Switch Theme:

Short questions short answers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Hacking Interventor





Germany

I don't think there is much explanation needed, whenever you have questions about rules not worth to open a whole thread you can ask them here and someone will answer them.

So let me Start:
Since the Kuang Shi Control Device seems to be lootable, can a scavenging troop use it to let all kuang shi explode present on the table?

The Scavenger rule states:
Scavengers may use and benefit from any looted item they carry (for example, they can make full use of a Hacking Device)



   
Made in es
Dakka Veteran






Well, as per the rules the KSCD allows you to blow up all the Kuang Shi in the same Combat Group as the user, so unless you have some Kuang Shi in the same combat group as your looter...
   
Made in de
Hacking Interventor





Germany

How boring -.- I hope there will be some editing in HS

   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

We had a question come up the other day and I can not seem to find the answer.
I shot his TAG and took 2 of its 3 STR points. Could his engineer try to fix those points or do you have to wait until it falls unconscious?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/15 16:45:51


"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I think you can. At least the more experienced players I know have repaired their tags when they were only damaged.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Unlike Doctor , Engineers can "heal" something that's not unconscious

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/15 17:08:08


 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

Yes, in N3 you can fix a STR unit before it goes Unconscious, you can even keep fixing it up to full STR.

In N2 it was like Doctor, so that might of been confusion.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Good to know. Thanks

"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Devon, UK

Noir wrote:
In N2 it was like Doctor, so that might of been confusion.


That bit was unchanged between editions. As Scarface knows all too well from the (many) times his sister failed her Engineering roll and put him Unconscious.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Something else I am not clear on.
I am working on a NeoTerran list that has both Fusilers and Bolts in it. Can I make a link team that is made up of 2 Bolts and 3 Fusilers? Reading the rules and the wiki are not clear to me on this.

"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in es
Dakka Veteran






No, unless explicitly specified you can only link troops from the same unit.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Bolts with bolts or fusiliers with fusiliers.

No mixed fireteams in NCA. That is restricted to QK and Tohaa.
(with Hafza who can link with any other fireteam, and Tohaa that can form links with any models with the right skill, regardless of unit).

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in nl
Fixture of Dakka






IIRC, the rules do state that only models in the same regiment can join a Link Team*. Of course, what you have to figure out is that "regiment" is the troop type; Neoterra Bolts are one regiment, Fusiliers are another, etc.


* With the inevitable exceptions, but those aren't important here.
   
Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





New to Infinity, had a game yesterday with my bro inlaw and we felt this was a little unfair and so thought I had best check we are doing it right.

We are doing the first mission from Ice Storm so 3 dudes each. It got to the stage where we were both down to our last man.

It was his turn and his model started the turn in my guys LOS.

He declaired he was going to Move+BS.

I decided to do a BS reaction and we did a Roll off, the result was that I cancelled out all his shots as I rolled right on my BS.

He managed to roll a 20 and so saved.

It then went to me so I declared I was going to BS straight away, we again did a roll off but I scored higher and so my shots hit.

He managed to do a save and in the end kill my guy.

We felt it was a little harsh that my guy basically got 4 shots on him pretty fast, my opinion was that in a normal game you would have more dudes to move and so not have to activate the person and avoid the reaction shots or be able to take my guy from afar.

Did we get it right? The starter book really dosnt go into too much detail on the ARO's.

Also question 2....

If the roll off is a tie what happens?


 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

As it was the first Icestorm learning mission, yes you did. As you move on to the full game rules like Retreat, will make a end game like that way less likely. Heck, even the out come of the first shot out would change once you add Crits, as you rolled your target number exactly he would not of got a ARM roll.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Ties cancel each other out.

The general TL;DR of face to face rolls is,

You want to roll equal to or under your skill while also being over your opponents rolls. If a roll is under your skill value needed it will cancel out all your opponents dice that were successful but lower than your roll. Ties cancel each other out. Critical rolls cancel all your opponents rolls. Critical rolls cancel each other as well.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






Beyond the Beltway

Think of it as a 'Blackjack' Mechanic. Like the card game.

Ties cancel, unless one of the rolls is a critical. Then it is not a tie ( even though the dice show the same number.) Criticals cancel each other.

 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: