Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 12:19:29
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
Title
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 12:24:05
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Why wouldn't it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 12:55:03
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
Because the Rider is different (model and stats wise) from the chariot
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 12:59:21
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I'd say no, it counts as two for the purposes of rampage
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 13:22:29
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Please see 'Chariots' (pg. 86, main rulebook) specifically the second sentence of the first paragraph.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 21:51:34
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
That is half correct. Stats are different, but it is all considered the same model.
Base question on this is which Chariot we are talking about. Most Rider Chariots are set up as an upgrade to an IC, and not just a Rider/Chariot out of the gate.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 22:01:27
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Look at it like this:
It's one model that's got two statlines.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 06:53:48
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Charistoph wrote:
That is half correct. Stats are different, but it is all considered the same model.
Base question on this is which Chariot we are talking about. Most Rider Chariots are set up as an upgrade to an IC, and not just a Rider/Chariot out of the gate.
There aren't any chariots that retain IC when thay turn into a chariot anymore
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 07:02:42
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Please see 'Chariots' ( pg. 86, main rulebook) specifically the second sentence of the first paragraph.
Here is the rule since I guess they didn't want to look it up...
“A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile –
a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot
(see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model. ”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 15:15:37
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
CrownAxe wrote: Charistoph wrote:
That is half correct. Stats are different, but it is all considered the same model.
Base question on this is which Chariot we are talking about. Most Rider Chariots are set up as an upgrade to an IC, and not just a Rider/Chariot out of the gate.
There aren't any chariots that retain IC when thay turn into a chariot anymore
Which has zero bearing on the question at hand or the reason behind my question. The only model that is currently set as a Rider/Chariot from the word go is the Catacomb Command Barge. Santa Grimnar starts as an Infantry model and upgrades to the Chariot. Same for the Daemon Heralds.
The reason for my question is if Rampage came as part of the Infantry ID and then upgraded to the Chariot, or if it was applied after the Chariot unit type was established. If it is the latter, the question then is pointed towards being at the whole model, as it is usually a Formation SR or Warlord Trait. If it is attached to the IC, then unless the bonus states otherwise, it would still apply to the model. However, in some cases some rules are split between Rider and Chariot (Reanimation Protocols and Living Metal, for example).
So, knowing where the Rider/Chariot is coming from is pertinent to the determination and has zero bearing on the lack of retention of IC status when upgraded to a Chariot.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 02:50:26
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:Which has zero bearing on the question at hand or the reason behind my question. The only model that is currently set as a Rider/Chariot from the word go is the Catacomb Command Barge. Santa Grimnar starts as an Infantry model and upgrades to the Chariot. Same for the Daemon Heralds.
This is incorrect. The chariots Slaanesh can purchase--Hellflayers, Seeker Chariots and Exalted Seeker Chariots--have a non-Herald rider that comes standard. Heralds do have the option to get a chariot upgrade, as well, but the base chariot options come with riders.
The reason for my question is if Rampage came as part of the Infantry ID and then upgraded to the Chariot, or if it was applied after the Chariot unit type was established. If it is the latter, the question then is pointed towards being at the whole model, as it is usually a Formation SR or Warlord Trait. If it is attached to the IC, then unless the bonus states otherwise, it would still apply to the model. However, in some cases some rules are split between Rider and Chariot (Reanimation Protocols and Living Metal, for example).
So, knowing where the Rider/Chariot is coming from is pertinent to the determination and has zero bearing on the lack of retention of IC status when upgraded to a Chariot.
For the purposes of Rampage the requirement is to look at the model count. Whether the Chariot is an upgrade or not is moot. The entire construct is one model. If the rules allow the IC to survive and be placed on the board after its chariot is destroyed you're still looking at one model: one with a chariot, one without a chariot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 04:06:51
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Tropic Thunder wrote: Charistoph wrote:Which has zero bearing on the question at hand or the reason behind my question. The only model that is currently set as a Rider/Chariot from the word go is the Catacomb Command Barge. Santa Grimnar starts as an Infantry model and upgrades to the Chariot. Same for the Daemon Heralds.
This is incorrect. The chariots Slaanesh can purchase--Hellflayers, Seeker Chariots and Exalted Seeker Chariots--have a non-Herald rider that comes standard. Heralds do have the option to get a chariot upgrade, as well, but the base chariot options come with riders.
I stand corrected. Daemons are not my standard fair. I had thought that the Chariots that were not rides for Heralds did not have a Rider included. Having reviewed the codex after I read your response, I see you are correct.
Tropic Thunder wrote:The reason for my question is if Rampage came as part of the Infantry ID and then upgraded to the Chariot, or if it was applied after the Chariot unit type was established. If it is the latter, the question then is pointed towards being at the whole model, as it is usually a Formation SR or Warlord Trait. If it is attached to the IC, then unless the bonus states otherwise, it would still apply to the model. However, in some cases some rules are split between Rider and Chariot (Reanimation Protocols and Living Metal, for example).
So, knowing where the Rider/Chariot is coming from is pertinent to the determination and has zero bearing on the lack of retention of IC status when upgraded to a Chariot.
For the purposes of Rampage the requirement is to look at the model count. Whether the Chariot is an upgrade or not is moot. The entire construct is one model. If the rules allow the IC to survive and be placed on the board after its chariot is destroyed you're still looking at one model: one with a chariot, one without a chariot.
Apologies again, I wasn't looking at it from the perspective of activating the rule, but rather who would benefit from it.
As for activating it, yes it would be just one model.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 17:26:46
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:I stand corrected. Daemons are not my standard fair. I had thought that the Chariots that were not rides for Heralds did not have a Rider included. Having reviewed the codex after I read your response, I see you are correct.
No worries on either count. I love me my Slaanesh. With the recent release of Curse of the Wulfen and the new Grand Cavalcade formation, I kinda went wild at my FLGS and bought a bunch of chariots of all kinds. I also pored over all the chariot rules in both the codex and BRB six times over just so I don't screw my rules up when I finally field them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 19:17:13
Subject: Does a Chariot count as a single model for Rampage ect?
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
I saw a dude field the massive slaanesh chariot formation. Went against Tau. I thought he was toast, but Tau couldn't kill them all turn 1 and the dude got an easy turn 2 charge. HoW melted half of everything he charged, it was insane!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|