Switch Theme:

FMC Grounding Checks + Look out Sir  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






So I brought this up in another thread, and their was enough debate I brought it here to YMDC. This is more a question of what really happens and rules interpreation, rather then making the Coldstar some tourney hero. Quickly, for those that don't know the rules for coldstar.. you can check out this image.. http://www.belloflostsouls.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/tau-commander-3.jpg .. notice on the right blurb it states what happens to your drones when you change stance from swooping to gliding and back to swooping.

To build up to the ultimate question of "Can you look out sir a grounding check?" as their is no precedent for this until now; We must first resolve a few other questions that impact this.

It is clear that if you take at least one unsaved wound during the shooting phase, at the end of the phase you take a grounding check. Is the s9 hit resolved before, after or simul of when you actually are dropped to 'swooping'? This question is first neccessary because if the hit is before you are swooping then your drones are not there regardless of the hit.

Look out sir is described by, when a wound is allocated to a model, you may make your LoS attempt. This begs the question "what does wound allocation exactly mean as described by the BRB?" When you suffer an automatic hit or wound, does that fall into the bounds of a wound being allocated to that specific model? If there is a defined difference between allocation and suffers then it would also allow or prevent LoS attempts to be made.


Interpretation For:
Spoiler:

The grounding test puts the model into swooping mode either before or simul to the hit being resolved, which would place Coldstar's drones back on the table in unit coherency. You then suffer automatic s9 hit (no armor or cover saves allowed); As such the model takes a wound, which you would then be able to look out sir, because of the interpretation a model that resolves a to hit result would have been allocated a wound. Comically, you would see the drone dive under Coldstar to soften his landing


Interpretation Against:
Spoiler:

First, the grounding hit is before the model is dropped to swooping mode, therefore the drones are not within the 6" requirement to LoS and nothing else matters then.

Second, suffering an auto hit is not the same as being allocating a wound, and as such the rules for Invul saves say "you may take an invul even if you suffer a wound with no armor or cover saves allowed", so a invul save could be made, but because LoS says "an allocated wound" you would not be able to LoS.


I think i covered all the arguments that I have seen for and against in the spoilers. So.. what is your verdict?

Take a look at my painting blog! Always looking to improve, please feel free to comment with thoughts and advice!

Play TE or FSE, check out my useful guide for New players! 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Technically speaking, Look Out Sir! is only mentioned for Shooting and Assault. This would be the same as trying to LOS! a Dangerous Terrain failure. Just my thoughts on it.

I'll have to review the Grounding rule for timing to check on that portion.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






I agree with the "Against" argument. The key term to me is the word "allocated". I also feel that even if this were not the case, attempting a LoS on a grounding check violates the spirit of the rule.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






 EnTyme wrote:
attempting a LoS on a grounding check violates the spirit of the rule.


We all know what GW would say about the "spirit of the rules though",

Forge the narrative!

Joking aside, I appreciate your comments.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Charistoph wrote:
Technically speaking, Look Out Sir! is only mentioned for Shooting and Assault. This would be the same as trying to LOS! a Dangerous Terrain failure.


That would be another case this would come into play... you are correct there.

My only issue is it is loosely mentioned as being titled as shooting phase and assault... but the rule itself does not actually say it must be done in the shooting and assault phases.. there are other rules that are written under phases that extend outward. Invul saves for example i think first appear under shooting phase.

Just playing devils advocate here..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/11 15:28:41


Take a look at my painting blog! Always looking to improve, please feel free to comment with thoughts and advice!

Play TE or FSE, check out my useful guide for New players! 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Can forging the narrative mean that the boss who is about to hit the ground grabs a goon next to him to use as an inflated air mattress?

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






 timetowaste85 wrote:
Can forging the narrative mean that the boss who is about to hit the ground grabs a goon next to him to use as an inflated air mattress?


Absolutely!

Take a look at my painting blog! Always looking to improve, please feel free to comment with thoughts and advice!

Play TE or FSE, check out my useful guide for New players! 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 timetowaste85 wrote:
Can forging the narrative mean that the boss who is about to hit the ground grabs a goon next to him to use as an inflated air mattress?


Coldsteel grabs a Shield Drone to Shield his fall. One of two things happens, Coldsteel's arms are crushed absorbing the impact, OR Coldsteel's lands on the Shield which does no compress, shattering the entire suit and scattering it to the four winds.

How is that for narrative?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






 Charistoph wrote:
 timetowaste85 wrote:
Can forging the narrative mean that the boss who is about to hit the ground grabs a goon next to him to use as an inflated air mattress?


Coldsteel grabs a Shield Drone to Shield his fall. One of two things happens, Coldsteel's arms are crushed absorbing the impact, OR Coldsteel's lands on the Shield which does no compress, shattering the entire suit and scattering it to the four winds.

How is that for narrative?


40k is a grim dark universe.

Take a look at my painting blog! Always looking to improve, please feel free to comment with thoughts and advice!

Play TE or FSE, check out my useful guide for New players! 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Pro tip: paint your shield drones like this.

More seriously though, I think it seems pretty clear with the context in which the rules are stated that Look Out, Sir is attempted in direct response to being shot or assaulted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/13 01:27:48


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: