Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:25:35
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Happy Imperial Citizen
|
Hi all,
This might seem like a silly question, but it's actually quite difficult to locate a definitive answer!
In the situation where a one-wound model fails to save against one wound from the black mace, does it die without needing a toughness test because it has failed to save one wound, or does it take a toughness test and only die if it fails the test? Conversely keeping its one wound and living if it passes the test.
I ask mostly because the black mace actually seems quite crappy if the latter option is true, and I really hope that this is not the case!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:34:59
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
The wound is dealt regardless. As such, a 1 wound critter is going to die if the Black Mace wielding model tags it for a wound. The toughness test thing is really for multi-wound models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:38:27
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Happy Imperial Citizen
|
Thanks. I couldn't be 100% certain based on the wording. Used it for the first time against a BA army, causing a lot of unsaved wounds against a unit of ten. In the interest of fairness, we went with my second interpretation and suddenly only about 2 or 3 casualties happened compared to the 9 or so that should have! Plus it took forever doing all those toughness tests!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:45:33
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Spoongefeesh wrote:Thanks. I couldn't be 100% certain based on the wording. Used it for the first time against a BA army, causing a lot of unsaved wounds against a unit of ten. In the interest of fairness, we went with my second interpretation and suddenly only about 2 or 3 casualties happened compared to the 9 or so that should have! Plus it took forever doing all those toughness tests!
Yeah, the Black Mace is this horrific, chaos tainted weapon capable of leaching your very life essence should your stamina falter at its touch... but, you know, it's also a mace. So if it hits you hard enough, you're going to die regardless of how strong your fortitude is!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:52:49
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Happy Imperial Citizen
|
Haha, yeah, like I said, seems like a silly question. But you know..."rules as written" etc etc. Had to make sure I understood it correctly!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 20:56:13
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
There are two ways the Black Mace causes Toughness tests.
The first way is that models that have taken unsaved wounds from it must take a toughness check.
The second way is if the Black Mace has caused any wounds, at the end of the assault phase all models within 3" must take a toughness check (regardless of if they've taken a wound or not)
The second way is why the Black Mace is good,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/10 22:35:04
Subject: Does the Black Mace wound regardless of toughness test result?
|
 |
Happy Imperial Citizen
|
CrownAxe wrote:at the end of the assault phase all models within 3" must take a toughness check (regardless of if they've taken a wound or not)
That's not completely accurate. The rule states, "...all non-vehicle enemy models within 3" of the bearer, which haven't suffered an unsaved Wound from the Black Mace this Phase, must take a Toughness test." So if a model has taken a Wound from the Black Mace, it does not have to take a second for being within 3" of the bearer.
|
|
 |
 |
|