| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 18:25:33
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
I've got the CSM codex, new Black Legion and Crimson Slaughter supplements
The Black Legion and Crimson Slaughter both state that any CSM detachment or formation can also be a Black Legion (or Crimson Slaughter) formation and can take relics from both.
So, if you choose to do this from both supplements then you could combine relics from all 3 books on one character?
Can't really find anything that would not allow that and want to confirm before making a list with mixed Crimson Slaughter/Black Legion relics.
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 18:48:13
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Does the rule actually say that tho?
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 18:51:25
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Ya thats what it says - I'm at work so can't quote it but I looked it over very thoroughly last night and thats exactly what it says in both. (I can quote when I go home later)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 18:58:39
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So.. how will you go about having VOTLW and not having it at the same time?
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:03:28
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch
|
They both say that "If you wish, you can say that any Chaos Space Marines Detachment or Formation is also a _______________ Detachment or Formation."
However, "Units in [the] Black Legion [...] that have the option to take the Veterans of the Long War rule must do so", while "No units in [the] Crimson Slaughter [...] can have the Veterans of the Long War rule except Khorne Berserkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines."
So, RAW, unless I missed a Chaos Space Marine Character that does not have the VotLW rule either as an option or as part of its Datasheet, there is no character that can fulfill both requirements and also have access to the Artifacts.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/03 20:08:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:51:15
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Ah thanks Avadar for clearing that up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 16:39:43
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
*** I'm an idiot***
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 16:40:19
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 20:24:09
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Judging by the draft faq that just came out, I'm not sure they actually intend for 1 model to take more than one artifact.
Though if this was the case, it wouldn't have been hard to say "either" book instead of "both"
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 05:10:22
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:So.. how will you go about having VOTLW and not having it at the same time?
I suppose you'd be limited to things that come with it (thousand sons, daemon princes, etc), don't have the option (vehicles, cultists, etc) or are cult troopers (zerks, plaguies and noisies).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 05:40:14
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
So you could mix both supplements and the codex relics onto a demon prince it looks like. You just need to put him in a CAD with 2 units of cultists and say he is all 3 at once. Some interesting combos in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 07:03:11
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Crimson slaughter detachments cannot take daemon princes any more.
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 13:40:11
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
It's technically possible but neither of our detachments or formations allow it. You would nee d an army of berzerkers/noise marines /plague marines and the rest would be cultists or some kind of armour and chaos spawn. All our HQs can either take VotLW or have it automatically. All our formations /detachments require some unit that can take VotLW. Well, except Ciphers formation I guess, cuz those chosen can't take VotLW in the dataslate.
So the only way to have all three is to go unbound.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 13:41:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 14:22:41
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Why? It looks like you could just take a CAD with a prince and 2 cultists squads and call it a crimson slaughter detachment. Automatically Appended Next Post: Roknar wrote:It's technically possible but neither of our detachments or formations allow it. You would nee d an army of berzerkers/noise marines /plague marines and the rest would be cultists or some kind of armour and chaos spawn. All our HQs can either take VotLW or have it automatically. All our formations /detachments require some unit that can take VotLW. Well, except Ciphers formation I guess, cuz those chosen can't take VotLW in the dataslate.
So the only way to have all three is to go unbound.
I wouldn't do the whole army - just an allied detachment or CAD with a prince and 2 cultist squads and just give the prince some crazy relic combos from the 2 supplements and the codex combined. Then the other formations/detachments would just be black legion or crimson just not both.
Its pretty much to to make a crazy demon prince.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 14:24:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 14:39:24
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
The FAQ says one relic so it's a no go
|
2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 16:11:19
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
The CSM codex says you can choose 'items' (plural) from the artifacts list which I think is sufficient to fall under the FAQ where it says unless you have permission to take multiple. Also they are not called relics, they are called artifacts.
Also, to make Krannon from the Crimson Slaughter artefacts you have to choose the sword, daemonheart, and the horns. (I know its not justification but just a side note to think of)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 16:38:05
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Roknar wrote:It's technically possible but neither of our detachments or formations allow it. You would nee d an army of berzerkers/noise marines /plague marines and the rest would be cultists or some kind of armour and chaos spawn. All our HQs can either take VotLW or have it automatically. All our formations /detachments require some unit that can take VotLW. Well, except Ciphers formation I guess, cuz those chosen can't take VotLW in the dataslate.
So the only way to have all three is to go unbound.
I think CS are allowed options that come with VOTLW default, they just can't take it where it is optional (zerk/plague/noise aside). IIRC my old version codex specifically talks about having special characters in a CS army.
Note: I don't think it is the intention to be able to double down on supplements, so I wouldn't recommend it, even if it is hypothetically possible.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/09 16:39:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:06:33
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
In the Crimson Slaughter supplement no unit may HAVE the VotLW rule, except for some of the cult units.
A daemon prince already has VotLW stock, so he/she/it may not be taken in a crimson slaughter detachment.
Every Special character already has it too, so you can't take any of those either. CS may only choose from a lord/sorc/warpmsith or Apostle. And each of those MAY take VotLW which prevents you from making them both BL and CS. This means that we can't take any HQ that is both and since only csm detachments/formations can be also be both supplement factions, we can't take a CAD or allied detachment, nor can we use the purge or kharns butcherhorde. The only options for this are the helbrute formations and ciphers formation, which don't gain anyhting at all for being Black Legion.
And that goes for unbound too. It's only interesting for character that can access relics, ie. HQ's. And none can be both due to VotLW, making it a moot point that a cultist can be both.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/09 17:10:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:08:49
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
chaosmarauder wrote:
The CSM codex says you can choose 'items' (plural) from the artifacts list which I think is sufficient to fall under the FAQ where it says unless you have permission to take multiple. Also they are not called relics, they are called artifacts.
Also, to make Krannon from the Crimson Slaughter artefacts you have to choose the sword, daemonheart, and the horns. (I know its not justification but just a side note to think of)
The FAQ says relics are limited to one per eligible character unless otherwise stated, which isn't a necessary thing to say as (to my knowledge) all codexes let you know whether you can take one or more than one. If any codexes weren't explicit in their wording then that should be a codex specific FAQ and not a general one.
The CSM codex says "a model can replace one weapon with one of the following. Only one of each Chaos Artifact can be taken per army". Surely that means that the relic-eligible HQ's are limited to a single artifact?
Where the army list entry for eligible characters says "may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Chaos Rewards, Special Issue Wargear and/or Chaos Artifacts sections of the wargear list" the plural "items" is referring to the multiple sections of the wargear list that the character has access to, it isn't referring to the number of items you can take from those lists. The number of melee and ranged weapons, rewards and artifacts you can take are limited by the wording in their respective parts of the wargear list.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:18:22
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
xlDuke wrote:The FAQ says relics are limited to one per eligible character unless otherwise stated, which isn't a necessary thing to say as (to my knowledge) all codexes let you know whether you can take one or more than one. If any codexes weren't explicit in their wording then that should be a codex specific FAQ and not a general one.
You've not seen the countless discussions then where many claim that the statement "A model may replace one weapon with one of the following..." was actually a ratio and not a set limit and therefore could trade two weapons for two relics and so on and so forth. It was a needed FAQ and applies to multiple codices.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:18:54
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
What I would like clarification on is can a Sorcerer from Crimson Slaughter take both the Balestar of Mannon and the Deamon heart armor, since one is an artifact and the other is wargear?
|
It is the 3rd Millennium. For more than a hundred months Games Workshop has sat immobile on the Golden Throne of Nottingham. It is the foremost of wargames by the will of the neckbeards, and master of a million tabletops by the might of their inexhaustible wallets. It is a rotting carcass writhing invisibly with business strategies from the early Industrial Revolution Age. It is the Carrion Lord of the wargaming scene for whom a thousand veteran players are sacrificed every day, so that it may never truly die. Yet even in its deathless state, GW continues its eternal vigilance. Mighty battleforce starter-sets cross the online-store-infested miasma of the internet, the only route between distant countries, their way lit by a draconian retail trade-agreement, the legal manifestation of the GW's will. Vast armies of lawyers give battle in GW's name on uncounted websites. Greatest amongst its soldiers are the Guardians of the IP, the Legal Team, bio-engineered super-donkey-caves. Their comrades in arms are legion: the writing team and countless untested rulebooks, the ever vigilant redshirts, and the writers of White Dwarf, to name only a few. But for all their multitudes, they are barely enough to hold off the ever-present threat from other games, their own incompetence, Based Chinaman - and worse. To support Games Workshop in such times is to spend untold billions. It is to support the cruelest and most dickish company imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of sales discounts and Warhammer Fantasy Battle, for so much has been dropped, never to be re-published again. Forget the promise of cheaper digital content and caring about the fanbase, for in the GW HQ there is only profit-seeking, Space Marines and Sigmarines. There is no fun amongst the hobby shops, only an eternity of raging and spending, and the laughter of former employees who left GW to join better companies. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:29:34
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Roknar wrote:In the Crimson Slaughter supplement no unit may HAVE the VotLW rule, except for some of the cult units.
A daemon prince already has VotLW stock, so he/she/it may not be taken in a crimson slaughter detachment.
Every Special character already has it too, so you can't take any of those either. CS may only choose from a lord/sorc/warpmsith or Apostle. And each of those MAY take VotLW which prevents you from making them both BL and CS. This means that we can't take any HQ that is both and since only csm detachments/formations can be also be both supplement factions, we can't take a CAD or allied detachment, nor can we use the purge or kharns butcherhorde. The only options for this are the helbrute formations and ciphers formation, which don't gain anyhting at all for being Black Legion.
And that goes for unbound too. It's only interesting for character that can access relics, ie. HQ's. And none can be both due to VotLW, making it a moot point that a cultist can be both.
I don't know why you emphasised the word 'have', in my supplement at least the phrasing is 'the only units that can take the VotLW special rule', which isn't quite the same. I've always interpreted 'take' to mean 'take the option' rather than 'have the special rule' (i.e. so CS detachments could take a unit of thousand sons as they don't have the option to take VOTLW they just have it, which makes sense as the other 3 cult units are allowed (and allowed with votlw). I was actually surprised when it was first pointed out that take could be interpreted differently to how I had read it, but I've stuck with my interpretation. Looking at your flag, perhaps you are using a non-English version which translates take to have?
As to my previous post, it turns out I mis-remembered and it is actually the Black Legion supplement that reminds you there is no restriction against taking the non-black legion characters in a black legion detachment. If you are going with the 'may use non-optional votlw units' interpretation, then there is no reason you couldn't take the special characters in Crimson Slaughter too.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 17:30:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:29:37
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Ghaz wrote:xlDuke wrote:The FAQ says relics are limited to one per eligible character unless otherwise stated, which isn't a necessary thing to say as (to my knowledge) all codexes let you know whether you can take one or more than one. If any codexes weren't explicit in their wording then that should be a codex specific FAQ and not a general one.
You've not seen the countless discussions then where many claim that the statement "A model may replace one weapon with one of the following..." was actually a ratio and not a set limit and therefore could trade two weapons for two relics and so on and so forth. It was a needed FAQ and applies to multiple codices.
I've not seen those discussions and I'm surprised to hear it gets debated, me and my CSM buddy always took it to mean one relic per character. If it's contentious then I hope I haven't caused the thread to go too far off-topic. If it's something that people debated about then this "unless specified otherwise" FAQ won't stop the discussion on the matter because those people who think you can take multiple relics would consider the wording to specify otherwise - which is why I think it would be better handled as codex specific FAQs instead.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/09 17:33:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:34:29
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
There's numerous debates about it here in YMDC if you're so inclined to look.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 17:42:33
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
 will do, thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 19:08:18
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
nareik wrote:Roknar wrote:In the Crimson Slaughter supplement no unit may HAVE the VotLW rule, except for some of the cult units.
A daemon prince already has VotLW stock, so he/she/it may not be taken in a crimson slaughter detachment.
Every Special character already has it too, so you can't take any of those either. CS may only choose from a lord/sorc/warpmsith or Apostle. And each of those MAY take VotLW which prevents you from making them both BL and CS. This means that we can't take any HQ that is both and since only csm detachments/formations can be also be both supplement factions, we can't take a CAD or allied detachment, nor can we use the purge or kharns butcherhorde. The only options for this are the helbrute formations and ciphers formation, which don't gain anyhting at all for being Black Legion.
And that goes for unbound too. It's only interesting for character that can access relics, ie. HQ's. And none can be both due to VotLW, making it a moot point that a cultist can be both.
I don't know why you emphasised the word 'have', in my supplement at least the phrasing is 'the only units that can take the VotLW special rule', which isn't quite the same. I've always interpreted 'take' to mean 'take the option' rather than 'have the special rule' (i.e. so CS detachments could take a unit of thousand sons as they don't have the option to take VOTLW they just have it, which makes sense as the other 3 cult units are allowed (and allowed with votlw). I was actually surprised when it was first pointed out that take could be interpreted differently to how I had read it, but I've stuck with my interpretation. Looking at your flag, perhaps you are using a non-English version which translates take to have?
As to my previous post, it turns out I mis-remembered and it is actually the Black Legion supplement that reminds you there is no restriction against taking the non-black legion characters in a black legion detachment. If you are going with the 'may use non-optional votlw units' interpretation, then there is no reason you couldn't take the special characters in Crimson Slaughter too.
I have the english printed supplement in front of me. They changed the text from the previous run. Before it was:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
When choosing a Crimson Slaughter detachment, the only units that can take the Veterans of the Long War special rule are Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
Now it reads:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
No units in a Crimson Slaughter Detachment or Formation may have the Veterans of the Long War special rule except Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
So with this new release, all special characters are illegal for CS, as is the daemon prince. This is RAW however. They still say that a daemon prince can't take daemonheart for example, which makes no sense since they wouldn't be able to take a daemon prince in the first place. Make of that what you want.
Automatically Appended Next Post: It kinda makes sense that they would do this though, especially with the demon prince. Renegade marines generally don't ascend to daemonhood when they turn traitor. Never understood why Berserkers and friends were allowed to be taken. They don't really fit the crimson slaughter fluff imho. They don't figure in any of the formations either. *shrug*
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 19:13:45
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 19:22:10
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Roknar wrote:
It kinda makes sense that they would do this though, especially with the demon prince. Renegade marines generally don't ascend to daemonhood when they turn traitor. Never understood why Berserkers and friends were allowed to be taken. They don't really fit the crimson slaughter fluff imho. They don't figure in any of the formations either. *shrug*
Because.....the chaos gods are fickle? haha sry had to be said
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 19:26:37
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Roknar wrote:nareik wrote:Roknar wrote:In the Crimson Slaughter supplement no unit may HAVE the VotLW rule, except for some of the cult units.
A daemon prince already has VotLW stock, so he/she/it may not be taken in a crimson slaughter detachment.
Every Special character already has it too, so you can't take any of those either. CS may only choose from a lord/sorc/warpmsith or Apostle. And each of those MAY take VotLW which prevents you from making them both BL and CS. This means that we can't take any HQ that is both and since only csm detachments/formations can be also be both supplement factions, we can't take a CAD or allied detachment, nor can we use the purge or kharns butcherhorde. The only options for this are the helbrute formations and ciphers formation, which don't gain anyhting at all for being Black Legion.
And that goes for unbound too. It's only interesting for character that can access relics, ie. HQ's. And none can be both due to VotLW, making it a moot point that a cultist can be both.
I don't know why you emphasised the word 'have', in my supplement at least the phrasing is 'the only units that can take the VotLW special rule', which isn't quite the same. I've always interpreted 'take' to mean 'take the option' rather than 'have the special rule' (i.e. so CS detachments could take a unit of thousand sons as they don't have the option to take VOTLW they just have it, which makes sense as the other 3 cult units are allowed (and allowed with votlw). I was actually surprised when it was first pointed out that take could be interpreted differently to how I had read it, but I've stuck with my interpretation. Looking at your flag, perhaps you are using a non-English version which translates take to have?
As to my previous post, it turns out I mis-remembered and it is actually the Black Legion supplement that reminds you there is no restriction against taking the non-black legion characters in a black legion detachment. If you are going with the 'may use non-optional votlw units' interpretation, then there is no reason you couldn't take the special characters in Crimson Slaughter too.
I have the english printed supplement in front of me. They changed the text from the previous run. Before it was:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
When choosing a Crimson Slaughter detachment, the only units that can take the Veterans of the Long War special rule are Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
Now it reads:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
No units in a Crimson Slaughter Detachment or Formation may have the Veterans of the Long War special rule except Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
So with this new release, all special characters are illegal for CS, as is the daemon prince. This is RAW however. They still say that a daemon prince can't take daemonheart for example, which makes no sense since they wouldn't be able to take a daemon prince in the first place. Make of that what you want.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
It kinda makes sense that they would do this though, especially with the demon prince. Renegade marines generally don't ascend to daemonhood when they turn traitor. Never understood why Berserkers and friends were allowed to be taken. They don't really fit the crimson slaughter fluff imho. They don't figure in any of the formations either. *shrug*
That is very interesting, thank you for pointing out that change! Definitely one for the FAQ, with that 'not be taken by DPs' contradiction. I assume you can still create daemon princes by upgrading characters through chaos boon rolls?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/09 19:29:23
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/09 19:36:50
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Huh...that's...huh lol. Hadn't thought about that. I imagine that rule only counts towards building your army. I suppose that would just fall under the "fickle chaos gods" rule lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/12 01:37:12
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nareik wrote:Roknar wrote:nareik wrote:Roknar wrote:In the Crimson Slaughter supplement no unit may HAVE the VotLW rule, except for some of the cult units.
A daemon prince already has VotLW stock, so he/she/it may not be taken in a crimson slaughter detachment.
Every Special character already has it too, so you can't take any of those either. CS may only choose from a lord/sorc/warpmsith or Apostle. And each of those MAY take VotLW which prevents you from making them both BL and CS. This means that we can't take any HQ that is both and since only csm detachments/formations can be also be both supplement factions, we can't take a CAD or allied detachment, nor can we use the purge or kharns butcherhorde. The only options for this are the helbrute formations and ciphers formation, which don't gain anyhting at all for being Black Legion.
And that goes for unbound too. It's only interesting for character that can access relics, ie. HQ's. And none can be both due to VotLW, making it a moot point that a cultist can be both.
I don't know why you emphasised the word 'have', in my supplement at least the phrasing is 'the only units that can take the VotLW special rule', which isn't quite the same. I've always interpreted 'take' to mean 'take the option' rather than 'have the special rule' (i.e. so CS detachments could take a unit of thousand sons as they don't have the option to take VOTLW they just have it, which makes sense as the other 3 cult units are allowed (and allowed with votlw). I was actually surprised when it was first pointed out that take could be interpreted differently to how I had read it, but I've stuck with my interpretation. Looking at your flag, perhaps you are using a non-English version which translates take to have?
As to my previous post, it turns out I mis-remembered and it is actually the Black Legion supplement that reminds you there is no restriction against taking the non-black legion characters in a black legion detachment. If you are going with the 'may use non-optional votlw units' interpretation, then there is no reason you couldn't take the special characters in Crimson Slaughter too.
I have the english printed supplement in front of me. They changed the text from the previous run. Before it was:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
When choosing a Crimson Slaughter detachment, the only units that can take the Veterans of the Long War special rule are Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
Now it reads:
RENEGADES OF THE DARK MILLENNIUM
No units in a Crimson Slaughter Detachment or Formation may have the Veterans of the Long War special rule except Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines.
So with this new release, all special characters are illegal for CS, as is the daemon prince. This is RAW however. They still say that a daemon prince can't take daemonheart for example, which makes no sense since they wouldn't be able to take a daemon prince in the first place. Make of that what you want.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
It kinda makes sense that they would do this though, especially with the demon prince. Renegade marines generally don't ascend to daemonhood when they turn traitor. Never understood why Berserkers and friends were allowed to be taken. They don't really fit the crimson slaughter fluff imho. They don't figure in any of the formations either. *shrug*
That is very interesting, thank you for pointing out that change! Definitely one for the FAQ, with that 'not be taken by DPs' contradiction. I assume you can still create daemon princes by upgrading characters through chaos boon rolls?
Lol actually in the book there is literally one line that says (and Im paraphrasing) "oh yeah, so after the crimson slaughter became more renown some khorn beserkers wanted to join"
That is literally the extent of the fluff that mentions khorn beserkers
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/12 02:04:42
Subject: Chaos Marine Supplements - can you be all 3 factions at once?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|