Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 08:47:17
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
I was playing a game where I had fully surrounded a ghost ark in cc and destroyed it. His warriors then got out more than an inch away from me and then the game ended. He won with two objectives. :(
My only queery was that he didn't have the small base for the ark with him so I surrounded his hull rather than his base, if he had had his base would I have measured to and subsiquently surrounded that instead?
It doesn't make any difference to the result of the game I just want to know for future reference.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/07 08:56:49
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 10:10:43
Subject: Re:When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
See "Vehicles & Measuring Distances" on page 72 and "Skimmers and Measuring" on page 89 of the rulebook:
With vehicles, most distances are measured to the hull, so when you charge them, models move into "base" contact with the hull. This also means he can disembark from any point on the hull (as a Ghost Arc is open-topped), meaning you'd have to surround the entire thing to wipe out a unit inside when it's wrecked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 10:33:33
Subject: Re:When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
Quanar wrote:See "Vehicles & Measuring Distances" on page 72 and "Skimmers and Measuring" on page 89 of the rulebook:
With vehicles, most distances are measured to the hull, so when you charge them, models move into "base" contact with the hull. This also means he can disembark from any point on the hull (as a Ghost Arc is open-topped), meaning you'd have to surround the entire thing to wipe out a unit inside when it's wrecked.
Thank you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 14:16:27
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Since the hull is significantly larger than the skimmer base, you would measure to the hull on a GA.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 14:45:24
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
EnTyme wrote:Since the hull is significantly larger than the skimmer base, you would measure to the hull on a GA.
But do I treat its base as where I charge to? For instance do I surround the GA base ir do I surround the GA hull?
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 16:31:46
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
Little Rock, Arkansas
|
mrhappyface wrote: EnTyme wrote:Since the hull is significantly larger than the skimmer base, you would measure to the hull on a GA.
But do I treat its base as where I charge to? For instance do I surround the GA base ir do I surround the GA hull?
As it follows vehicle rules, the hull. Communicate with the necron player and clarify that your intent is to get in contact with the hull. You could ask him to temporarily remove the skimmer stand or just agree with you that the dudes are in hull contact. Declaration of intent solves a lot of issues.
Also if you did completely surround the ark, admittedly difficult thanks to its size, and wrecked it, the warrior squad would be dead, as they have to pile out by starting in base contact with the hull, and the vehicle only becomes a wreck after the pile out.
|
20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 17:04:19
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
niv-mizzet wrote:
Also if you did completely surround the ark, admittedly difficult thanks to its size, and wrecked it, the warrior squad would be dead, as they have to pile out by starting in base contact with the hull, and the vehicle only becomes a wreck after the pile out.
I exploded his GA so there was a dispute on whether or not his warriors could be placed without being destroyed by being within an inch of me.
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 17:14:54
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
HIWPI = Hull
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 17:22:01
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
Little Rock, Arkansas
|
mrhappyface wrote: niv-mizzet wrote:
Also if you did completely surround the ark, admittedly difficult thanks to its size, and wrecked it, the warrior squad would be dead, as they have to pile out by starting in base contact with the hull, and the vehicle only becomes a wreck after the pile out.
I exploded his GA so there was a dispute on whether or not his warriors could be placed without being destroyed by being within an inch of me.
Unfortunate that you exploded it yes, as the size of the ark gives him a decent amount of room to place guys. He does have to be 1" away still, so if he still had the full 10 warriors, I'd assume offhand that they would die if the ark was totally surrounded. If he disagreed I'd ask him to place all 10 in the opening while being 1" away from all my guys carefully (so as not to bump models.) This is unfortunately a moment where millimeters would matter and you may want to get a 3rd person to watch, or a judge in an event.
|
20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 18:09:44
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
He couldn't place all of the warriors however, because of rule wording, the entire unit isn't destroyed: only the ones who couldn't be placed.
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/07 19:31:49
Subject: When charging a ghost ark do you measure from the hull or the base?
|
 |
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice
|
mrhappyface wrote:He couldn't place all of the warriors however, because of rule wording, the entire unit isn't destroyed: only the ones who couldn't be placed.
This is 100% correct, any models that can't be placed are destroyed. I'd also note that unfortunately this is a circumstance where the difference between 32mm and 25mm bases makes a massive impact. You can't place 32mm bases with an inch to either side off the top of my head. Please note that it is perfectly legal for him to have them on 25mm bases, i just wanted to point out the unfortunate albeit unlikely situation the different base sizes can create.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|