Switch Theme:

Dark Reapers vs Darkshroud  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





The darkshroud has stealth and shroud he has a 4+ cover vs my Dark Reapers, I declare my shooting attack and he jinks. He jinks not to improve his cover save (since my Dark Reapers ignore his jink save) but to give himself a rerollable 4+, thanks to the ravenwing rule which give him a rerollable cover save when jinking.

Is this how Dark Reapers shooting at a jinking Darkshroud would work out? 4+ rerollable?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/07 01:33:32


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Indiana

You have multiple instances of cover here. In the open, the darkshroud uses its stealth and shrouded for a 4+ cover, which it can not re-roll.

If the vehicle jinks, it gains a 4++ cover save, which is improved to a maximum of a 2+, which it CAN re-roll.

Your Dark Reapers ignore jink saves, but do not stop your opponent from jinking. So when targeting the darkshroud, your opponent may choose to use its 4++ cover, or jink for a 4++ re-rollable.

Note that if there is any other cover save being granted, like intervening models granting a 5++ cover, then the darkshroud uses a 2++, re-rollable if it jinks.

Do Dark Reaper Rangefinders ignore just jink? I thought they ignored all cover.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/07 03:00:54


 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

Well would you look at that..........

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/09 08:28:13


"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





McKenzie, TN

Interesting. I never noticed that the Ravenwing rule does indeed state; A model with this special rule can re-roll failed cover saves when it Jinks.

It doesn't reroll jink saves but instead reroll's any cover save as long as it jinks.

It would appear that as long as you jink even if you cannot use your jink save you get to reroll any cover save (even one from a fortification).
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Mr ghoti wrote:

Do Dark Reaper Rangefinders ignore just jink? I thought they ignored all cover.


Reaper Rangefinder - Enemies cannot take Jink saves againt shots fired by a model equipped with a reaper rangefinder.

It does not ignore cover saves sadly.

What feels wrong to me is this model is being granted a reroll because of jinking and the Ravenwing special rule. Dark Reapers ignore saves granted by jinking. But we dont ignore the Ravenwings special rule do we? Or does the reroll count as a type of jink save and Dark Reapers do ignore the Ravenwing rule?


Its an annoying my rule vs your rule sorta thing.

I think of it Like this though... if the wording for the Ravenwing special rule was changed to "when jinking you have a 2+ cover save" we would naturally ignore the 2+ granted by the Ravenwing special rule because its a save granted through jinking no less. Does the inclusion of "reroll" really stop this from being a jink save?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/07 18:26:20


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So yes he can reroll his cover save however the Darkshroud doesn't have stealth so it is only a 5+ cover save.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

 FlingitNow wrote:
So yes he can reroll his cover save however the Darkshroud doesn't have stealth so it is only a 5+ cover save.


It has stealth if in the formation, but only then, it's worth noting.

I admit I was surprised when I first read that rw junk could rr any cover save as long as it jinked, doesn't matter most of the time but meh
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: