Switch Theme:

40K FAQ first draft posted (ALL CODEX FINAL FAQS added 1/20)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Yarium wrote:
I'm confused as to the answer regarding a Commander with Drones. Used to be fine, because we all thought that special rules transfer over, but then the main FAQ dropped and they said they don't for Independent Characters and the units they join. This FAQ states that if a Commander joined a Drone-Net, he'd also benefit from Split Fire. Can anyone explain this to me, or am I also very confused?

It could mean that they made an error in the previous draft FAQ that was noted in the feedback and wasn't repeated in the Tau FAQ. We'll have to wait until the FAQs go live to find out.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







gungo wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
I see they contradicted themselves again with Tank Shock. Earlier ruling was that Tank Shock cannot remove units, yet with Tau they just ruled that Tank Shock eliminates anchored Stormsurges.

With their writers would get on the same page.

SJ

It's not a contradiction because he storm surge CANT move where the other rulings was because they can move just not in a straight line or within coherency.If a unit can't move away from a tank shock it is still destroyed.
If I tank shock your units in a corner near a building and zone edge with my battlewagon you are still destroyed.


I guess Tau players will likely never anchor that thing as long as a single tank is anywhere near it....a 35 point Rhino suddenly got scary to a GMC!!
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Dallas, TX

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
gungo wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
I see they contradicted themselves again with Tank Shock. Earlier ruling was that Tank Shock cannot remove units, yet with Tau they just ruled that Tank Shock eliminates anchored Stormsurges.

With their writers would get on the same page.

SJ

It's not a contradiction because he storm surge CANT move where the other rulings was because they can move just not in a straight line or within coherency.If a unit can't move away from a tank shock it is still destroyed.
If I tank shock your units in a corner near a building and zone edge with my battlewagon you are still destroyed.


I guess Tau players will likely never anchor that thing as long as a single tank is anywhere near it....a 35 point Rhino suddenly got scary to a GMC!!


Not really, a Rhino is only AV11 in the front, the SS can do 'death or glory' with its highest strength weapon that will auto hit, in this case a virtually auto pen as well against AV11, just a roll on the D table or regular vehicle table, any result of immobilize/wreck/explode will negate the tank shock; on the very few times it gets killed by the Rhino, it will be epic however!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/13 18:28:19


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

The wording of the FAQ makes it seem like Death or Glory is off the table. It's written as a simple if-then that makes it look like Tank Shocking a Stormsurge just kills it.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Jimsolo wrote:
The wording of the FAQ makes it seem like Death or Glory is off the table. It's written as a simple if-then that makes it look like Tank Shocking a Stormsurge just kills it.

Good point but I don't think that's GW intention.
I think you can still death or glory which makes tank shocking with anything other than av13+ is near impossible to kill the Stormsurge with.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

My point is that they went to great detail as to why Tank Shock was never meant to be used to remove models, then they rule the opposite for the Stormsurge, which ignores GMC rules as the Surge should technically only take 1d3 wounds instead of being removed. The issue has always been what happens to the tank, not what happens to the Stormsurge.

Again it's question answered be someone that neither read the actual rules nor the previous FAQ ruling.

SJ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/14 13:07:03


“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 jeffersonian000 wrote:
My point is that they went to great detail as to why Tank Shock was never meant to used to remove models, then they rule tge opposite for the Stormsurge, which ignores GMC rules as the Surge should technically only take 1d3 wounds indtead of being removed.

Again it's question answered be someone that neither read the actual rules nor the previous FAQ ruling.SJ


I can understand this ruling from a rules-design perspective. Essentially, it can't move out of the way, so it takes 1d3 wounds. It's then still there after it's chance at Death or Glory, but the Rhino still has to complete it's move, so it takes another 1d3 wounds. It continues this process over and over again until it is removed as a casualty.

So, while I understand it, I still don't agree with it. I think GMCs should just take the 1d3 wounds, and if they're still present, the vehicle stops 1" away from the GMC. Then again, I think that GMC's and SHW's shouldn't be able to stomp vehicles or monstrous creatures, but that's just me.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




Some weird changes there.. Coordinated Firepower is now officially a meh special rule as far as other similar rules are concerned.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Yarium wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
My point is that they went to great detail as to why Tank Shock was never meant to used to remove models, then they rule tge opposite for the Stormsurge, which ignores GMC rules as the Surge should technically only take 1d3 wounds indtead of being removed.

Again it's question answered be someone that neither read the actual rules nor the previous FAQ ruling.SJ


I can understand this ruling from a rules-design perspective. Essentially, it can't move out of the way, so it takes 1d3 wounds. It's then still there after it's chance at Death or Glory, but the Rhino still has to complete it's move, so it takes another 1d3 wounds. It continues this process over and over again until it is removed as a casualty.

So, while I understand it, I still don't agree with it. I think GMCs should just take the 1d3 wounds, and if they're still present, the vehicle stops 1" away from the GMC. Then again, I think that GMC's and SHW's shouldn't be able to stomp vehicles or monstrous creatures, but that's just me.

There are no infinite loops in 40k, as each effect is only ever applied once unless otherwise noted. GMCs have a rule for when models are removed, to which Tank Shock does not have an overriding counter. The only issue was where does the tank stop moving, not where does the Stormsurge get moved to if it can't be moved. GW has answered poorly.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 jeffersonian000 wrote:
There are no infinite loops in 40k, as each effect is only ever applied once unless otherwise noted. GMCs have a rule for when models are removed, to which Tank Shock does not have an overriding counter. The only issue was where does the tank stop moving, not where does the Stormsurge get moved to if it can't be moved. GW has answered poorly.

SJ


Well, I believe that GW intends that "pathing" is a thing, even though by RAW it isn't. In a path there would be an infinite number of points that the vehicle travels along. If ever one of those points meets another model or vehicle, a Tank Shock or Ram occurs. Normally this would result in either the vehicle ending its move at that point, or the tank shock being successful and moving the target out of the way. What we have is a spot where the tank shock is successful, so the vehicle continues its move, but the model is still there. Therefore, at the next possible point of interaction (which would be an infinitely small distance of travel), another Tank Shock or Ram occurs.

Now, since thins isn't covered in the rules in regards to GMC's, and there are no rules on pathing, this can only be assumed to exist (can't be proven, so definitely not RAW), but having a model that's completely immobilized in place be instantly slain by a Tank Shock would fit with this view, otherwise a different answer that's actually based on the rules would have to be presented.

Of course, as I said before, the real answer should just be the take 1d3 and stop 1" away if it's not killed, but that's definitely not the rule and would be an errata... which, again, is what they just should have done.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler






I think another question would tank shock destroy other immobile vehicles? It seems that the answer might be yes, but it doesn't seem likely.

"Because the Wolves kill cleanly, and we do not. They also kill quickly, and we have never done that, either. They fight, they win, and they stalk back to their ships with their tails held high. If they were ever ordered to destroy another Legion, they would do it by hurling warrior against warrior, seeking to grind their enemies down with the admirable delusions of the 'noble savage'. If we were ever ordered to assault another Legion, we would virus bomb their recruitment worlds; slaughter their serfs and slaves; poison their gene-seed repositories and spend the next dozen decades watching them die slow, humiliating deaths. Night after night, raid after raid, we'd overwhelm stragglers from their fleets and bleach their skulls to hang from our armour, until none remained. But that isn't the quick execution the Emperor needs, is it? The Wolves go for the throat. We go for the eyes. Then the tongue. Then the hands. Then the feet. Then we skin the crippled remains, and offer it up as an example to any still bearing witness. The Wolves were warriors before they became soldiers. We were murderers first, last, and always!" —Jago Sevatarion

DR:80SGMB--I--Pw40k01#-D++++A+/fWD-R++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Lord Blackscale wrote:
I think another question would tank shock destroy other immobile vehicles? It seems that the answer might be yes, but it doesn't seem likely.

Technically speaking, you cannot Tank Shock a Vehicle. Ramming uses a different process of resolution.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler






 Charistoph wrote:
 Lord Blackscale wrote:
I think another question would tank shock destroy other immobile vehicles? It seems that the answer might be yes, but it doesn't seem likely.

Technically speaking, you cannot Tank Shock a Vehicle. Ramming uses a different process of resolution.


True. That had slipped my mind. Never mind.

"Because the Wolves kill cleanly, and we do not. They also kill quickly, and we have never done that, either. They fight, they win, and they stalk back to their ships with their tails held high. If they were ever ordered to destroy another Legion, they would do it by hurling warrior against warrior, seeking to grind their enemies down with the admirable delusions of the 'noble savage'. If we were ever ordered to assault another Legion, we would virus bomb their recruitment worlds; slaughter their serfs and slaves; poison their gene-seed repositories and spend the next dozen decades watching them die slow, humiliating deaths. Night after night, raid after raid, we'd overwhelm stragglers from their fleets and bleach their skulls to hang from our armour, until none remained. But that isn't the quick execution the Emperor needs, is it? The Wolves go for the throat. We go for the eyes. Then the tongue. Then the hands. Then the feet. Then we skin the crippled remains, and offer it up as an example to any still bearing witness. The Wolves were warriors before they became soldiers. We were murderers first, last, and always!" —Jago Sevatarion

DR:80SGMB--I--Pw40k01#-D++++A+/fWD-R++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




For those who want to avoid FaceBook

you can download a PDF version of the BRB FAQ here

http://www.spikeybits.com/download/gw-first-draft-faq
   
Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Tank Shick should destroy those Tyranid spore thingies, no?
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

What about units under the effects of the Dominate special power? If I cast Dominate on an MC or GMC and tank shock them in my next movement phase while the power is still in effect, and they fail the leadership test to move out of the way, are they destroyed as well?
   
Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





RNAS Rockall

Bojazz wrote:
What about units under the effects of the Dominate special power? If I cast Dominate on an MC or GMC and tank shock them in my next movement phase while the power is still in effect, and they fail the leadership test to move out of the way, are they destroyed as well?


No, MC's would die, GMCs take 1d3 wounds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/19 10:48:12


Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement.  
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight







Not necessarily, dominate doesn't affect special movement such as JSJ or flatout. I doubt it effects Fall Back either.

 SHUPPET wrote:

wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




 Quickjager wrote:
Not necessarily, dominate doesn't affect special movement such as JSJ or flatout. I doubt it effects Fall Back either.


is there a raw for that?
why is that? isnt any kind of moving your model an "attempt to move" as in the ruling for Dominate?
where is "special movement" clarified in the brb?
dont mean to disagree, just courious.

would make sense to not make "a ls test to see if you must take a ls test", but then again....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/19 16:20:36


 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight







That's because it specifies move with a capital, which is referring to move phase,. It then specifies every action that triggers it, which Fall Back isn't one of.

 SHUPPET wrote:

wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Quickjager wrote:
That's because it specifies move with a capital, which is referring to move phase,. It then specifies every action that triggers it, which Fall Back isn't one of.

Uh, 'move' is not capitalized in the 'Dominate' rule in the printed rulebook.

Whilst the power is in effect, the target unit must pass a Leadership test each time it attempts to move, manifest a psychic power, shoot, Run or declare a charge...

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





 Ghaz wrote:
 Quickjager wrote:
That's because it specifies move with a capital, which is referring to move phase,. It then specifies every action that triggers it, which Fall Back isn't one of.

Uh, 'move' is not capitalized in the 'Dominate' rule in the printed rulebook.

Whilst the power is in effect, the target unit must pass a Leadership test each time it attempts to move, manifest a psychic power, shoot, Run or declare a charge...

Just to suggest a HIWPI due to that reading is that it wouldn't affect fallback moves or JSJ. The reason I say this is because it both states move, along with run or declare a charge. If it was all movement, it wouldn't need to specify more forms of it, or a limited number of them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/19 19:25:50


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Ghaz wrote:
 Quickjager wrote:
That's because it specifies move with a capital, which is referring to move phase,. It then specifies every action that triggers it, which Fall Back isn't one of.

Uh, 'move' is not capitalized in the 'Dominate' rule in the printed rulebook.

Whilst the power is in effect, the target unit must pass a Leadership test each time it attempts to move, manifest a psychic power, shoot, Run or declare a charge...

To be fair, GW doesn't capitalize a lot of things like rules and wargear, unfortunately.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




it really reads "Run". with a capital R.
O.O

so its either only "regular" shooting, moving, running etc., which affects only the actions in the oppositions turn.

or, how i read it, every form of said actions(like overwatch, thrust moves, interceptor, falling back etc) until its my psy-phase again.

the "Run" would then be a special case, that would exclude all other forms of running(but turboboosting still is a Run?).
i would agree on flatout not beeing affected, it is not a "run", and also things that can go flatout usually dont have a ls.

I want new rules, with someone professional editing the texts!!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/07/19 20:04:06


 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight







 Ghaz wrote:
 Quickjager wrote:
That's because it specifies move with a capital, which is referring to move phase,. It then specifies every action that triggers it, which Fall Back isn't one of.

Uh, 'move' is not capitalized in the 'Dominate' rule in the printed rulebook.

Whilst the power is in effect, the target unit must pass a Leadership test each time it attempts to move, manifest a psychic power, shoot, Run or declare a charge...


Really? On my psychic cards I could have sworn each action was capitalized... could someone look at theirs.

 SHUPPET wrote:

wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So, new FAQ today right? I'm hoping for Necrons. Not that there is a lot to wonder about but there are a few things I think are a little shaky they might weigh in on.

Like for instance, a RP unit in a decurion with cryptek who is hit by something with ID. Is the RP a 5+ or a 4+? I've seen it argued for both and I personally fall on the 4+ side of the things. But I would hope for an official ruling on that.

I'm also curious about if they will talk about the solar staff solar pulse and scattered blasts. In one of the previous FAQs they said that a scattered blast that falls on an unintended unit still counts as targeting that unit. The solar pulse says that anything targeting the unit has to fire snap shots. Since you can't blast on a snapshot does that mean the blast just does nothing? This is something that seemed pretty straightforward before. You can't center a blast on them but it could scatter on them. But, ironically, after the FAQ it is much less clear :(
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Qlanth wrote:
So, new FAQ today right? I'm hoping for Necrons. Not that there is a lot to wonder about but there are a few things I think are a little shaky they might weigh in on.

Like for instance, a RP unit in a decurion with cryptek who is hit by something with ID. Is the RP a 5+ or a 4+? I've seen it argued for both and I personally fall on the 4+ side of the things. But I would hope for an official ruling on that.

I'm also curious about if they will talk about the solar staff solar pulse and scattered blasts. In one of the previous FAQs they said that a scattered blast that falls on an unintended unit still counts as targeting that unit. The solar pulse says that anything targeting the unit has to fire snap shots. Since you can't blast on a snapshot does that mean the blast just does nothing? This is something that seemed pretty straightforward before. You can't center a blast on them but it could scatter on them. But, ironically, after the FAQ it is much less clear :(


Yup, should be a new one today. Looking forward to it! Recently it's be the Xenos forces, so Tyranid or Necrons seem likely.

I've always argued that it was a 4+ in that situation as well. I figured that the "caps at 4+" is something that applies to the total, not the specific. So, if you're increasing it to a 3+, too bad, the best you get is a 4+. In this way, it doesn't matter what order the bonuses are applied in. The only argument for it being a 5+ in that situation would be if the "caps at 4+" was applied after each and every modifier so that the order does matter. In that situation, whomever's turn it is would choose if it was a 4+ or a 5+. However, that, to me, seems out of whack.

As for the blast thing, the blast has already been fired by the time it scatters into your unit with the active solar staff. There'd be no "going back in time" to re-check it. The only time where they wouldn't be able to fire it is if, before scatter, the template would cover any model from the unit with the active Solar Staff (even if that unit wasn't targeted). At least, from the FAQ, that's my interpretation. The FAQ seems to make it that clipping someone with a blast on purpose still counts as targeting them, and if a blast scatters the unit can respond just as if they had been targeted, but that by that point the scatter has already happened.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I thought they ruled that scattered blasts did NOT count as targeting, however initial placement does.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
I thought they ruled that scattered blasts did NOT count as targeting, however initial placement does.


Yeah, I was paraphrasing. They ruled that if a blast scatters into a unit, that unit can STILL jink the attack just as if it had targeted them.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Scatters on to a skimmer. Not just any unit (rule book FAQ draft, jink section)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: