| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/31 11:01:21
Subject: Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Exeter
|
The new Tau Retaliation Cadre allows you to automatically deep strike it on turn 2.
Farsight's warlord trait makes his unit not scatter when arriving from deep strike.
I am wondering, if I attach Farsight to a unit of Broadsides from the formation while they are in reserve, does this mean that that unit will both arrive on turn 2 (because of the formation rule) and not scatter (because of Farsight's warlord trait)?
Please reference rules when replying.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/31 11:57:52
Subject: Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes that is correct. Farsight is a normal member of the unit, so the unit rules still apply, and may join as he is an IC bb
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 09:14:41
Subject: Re:Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
But Farsight is not part of the formation, and it is a FORMATION rule to come turn 2. You would have tol roll for farsight. At least that was my understanding.
I remember the Blood Angels White Dwarf formation with two assault marine squads and one vanguard squad. Formation said you deepstrike the vanguards in turn 2 and the assaults can then be positioned within 6'' of the vanguards. While landing they release a shockwave that wounds enemies near to the assault marines. My plan was to stick Dante to the vanguards so i could position them exactly like i wanted, but this forum here said that was not possible, for dante may be an IC but not part of the formation, so the formation rules would not apply to him.
|
Mischief. Mayhem. Soap. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 09:49:37
Subject: Re:Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Tombard wrote:But Farsight is not part of the formation, and it is a FORMATION rule to come turn 2. You would have tol roll for farsight. At least that was my understanding.
I remember the Blood Angels White Dwarf formation with two assault marine squads and one vanguard squad. Formation said you deepstrike the vanguards in turn 2 and the assaults can then be positioned within 6'' of the vanguards. While landing they release a shockwave that wounds enemies near to the assault marines. My plan was to stick Dante to the vanguards so i could position them exactly like i wanted, but this forum here said that was not possible, for dante may be an IC but not part of the formation, so the formation rules would not apply to him.
INDEPENDENT CHARACTER wrote:While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.
If an independent character joins a unit from a formation, that character counts as part of that unit in the formation.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/01 09:51:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 10:48:19
Subject: Re:Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Nilok wrote: Tombard wrote:But Farsight is not part of the formation, and it is a FORMATION rule to come turn 2. You would have tol roll for farsight. At least that was my understanding.
I remember the Blood Angels White Dwarf formation with two assault marine squads and one vanguard squad. Formation said you deepstrike the vanguards in turn 2 and the assaults can then be positioned within 6'' of the vanguards. While landing they release a shockwave that wounds enemies near to the assault marines. My plan was to stick Dante to the vanguards so i could position them exactly like i wanted, but this forum here said that was not possible, for dante may be an IC but not part of the formation, so the formation rules would not apply to him.
INDEPENDENT CHARACTER wrote:While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.
If an independent character joins a unit from a formation, that character counts as part of that unit in the formation.
The IC becomes part of the unit. It doesn't become part of the formation, even though it is almost the same. In my opinion it comes down to timing - when is the benefit bestowed and to whom? If it happens before you get to attach the IC and it targets "models of this unit" or something like that, it shouldn't transfer over to the IC. Most other cases the "part of the unit for all rules purposes" means it's eligible to receive the same benefits for as long as it is attached.
I don't know the exact wording for the TRC so I can only guess that yes, your plan should probably work just fine. Many other races have similar abilities, so there's also no real balance argument against using it
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 11:24:28
Subject: Re:Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
nekooni wrote: Nilok wrote: Tombard wrote:But Farsight is not part of the formation, and it is a FORMATION rule to come turn 2. You would have tol roll for farsight. At least that was my understanding.
I remember the Blood Angels White Dwarf formation with two assault marine squads and one vanguard squad. Formation said you deepstrike the vanguards in turn 2 and the assaults can then be positioned within 6'' of the vanguards. While landing they release a shockwave that wounds enemies near to the assault marines. My plan was to stick Dante to the vanguards so i could position them exactly like i wanted, but this forum here said that was not possible, for dante may be an IC but not part of the formation, so the formation rules would not apply to him.
INDEPENDENT CHARACTER wrote:While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.
If an independent character joins a unit from a formation, that character counts as part of that unit in the formation.
The IC becomes part of the unit. It doesn't become part of the formation, even though it is almost the same. In my opinion it comes down to timing - when is the benefit bestowed and to whom? If it happens before you get to attach the IC and it targets "models of this unit" or something like that, it shouldn't transfer over to the IC. Most other cases the "part of the unit for all rules purposes" means it's eligible to receive the same benefits for as long as it is attached.
I don't know the exact wording for the TRC so I can only guess that yes, your plan should probably work just fine. Many other races have similar abilities, so there's also no real balance argument against using it
Formations wrote: Instead of including a Force Organisation chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.
I honestly don't know why timing would come into effect.
Formations rules, like special rule (the rule themselves, not the effect) simply are. A model doesn't stop having relentless outside of the shooting phase, or lose rage simply because it is the movement phase. Likewise, all units in the formation always benefit from their formation special rule. When an Independent Character joins a unit and counts as part of that unit for all rules purposes, it gains all the formation special rules for that unit as well.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/01 11:25:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 12:25:29
Subject: Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This topic has come up before with the Skyhammer formation and the Optimized Stealth Cadre formation. I have seen support for both sides of the argument.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 13:05:09
Subject: Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Median Trace wrote:This topic has come up before with the Skyhammer formation and the Optimized Stealth Cadre formation. I have seen support for both sides of the argument.
Could you post the other side's argument?
The rules from Formations and Independent Characters seem pretty solid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/01 15:08:06
Subject: Attaching Farsight to new Tau Retaliation Cadre = no scatter auto deep strike?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|