Tau Empire faction. They appear to be factionless and available to any faction. They just aren't very useful unless you have Tau Empire units to operate them.

Yes they are tau. Thay have the tau faction symbol on their data sheets
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Can you verify that in the book, that I clearly do not have?
Someone pointed out that the leaked Scan had the Faction cut off.

Ninja'ed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/28 20:51:59


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Just do double verify http://www.gamestrust.de/news,warhammer-40-000-tau-empire-bilder-weitere-tidewall-rampart-regeln,id46747.html

He are some scans that have the tau symbol on them. The ones that don't just got cropped.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I really wish they would stop using Faction Symbols are a banner at the top of the sheet, much prefer if they where a faded 'stamp' on Imperium of Man Factions, some sort of fancy technical working down the side of the sheet for Tau, that dirty carved in wood feel for the orks and so forth. Something that works into the artwork of the page while also being a lot more noticeable and unique then a tiny banner.

I am sorry to admit that I over-looked Formation Factions because of this! Foooooreeeever shaaaaaammmeeeed....

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/29 11:51:13


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: