Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/24 12:12:53
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
When a model uses an ability or casts a spell that affects all units within X inches or can affect any unit within X inches, are you able to choose the caster?
Say a general can give any unit within 12 inches +1 to hit, can he give it to himself?
The confusion comes from some abilities that specifically say "a unit OR himself", for example, while others just say "a unit."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/24 15:48:06
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dreadlegions wrote:
The confusion comes from some abilities that specifically say "a unit OR himself", for example, while others just say "a unit."
It's certainly not obvious, but I strongly believe that if it doesn't say it affects the caster/user, it doesn't do that. There are several scrolls that specifically mention that it also affects the user, and the new Fyreslayer Battlesmith warscroll says:
GW wrote: Until your next hero phase,
those units (including the Battlesmith)
cannot retreat, but you can re-roll failed
save rolls for them.
I interpret this as specifically mentioning the Battlesmith in addition to the other units.
|
Want to play a balanced Age of Sigmar?
The Age of Sigmar Project Points Cost!
Points cost for ALL armies, including unit upgrades and special abilities!
http://ageofwargamers.blogspot.com |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/24 15:48:44
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
The Rules are pretty literal in AoS, so if it doesn't say himself/itself then it only effects other units. This is because you draw from the model for targeting and effects. So if the ability doesn't let it target himself/itself he/it cannot use it on himself/itself. A good example is the Dark Elves' Cauldron of Blood's Blood Shield: The powerful magic that fuels the Cauldron of Blood grants it and any Exiles models from your army protection so long as they are within range of the Bloodshield. As opposed to Strength of Khaine which says: In your hero phase the Cauldron of Blood’s attendant can pray to Khaine. If she does so, pick an Exiles unit from your army within 14" ... The Blood Shield specifically calls out that it works on itself while the Strength of Khaine can only effect other units which must also be Exiles (Dark Elves).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/24 15:49:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 07:17:29
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Rage of Khorne (Bloodsecrator ability. This ability affects all KHORNE units in your army within 18" of this model....
Is Bloodsecrator also affected? In my opinion he also benefit from "Rage".
In opposite there is also wrathmongers ability (Crimson Haze) where is clearly stated "This does not affect Wrathmongers".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 18:17:39
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
According to the warscroll the Wrathmongers are already under the effect, so the +1 attack is already included into their attacks profile
The Bloodsecrator's Rage of Khorne only gives permission to all other KHORNE models but not himself because it does not specify the Bloodsecrator as coming under the effect. So if you want your Bloodsecrator to have Rage of Khorne you would need a second on the field with a planted totem.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/04 04:41:42
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
The Wrathmonger ability could be read as saying it doesn't benefit other Wrathmongers, so no totally useful in that regard.
However, if "within X inches" does not include the model itself, then I ask do terrain features with rules like "Arcane" or "Inspiring" not affect units within them? Because if a model with and ability that affects everything within 3" does not affect itself, then we must conclude that the terrain feature is not considered within that range, meaning any unit inside that terrain feature would not be included.
Thus a wizard standing next to an arcane wood gets a bonus to his casting rolls, but a wizard standing INSIDE an arcane wood gets no benefit. Similarly, models like the Auric Runemaster cannot affects units completely inside terrain since they would not be within the required area.
[edit] Also, looking at the main rules, it mentions that when moving units they must end "with all models within 1" of at least one other model in the unit" why make this distinction if that range did not include the model itself? They could simply say "within 1" of at least one model in the unit" but they made the effort to include the extra clarification.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/04 04:49:48
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/04 06:59:56
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Terrain effects: "Distances in Warhammer: Age of Sigmar are measured in inches ("), between the closest points of the models or units you’re measuring to and from." The entire terrain piece is a model. Being "in" or "on" terrain falls within x" of a terrain piece.
Auric Runemaster: it's self-explanatory. Models within 1" of a terrain feature can possibly take a mortal wound. Because the whole terrain piece is a model, any models "in" or "on" can be effected as I stated above. Then terrain then becomes similar to Deadly until the Runemasters controller's next hero phase.
"Models fight in units. A unit can have one or more models, but cannot include models that use different warscrolls. A unit must be set up and finish any sort of move as a single group of models, with all models within 1" of at least one other model from their unit. If anything causes a unit to become split up during a battle, it must reform the next time that it moves."
This whole paragraph is talking about unit composition: "A unit can have one or more models, but cannot include models that use different warscrolls." Followed by unit coherency: "A unit must be set up and finish any sort of move as a single group of models, with all models within 1" of at least one other model from their unit" All it is saying is that one model from the unit must be within 1" of another model from the same unit and that unit can only have models from the same warscroll.. I don't know what other kind of distinction your getting at beyond this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/04 07:51:23
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
So being within X" does include the model itself; as models inside a terrain piece are still included. Based on that logic, then a model is within X" of itself and thus included in such effects. If the model was not considered to be within X" of itself then being inside a terrain piece would thus not be within X" of it, thus not being included in the effect.
The unit composition paragraph goes out of its way to distinguish coherency as being within 1" of one OTHER model, thus I am reasoning that a model is within 1" of itself because they felt the need to include that distinction.
But overall the whole thing is so vague anyway that I just emailed them because I am not solidly convinced either way. I'll have my fingers crossed on a response, since the recent chaos book release had a bit of a FAQ in it.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/04 15:07:52
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
NinthMusketeer wrote:So being within X" does include the model itself; as models inside a terrain piece are still included. Based on that logic, then a model is within X" of itself and thus included in such effects. If the model was not considered to be within X" of itself then being inside a terrain piece would thus not be within X" of it, thus not being included in the effect.
The unit composition paragraph goes out of its way to distinguish coherency as being within 1" of one OTHER model, thus I am reasoning that a model is within 1" of itself because they felt the need to include that distinction.
But overall the whole thing is so vague anyway that I just emailed them because I am not solidly convinced either way. I'll have my fingers crossed on a response, since the recent chaos book release had a bit of a FAQ in it.
First, you can measure vertically as well has horizontally. You are technically "above" the model but still in within the range of the effect. Second, that makes no sense. If a model was always within 1" of itself then you would not need to keep your units together. Third, I'm going to submit the question as well. 2 rulings are better then 1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/04 18:13:31
Subject: Area of effect spells and abilities
|
 |
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant
England
|
There's 3 "types" going round in AOS on abilities like this. Ill use examples already used in the thread.
1. It specifically states all units in x" including itself.
"Until your next hero phase, those units (including the Battlesmith) "
2. It specifically states all units in x" NOT including itself.
"All models within 3" of a Wrathmonger...
... This does not affect Wrathmongers"
3. It says all units within x", but itself isn't specified.
"This ability affects all Khorne units in your army within 18" of this model"
So, because of these 3 distinct interpretations, I would conclude that it DOES NOT include itself, because it should say that if it includes itself because of the 1st type of range. Again you could say the same for the 2nd type also, but I believe that was put there for ironing out any misinterpretations making the ability potentially broken.
|
If you can't believe in yourself, believe in me! Believe in the Dakka who believes in you! |
|
 |
 |
|