Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 18:13:44
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So apparently I can't use master of Mechanicus on an Imperial Knight, and the same thing with uncreator gauntlet, because independent characters can't move within 2 inches of a Knight? Is this right? If it isn't can someone point me to a rule that says otherwise
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 19:34:10
Subject: Re:Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm assuming that "Master of Mechanicus" is something like the "Blessings of the Omnissiah" repair ability - one of those things that require base to base contact in order to give some kind of benefit (e.g. repairing). EDIT: Yep, it's called "Master of Machines" and is just a more reliable "Blessings of the Omnissiah". If so, yes, you're quite right. You must be in base to base contact with something*, you can't be in base to base contact with them unless you're in their unit (which you can't be) or in an assault (which would be unlikely). GW writers do sometimes make rules without understanding that the core mechanics prevent them from functioning. If it's anything like Blessings of the Omnissiah, though, nobody would bat an eyelid if you went with the RAI. For another mention of the Uncreator Gauntlet (and possibly another example of GW not understanding their own rules), see the recent thread. *Exception: it works when you're embarked in a vehicle.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/14 20:00:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 19:51:31
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Why can't you go within 2" of a knight?
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 20:02:35
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Independent Characters, Joining and leaving units, BRB wrote:If an Independent Character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must (where possible) remain more than 2'' away from it at the end of the Movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 20:50:24
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Yeah, this is a strict RAW issue for rules that are clearly intended to work against the RAW.
Your opponent really shouldn't have an issue with playing per the clear RAI, and if they do, then you may wish to reconsider your choice of opponent...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/14 22:17:52
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Lol I just played a guy who did bat an eye any wouldn't let me use either, and everything I've read implied that I could so I was very annoyed, especially as the IK went and blew up half my army next turn lulz Automatically Appended Next Post: Ha-ha yea I think I will have to reconsider it a little more the games get a bit tedious Automatically Appended Next Post: I feel like RAI you should be able to hit your own vehicle outside of combat
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/14 22:28:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 00:59:38
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The IC must remain more than 2" away. This means the knight can move in...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 02:25:05
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
Very true.. If someone is being so stubborn as to play on words, use it against them as well
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 12:55:10
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes! Ok thank you guys
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 13:01:14
Subject: Re:Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That's an excellent idea, Nosferatu1001. Exalted!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 15:40:06
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Like wise do you think the uncreator gauntlet works the same? In the fight subphase could just mean when he can, it doesn't say he has to be in CC
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/15 16:15:10
Subject: Tech-priest Dominus and Imperial Knight
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
marcman wrote:Like wise do you think the uncreator gauntlet works the same? In the fight subphase could just mean when he can, it doesn't say he has to be in CC
To reach the thread regarding that, click here.
|
|
 |
 |
|