Switch Theme:

Techmarines in a gladius possible? (Outside of armored task force)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hi! I am playing around with an Iron Hands list of mine and I came upon this question to which I am not sure of the answer.

The question is this:

If I play the Space Marine Clan Raukaan Supplement I get the bonus of being able to include a Techmarine as a none force organization unit for each HQ choice that I have that is not a techmarine. Now the question is does this allow me to take a techmarine as part of a gladius within the demi-companies?

I looked this up in the mini rule book and under the section that I believe handles none force organization units it states (

"Occasionally a unit's army list entry will state that the unit it describes does not take up a slot on a force organization chart. These units can be included in any detachment even if all the slots of the appropriate battlefield role are filled with other units or if the detachment had no slot for their battlefield role, but they must still adhere to any restrictions detailed on the detachment and its own army list entry. If the army list entry states that it can be included in an army that includes another specified unit, and that it does take up a force organization slot, it must join the same detachment as that specified unit. In either case, these units are part of the detachment for all rule purposes and will gain any appropriate command benefits."
~ Page 121

As far as restrictions go the demi companies have none listed.

Now from what I can tell this would mean a Clan Raukaan gladius could take two techmarines in a gladius and they would be included as part of the demi companies. Am I correct in this interpretation or am I misunderstanding what a none force organization unit can do? Would this also apply to other formations from say the Ork factions and their none force org meks?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 01:46:28


 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






It boils down to no, you cannot take a techmarine as part of the Gladius. The reasoning for it is that it's a formation, which is a specific type of detachment that has very specific things taken in it.

Instead of including a Force Organisation chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 02:36:22


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

Not quite. A slightly different angle of permissions are involved. Dedicated Transports are options provided by the units included in the list, not options provided by units outside the list.

In addition, there are no HQ choices in a Formation, just HQ units.

Still, there is some leeway if people want to be nice about it.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

Not quite. A slightly different angle of permissions are involved. Dedicated Transports are options provided by the units included in the list, not options provided by units outside the list.

In addition, there are no HQ choices in a Formation, just HQ units.

Still, there is some leeway if people want to be nice about it.


It's RAW. The Chapter Tactics provides the permission, unless you can somehow show that we are not dealing with a Clan Raukaan Gladius Formation as much as we would normally be dealing with a Clan Raukaan CAD.

Spoiler:

For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 03:21:29


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

Not quite. A slightly different angle of permissions are involved. Dedicated Transports are options provided by the units included in the list, not options provided by units outside the list.

In addition, there are no HQ choices in a Formation, just HQ units.

Still, there is some leeway if people want to be nice about it.


It's RAW. The Chapter Tactics provides the permission, unless you can somehow show that we are not dealing with a Clan Raukaan Gladius Formation.
Spoiler:

For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines

It is not RAW. There are no HQ choices being taken. The options are provided by units not in the Formation.

Nothing written about this.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

Not quite. A slightly different angle of permissions are involved. Dedicated Transports are options provided by the units included in the list, not options provided by units outside the list.

In addition, there are no HQ choices in a Formation, just HQ units.

Still, there is some leeway if people want to be nice about it.


It's RAW. The Chapter Tactics provides the permission, unless you can somehow show that we are not dealing with a Clan Raukaan Gladius Formation.
Spoiler:

For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines

It is not RAW. There are no HQ choices being taken. The options are provided by units not in the Formation.

Nothing written about this.


If the Formation includes HQ battlefield role units, it most certainly has HQ choices. I'm not sure how you can contest this. If my Formation calls for a Captain unit, it has at least one HQ and would therefore allow me to take two Techmarines.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Yes.

"Formations are a special type of Detachment" and "These units can be included in any detachment"

So you can add a slotless Techmarine for every HQ slot in the Gladius per Clan Raukaan rules.

Spoiler:
SCIONS OF THE FORGE
For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines. For each Master of the Forge in your army, you may include up to three Techmarines. These selections do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

It's more or less akin to adding dedicated transports to units in Formations.

Not quite. A slightly different angle of permissions are involved. Dedicated Transports are options provided by the units included in the list, not options provided by units outside the list.

In addition, there are no HQ choices in a Formation, just HQ units.

Still, there is some leeway if people want to be nice about it.


It's RAW. The Chapter Tactics provides the permission, unless you can somehow show that we are not dealing with a Clan Raukaan Gladius Formation.
Spoiler:

For each HQ choice in a Clan Raukaan detachment (not including other Techmarines, Servitors, Command Squads or Honour Guard) you may include up to two Techmarines

It is not RAW. There are no HQ choices being taken. The options are provided by units not in the Formation.

Nothing written about this.


CADs have compulsory and optional choices of units and those units have a battlefield role.

Spoiler:
FORCE ORGANISATION CHARTS AND SLOTS

This section of the Detachment lists the minimum and maximum number of units of
each type that you must or may include in the Detachment.

The boxes on a Force Organisation Chart are referred to as slots. Each slot will typically
specify a Battlefield Role. Each slot allows you to take one unit. Black boxes are
compulsory selections – you must take at least this many units of the appropriate
Battlefield Role to include this Detachment in your army. If you cannot include the
compulsory number of units, you cannot include that Detachment. Grey boxes are
optional selections – you can include up to this number of units of the appropriate
Battlefield Role when including this Detachment in your army. Any further units of the
same Battlefield Role will need to be taken in a different Detachment. For example, in
order to take a Combined Arms Detachment, you must select two units with the Troops
Battlefield Role, and cannot select more than six in the same Detachment.

Occasionally, a Force Organisation slot will not specify a Battlefield Role, in which case
any type of unit can be taken, or it will specify a particular unit or units, in which case
only those particular units may (or must) be taken.


Gladius has choices as well and those units retain their battlefield role (ie HQ can be chosen as Warlord)

Spoiler:
RESTRICTIONS:
This Detachment must include at least one Core choice and one Auxiliary choice. It may
include up to one more Core choice, up to three Command choices and any number of
additional Auxiliary choices, in any combination.


The Gladius has a choice of Captain or Chaplain (and a number of models that fulfill that listing) in the Core choice and those models retain their battlefield role as HQ.

Spoiler:
1 May take Captain Sicarius, Kor’sarro Khan, Vulkan He’stan, Shadow Captain Shrike, or Captain Lysander instead of a Captain.
2 May take Chaplain Cassius or Chaplain Grimaldus instead of a Chaplain.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Kriswall wrote:If the Formation includes HQ battlefield role units, it most certainly has HQ choices. I'm not sure how you can contest this. If my Formation calls for a Captain unit, it has at least one HQ and would therefore allow me to take two Techmarines.

Can you demonstrate that the role of the unit is always the choice, and that it is the choice while in a Formation?

From the rulebook legend for FOC detachments:
Spoiler:
1) Force Organisation Chart
This shows the number of units of each battlefield role that you may include in this Detachment. Black boxes are choices you must include to take this Detachment, whilst grey boxes are optional choices.

Whereas Formations mention nothing about role choices:
Spoiler:
Instead of including a Force Organisation chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.

While the next sentence does state the units keep their roles, this does not necessarily translate to being a choice of that role like FOCs carry.

col_impact wrote:CADs have compulsory and optional choices of units and those units have a battlefield role.

Not in argument. Keep in mind, role detachments treat their slots as choices, as I referenced above. Can you provide this is the case for individual Formations?

col_impact wrote:Gladius has choices as well and those units retain their battlefield role (ie HQ can be chosen as Warlord)

None of which are HQ choices, but Core, Command, and Auxiliary Choices. Indeed the Gladius is also not a Formation, so a poor example.

col_impact wrote:The Gladius has a choice of Captain or Chaplain (and a number of models that fulfill that listing) in the Core choice and those models retain their battlefield role as HQ.

No, the GLADIUS does not. It has a Core Choice. The Core Choice has an HQ unit which is in its unit list. It never lists this as an HQ choice or similar definition, nor does any Formation's rules, either.

And that there lies the problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 06:28:24


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in au
Missionary On A Mission




Australia

If Formations dont include any HQ or Fast Attack or Heavy Support units, how do you earn Victory Points for destroying those units in the Eternal War missions? Are you saying you wont get a VP for destroying a Devastator Squad when playing The Big Guns Never Tire because it comes from a demi- company, not a combined arms detachment?


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 GoonBandito wrote:
If Formations dont include any HQ or Fast Attack or Heavy Support units, how do you earn Victory Points for destroying those units in the Eternal War missions? Are you saying you wont get a VP for destroying a Devastator Squad when playing The Big Guns Never Tire because it comes from a demi- company, not a combined arms detachment?

Do not confuse ROLE with CHOICE, they are not always the same thing, nor are they ever actually defined as the same thing.

Role Detachments, like the Combined Arms Detachment, are filled with slots, or choices as previously referenced, based on unit roles.

Formations, though, are filled with a list of actual units, not choices or slots, or at least, they are not referenced as such as far as I can find, even though the units keep their roles.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am not really sure of what to settle on, but at this point I am thinking that the Captain or chaplain would count as an HQ and thus allow a techmarine to be used in a non for organization slot. What is the captain? An HQ choice.

Even in a demi company he is a choice because instead of him you can choose to get other named HQs one of whom is not even a captain (Vulkan He'Stan). The rule states that if you have an HQ choice you can opt to bring up to two techmarines in a none force organization slot which in of itself is allowed in ANY detachment as long as the prerequisite to bring the non force org unit is met.

What does the techmarine need? An HQ choice. What is the captain in a demi company? An HQ choice. He many not be a "choice" in the demi company itself as it is a required position to be filled, but the captain is an HQ unit which I would think would naturally translate to HQ choice. I cant really see any RAW reason why a HQ loses the "HQ unit choice" if his specific unit type is required in a formation. Did you have to bring him? Yes. Is the HQ unit itself a HQ unit choice? Yes. He may not be a choice in that specific formation, but overall he is a HQ unit choice.

And on another note you do have to choose between two HQs in a demi company. So from that angle both the Chaplain and the captain are choices as you have to choose one or the other. Both are HQs. Only one is required in a demi company. You have to choose which to bring so both the captain and chaplain would appear to be possible choices in a demi company thus meeting the requirement to bring a tech marine.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 08:05:37


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, the captain has the HQ role. He is not a "choice" - that phraasing appears only that iI can find in the detachment requirements, where the "boxes" are the choices you have (compulsory or otherwise)
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Tibs Ironblood wrote:
I am not really sure of what to settle on, but at this point I am thinking that the Captain or chaplain would count as an HQ and thus allow a techmarine to be used in a non for organization slot. What is the captain? An HQ choice.

Even in a demi company he is a choice because instead of him you can choose to get other named HQs one of whom is not even a captain (Vulkan He'Stan). The rule states that if you have an HQ choice you can opt to bring up to two techmarines in a none force organization slot which in of itself is allowed in ANY detachment as long as the prerequisite to bring the non force org unit is met.

What does the techmarine need? An HQ choice. What is the captain in a demi company? An HQ choice. He many not be a "choice" in the demi company itself as it is a required position to be filled, but the captain is an HQ unit which I would think would naturally translate to HQ choice. I cant really see any RAW reason why a HQ loses the "HQ unit choice" if his specific unit type is required in a formation. Did you have to bring him? Yes. Is the HQ unit itself a HQ unit choice? Yes. He may not be a choice in that specific formation, but overall he is a HQ unit choice.

And on another note you do have to choose between two HQs in a demi company. So from that angle both the Chaplain and the captain are choices as you have to choose one or the other. Both are HQs. Only one is required in a demi company. You have to choose which to bring so both the captain and chaplain would appear to be possible choices in a demi company thus meeting the requirement to bring a tech marine.


You have a choice between two units. But you do not have a choice of any unit with the Battlefield Role "HQ", which is what "HQ choice" means as far as I understand it.

But to be fair, most of the old "get this thing for free if" are kinda broken when applying to Formations - these rules are simply not written with the kind of formations in mind that we have now. The 3-Vendetta/Valkyrie Formation is allowed to add 3 Enginseers and 3 Primaris Psykers. So is any other "AM Detachment", so if you bring an Aerial, a Psycana and lets say the Ogryn formation, you can add 9 Psykers to the units you have to bring anyway - which makes for a total of 10 Primaris Psykers with 3 Wyrdvane Psyker squads. At least one of those gets boosted by the Wyrdvanes and the special rule now is kinda broken. "The Primaris Psyker of this formation" - well, which one? There are 4 that are now part of this detachment! Does it apply to each one, or just the one that wasn't "free"?
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






Would you agree that this is the same discussion as the IG priest in formation discussion ?

Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Tibs Ironblood wrote:
I am not really sure of what to settle on, but at this point I am thinking that the Captain or chaplain would count as an HQ and thus allow a techmarine to be used in a non for organization slot. What is the captain? An HQ choice.

You are combining the Role and Choice concepts. They are not even equivalent, as noted above in the FOC legend.

 Tibs Ironblood wrote:
Even in a demi company he is a choice because instead of him you can choose to get other named HQs one of whom is not even a captain (Vulkan He'Stan). The rule states that if you have an HQ choice you can opt to bring up to two techmarines in a none force organization slot which in of itself is allowed in ANY detachment as long as the prerequisite to bring the non force org unit is met.

He is a unit option, not a choice (as used in the detachment section of the rulebook). An HQ choice can be used for any HQ unit for the faction. The Demi-Company carries the option of a Captain, Chaplain, or one of the Unique equivalent characters, not an FOC HQ choice.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 oldzoggy wrote:
Would you agree that this is the same discussion as the IG priest in formation discussion ?


It is not the same, but it is similar. The IG priest has literally no requirements, unlike the Techmarine. But due to the requirement one is legal RAW and the other isn't - or at best questionable.
Both are probably not supposed to work, though - they "feel wrong" to me in the new Formations.

Why would a UM scout detachment that brings Telion become able to bring a Techmarine?
Why would a Psycana Divison bring 3 Enginseers?

And yes, there're enough examples that DO make sense, but where it makes MOST sense, GW actually made the unit in question part of the Formation - see the new Tank formations for both AM and SM.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Every unit has(always has) a battlefield role.

Only foc detachments have "choices" or "selections" attached to those roles.

Examples:

a CAD has a cumpulsory HQ Choice.

A demi-company requires a captain or a chaplain, which is an HQ Unit.

This is all very clear when you read the BRB sections on battlefield roles and detachents(formations even restate that they are both detachments and that the units retain their roles). In those sections the roles are referenced as x-units, and only when they are speaking of FOC detachments does "x-choice" come up. Some older books use selection as interchangeable with choice.

In the case of codex:AM, or Clan Raukaan/scions of terra; those books were written for a time when detachment meant standard or allied. Trying to apply what the words say to the new editions rules while ignoring context is just wrong. Yes it says detachment; no, that does not mean add them willy-nilly to formations.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

While nos and charistoph may be correct RAW, it is extremely unlikely that you will find anyone outside of this forum that distinguishes HQ from HQ choice.

You'll probably find that most people's iinterpretation will allow you to do what you are asking

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 jokerkd wrote:
While nos and charistoph may be correct RAW, it is extremely unlikely that you will find anyone outside of this forum that distinguishes HQ from HQ choice.

You'll probably find that most people's iinterpretation will allow you to do what you are asking


100% agreed.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Both Kommissar Kal and Charistophe have fallen into the habit of referring to 'Choice' when the rulebook recognizes no such thing and uses lowercase 'choice'.

That is very sneaky and misleading of them to do.


a CAD has a compulsory HQ Choice


You are combining the Role and Choice concepts.


No, the GLADIUS does not. It has a Core Choice. The Core Choice has an HQ unit which is in its unit list.


Uppercase 'Choice' is not used anywhere in the BRB and so is not a game recognized proper noun or game term. Furthermore, neither uppercase 'Choice' or lowercase 'choice' show up in the index of the printed BRB as keywords.

Therefore the use of "choice" in the rules is strictly by English usage.

Both KomissarKal's and Charistophe's arguments are premised that 'Choice' is a game recognized proper noun or keyword. If it is as they claim then they should have no problem pointing to an uppercase 'Choice' or a keyword in the printed BRB index or some game definition of 'choice' somewhere in the BRB. They cannot so their argument is invalid.

All the Gladius player has to show is that there is some 'choice' (compulsory or optional) involved with the HQ unit in the Gladius Detachment by English usage. Indeed there is as I have already shown. So the Clan Rakuaan rule is satisfied.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 22:01:47


 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

col_impact wrote:
Both Kommissar Kal and Charistophe have both fallen into the habit of referring to 'Choice' when the rulebook recognizes no such thing and uses lowercase 'choice'. That is very sneaky and misleading of them to do.

a CAD has a compulsory HQ Choice


You are combining the Role and Choice concepts.


No, the GLADIUS does not. It has a Core Choice. The Core Choice has an HQ unit which is in its unit list.


Uppercase 'Choice' is not used anywhere in the BRB and so is not a game recognized proper noun or game term. Furthermore, neither uppercase 'Choice' or lowercase 'choice' show up in the index of the printed BRB as keywords.

Therefore the use of "choice" in the rules is strictly by English usage.

Both KomissarKal's and Charistophe's arguments are premised that 'Choice' is a game recognized proper noun or keyword. If it is as they claim then they should have no problem pointing to an uppercase 'Choice' or a keyword in the printed BRB index. They cannot so their argument is invalid.

All the Gladius player has to show is that there is some 'choice' (compulsory or optional) involved with the HQ unit in the Gladius Detachment by English usage. Indeed there is as I have already shown. So the Clan Rakuaan rule is satisfied.


Agreed. This is a common trap people fall into. Unless the word is treated as a proper noun, or has an explicit game definition somewhere, it's just a regular English word.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Kriswall wrote:

Agreed. This is a common trap people fall into. Unless the word is treated as a proper noun, or has an explicit game definition somewhere, it's just a regular English word.


Yup. RAW 'choice' is by English usage. There is no game term 'Choice'.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 22:03:20


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Line of sight is never presented in the rules as a proper noun but refers to a specific thing in terms of the rules. It's incorrect to claim that words must be proper nouns to have specific meanings in terms of the rules.

The only reference the Gladius Strike Force makes in reference to choices is in terms of Core, Auxiliary and Command choices, which of course are compound nouns that refer to specific things.

There is no reference at all to choices in terms of the Battle Demi-company because it is a formation, which does not use a Force Organisation Chart and thus has no battlefield role choices, which are the only choices the rules for selecting detachments care about.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
Both Kommissar Kal and Charistophe have fallen into the habit of referring to 'Choice' when the rulebook recognizes no such thing and uses lowercase 'choice'.

That is very sneaky and misleading of them to do.


a CAD has a compulsory HQ Choice


You are combining the Role and Choice concepts.


No, the GLADIUS does not. It has a Core Choice. The Core Choice has an HQ unit which is in its unit list.


Uppercase 'Choice' is not used anywhere in the BRB and so is not a game recognized proper noun or game term. Furthermore, neither uppercase 'Choice' or lowercase 'choice' show up in the index of the printed BRB as keywords.

Therefore the use of "choice" in the rules is strictly by English usage.

Both KomissarKal's and Charistophe's arguments are premised that 'Choice' is a game recognized proper noun or keyword. If it is as they claim then they should have no problem pointing to an uppercase 'Choice' or a keyword in the printed BRB index or some game definition of 'choice' somewhere in the BRB. They cannot so their argument is invalid.

All the Gladius player has to show is that there is some 'choice' (compulsory or optional) involved with the HQ unit in the Gladius Detachment by English usage. Indeed there is as I have already shown. So the Clan Rakuaan rule is satisfied.

And col_impact has fallen in to the trap of ignoring how the rulebook uses the word in context. I have quoted the rulebook in context, you have ignored it.

So, show me where it uses "(Role) choice" in anything but FOC slots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 22:29:21


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Mr. Shine wrote:
Line of sight is never presented in the rules as a proper noun but refers to a specific thing in terms of the rules. It's incorrect to claim that words must be proper nouns to have specific meanings in terms of the rules.

The only reference the Gladius Strike Force makes in reference to choices is in terms of Core, Auxiliary and Command choices, which of course are compound nouns that refer to specific things.

There is no reference at all to choices in terms of the Battle Demi-company because it is a formation, which does not use a Force Organisation Chart and thus has no battlefield role choices, which are the only choices the rules for selecting detachments care about.


'Line of sight' is an example that actually supports my argument and further underscores the problems with KomissarKal's, Charistophe's, and Mr. Shine's argument.

First, 'line of sight' is defined in the BRB.

Spoiler:
LINE OF SIGHT

Line of sight determines what a model can ‘see’. Many situations call for you to determine
whether or not a model has line of sight. A model normally needs line of sight whenever
it wishes to attack an enemy, whether with power sword, gun or psychic power. Line of
sight literally represents your warriors’ view of the enemy – they must be able to see their
foes through, under or over the battlefield terrain and other models (whether friendly or
enemy).

For one model to have line of sight to another, you must be able to trace a
straight, unblocked line from its body (the head, torso, arms or legs) to any
part of the target’s body.


Second, 'line of sight' appears in the index of the printed BRB as a keyword.


If 'choice' were similarly a game concept in the BRB, then it would be capitalized in the BRB, defined in the BRB, and/or show up in the index of the printed BRB. The word 'choice' does none of these in the BRB.

Therefore we can come to no other conclusion by RAW that the usage of 'choice' in the BRB is by English usage.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






KomissarKal and Charistophe seem liked they'd be a blast to play with.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:

And col_impact has fallen in to the trap of ignoring how the rulebook uses the word in context. I have quoted the rulebook in context, you have ignored it.

So, show me where it uses "(Role) choice" in anything but FOC slots.


By saying that the BRB is using the word in context is admitting that the BRB is only using 'choice' by English usage. You have utterly failed to proved that 'choice' is a game keyword.

I only have to show you "where it uses 'Role' choice' in anything but FOC slots" if you can first prove that 'choice' is a game keyword.

Until you can prove that 'choice' is a game keyword you literally have no argument.



Therefore, the Gladius player only has to satisfy the English usage of 'choice' which is easy to do as I have already shown. Therefore RAW, the Clan Rakuaan Gladius detachment can add 2 techmarines for each HQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 22:40:24


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

col_impact wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
Line of sight is never presented in the rules as a proper noun but refers to a specific thing in terms of the rules. It's incorrect to claim that words must be proper nouns to have specific meanings in terms of the rules.

The only reference the Gladius Strike Force makes in reference to choices is in terms of Core, Auxiliary and Command choices, which of course are compound nouns that refer to specific things.

There is no reference at all to choices in terms of the Battle Demi-company because it is a formation, which does not use a Force Organisation Chart and thus has no battlefield role choices, which are the only choices the rules for selecting detachments care about.


'Line of sight' is an example that actually supports my argument and further underscores the problems with KomissarKal's, Charistophe's, and Mr. Shine's argument.

First, 'line of sight' is defined in the BRB.

Spoiler:
LINE OF SIGHT

Line of sight determines what a model can ‘see’. Many situations call for you to determine
whether or not a model has line of sight. A model normally needs line of sight whenever
it wishes to attack an enemy, whether with power sword, gun or psychic power. Line of
sight literally represents your warriors’ view of the enemy – they must be able to see their
foes through, under or over the battlefield terrain and other models (whether friendly or
enemy).

For one model to have line of sight to another, you must be able to trace a
straight, unblocked line from its body (the head, torso, arms or legs) to any
part of the target’s body.


Second, 'line of sight' appears in the index of the printed BRB as a keyword.


If 'choice' were similarly a game concept in the BRB, then it would be capitalized in the BRB, defined in the BRB, and/or show up in the index of the printed BRB. The word 'choice' does none of these in the BRB.

Therefore we can come to no other conclusion by RAW that the usage of 'choice' in the BRB is by English usage.


No. Choices in terms of selecting detachments refer specifically to choices of units with specific battlefield roles using the Force Organisation Chart, or in the case of the Gladius in terms of Core, Auxiliary and Command. The fact it doesn't have its own heading is irrelevant because it has a specific context within the rules for selecting detachments.

This context is absent from the formation rules - indeed, formations tell us they list specific Army List Entries instead of including a Force Organisation Chart.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Mr. Shine wrote:


No. Choices in terms of selecting detachments refer specifically to choices of units with specific battlefield roles using the Force Organisation Chart, or in the case of the Gladius in terms of Core, Auxiliary and Command. The fact it doesn't have its own heading is irrelevant because it has a specific context within the rules for selecting detachments.

This context is absent from the formation rules - indeed, formations tell us they list specific Army List Entries instead of including a Force Organisation Chart.


You have failed to show that 'choice' is a game concept.

As your 'line of sight' example shows, it is easy to show that a word is a game concept if it is indeed a game concept. I was able to easily point to a definition and an index entry for 'line of sight'; therefore, it can be easily shown that 'line of sight' is a game concept.

Your failure to accomplish what should be easy can only lead to the conclusion that the English usage of 'choice' is all that is in effect by RAW.

Therefore, the Scions of the Forge rule will be satisfied merely by semantically correct English usage of 'choice'.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 22:55:37


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: