Switch Theme:

Power of the machine Spirit and Manticore  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Hello, last night this came to pass.
The enginseer from the Emperor's Wrath artillery Formation gave the power of the machine Spirit USR to a Manticore from the same formation so it could fire one more weapon than it normally can at full balistic.
The Manticore says in p 52 of the IG codex that
"carries a rack of four rockets. Only a single rocket can be fired by the Manticore Rocket Launcher in each of the Manticore's shooting phases. Furthermore until it has been used each rocket counts as a separate weapon when determining weapon destroyed results.

My question is is that legal? I mean the tank ran out of ammo pretty quickly but it was was powerful i want to make sure that i didn't cheat my opponent...
Thanks in advance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/06 13:13:09


You shouldn't be worried about the one bullet with your name on it, Boldric. You should be worried about the ones labelled "to whom it may concern"-from Blackadder goes Forth!
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The manticore rules are a mess.

Limited Ammunition does nothing because it references a "manticore rocket launcher" which is not equipment that a manticore has. Rather, a manticore has "storm eagle rockets" (no quantity specified).

The previous version of the rules had the manticore armed with a single weapon system - the launcher. This version has it armed with an unspecified number of rockets and a special rule that references the (now non-existent) launcher.


So, if you ignore the vehicle's equipment and play it as having a single launcher weapon so that Limited Ammunition works then no, PotMS can't make a single weapon fire twice.

If you interpret "manticore rocket launcher" to mean "manticore" (implied by the fluff section) which would also make Limited Ammunition work then you can fire two missiles per turn. I think that this is RAI.

If you use the RAW then yes you can fire one more rocket that you would usually be able to (but note that you'll never run out...)

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2016/01/06 13:17:49


 
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof




London, UK

I'd say that as it says it may only fire one rocket per turn that would over ride any other rules.
Machine spirit allows you to fire an extra weapon but this is superceded by the phrase "only a single rocket can be fired...etc"

https://sfjy.wordpress.com/
My blog, written with a friend, where we discuss gaming, brewing, metal and sci-fi whilst not taking ourselves very seriously... 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Dregstar wrote:
I'd say that as it says it may only fire one rocket per turn that would over ride any other rules.
Machine spirit allows you to fire an extra weapon but this is superceded by the phrase "only a single rocket can be fired...etc"


Actually, PotMS would override the rules the Manticore comes with.

I'd say you couldn't use PotMS though. You only treat the rockets as separate weapons for weapon destroyed results. For PotMS purposes, they aren't a separate weapon.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gr
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ok, so i was wrong to use it. It was bugging me so thanks anyway.

You shouldn't be worried about the one bullet with your name on it, Boldric. You should be worried about the ones labelled "to whom it may concern"-from Blackadder goes Forth!
 
   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





Why can't potms be used to fire a weapon twice ?

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 humanas wrote:
Why can't potms be used to fire a weapon twice?

In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






 humanas wrote:
Why can't potms be used to fire a weapon twice ?

Because it interacts with the vehicle rules, that allow a number of weapons to be fired at full BS, depending on the distance the vehicle moved in the Moving Phase. Nowhere does this rule allow you to fire a weapon twice.
   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





Charistoph wrote:
 humanas wrote:
Why can't potms be used to fire a weapon twice?

In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with.


But why ? the potms rule is "In a turn in which the vehicle neither moves Flat Out nor uses smoke launchers, the
vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted. "

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 humanas wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 humanas wrote:
Why can't potms be used to fire a weapon twice?

In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with.

But why ? the potms rule is "In a turn in which the vehicle neither moves Flat Out nor uses smoke launchers, the
vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted. "

I told you, the basic rules only allow for a Weapon to be fired once per Phase. All the PotMS says is to fire one MORE weapon, not a Weapon you have already fired.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





Actually, you are right!Thnx for clearing it up for me!

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: