Switch Theme:

DA FAQ: IC's in DWSF  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






So with the new ruling IC's without Terminator Armour may be taken in the DWSF, but not deploy via Deep Strike.
So far, so good. They even say they can embark on a dedicated transport another unit bought. Fine.

But what happens if Ezekiel joins a unit of Deathwing Knights during deployment?
First option, the Detachment forces the Deathwing Knights into Deep Strike reservers and Ezekiel into reserves.
So... we have a IC that is not in the unit he is supposed to be - can he join a unit at all with that forced split?
Does this consequently mean he cannot embark on the Land Raider since he is not part of the unit that bought the LR in the first place?

Second option, if Ezekiel DOES manage to join the Knights, do they still have to arrive via DS? The unit now contains a model that is not able to deploy via DS and therefore has to enter reserves - which would solve the conflict and allow Ezekiel and the Knights to embark on the LR and enter the game on turn 2 (as useless as that is without outflank... 12" in on T2 for an assault unit... yes.)

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




The second option is most likely to take precedence. As you say all models in a unit must have the deep strike rule to enter deep strike reserves. Placing an IC in there overrides that. I'm overjoyed about this as it means I can finally take some land raiders for my deathwing without going CAD
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You join the unit THEN you have to declare how they will arrive from reserves. You cannot declare "deepstirke" as you have not met the requirements to do so.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You join the unit THEN you have to declare how they will arrive from reserves. You cannot declare "deepstirke" as you have not met the requirements to do so.
I think I am in agreement, but I want to make sure we are on the same page. If a non-Deep Strike unit(for example, Ezekiel) joins a unit of Terminators that have taken a Land Raider Crusader as a Dedicated Transport, Ezekiel and the Terminators cannot Deep Strike since Ezekiel does not have the Deep Strike rule, but they could walk on from Reserves or embark on the Land Raider Crusader and drive on from Reserves.

Am I correct in this?

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Thats my understanding , yes.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Thats my understanding , yes.
Good. Deathwing Land Raiders are back! Sorta. They can't come in turn one. And they are only visually different from regular Land Raiders. But they're back!

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




More importantly the way I'm reading this. This means that I can now take my company master in terminator armor from the Demi company and deploy him with belials command squad.

It's exactly like I kept saying before. He has the Deathwing rule and with terminator armor CAN deploy with the Deathwing formation.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

Wagz86 wrote:
More importantly the way I'm reading this. This means that I can now take my company master in terminator armor from the Demi company and deploy him with belials command squad.

It's exactly like I kept saying before. He has the Deathwing rule and with terminator armor CAN deploy with the Deathwing formation.
He wouldn't benefit from the DW formation's special rules, so you would still have to roll for reserves with him.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Alright, I guess that settles it then.
However I see zero sense in having a Land Raider with a unit best in Assault arrive in Turn 2 the earliest from your deployment zone.. A normally deployed LR at that point has a 24-36" movement advantage due to deployment zone and another movement phase.
Unless your enemy is friendly enough to come to you or deep strike something in your deployment zone...

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 casvalremdeikun wrote:
Wagz86 wrote:
More importantly the way I'm reading this. This means that I can now take my company master in terminator armor from the Demi company and deploy him with belials command squad.

It's exactly like I kept saying before. He has the Deathwing rule and with terminator armor CAN deploy with the Deathwing formation.
He wouldn't benefit from the DW formation's special rules, so you would still have to roll for reserves with him.


The inner circle isn't apart of Deathwing formation either. Yet the faq states they can deploy with them if they have the Deathwing rule and can physically deploy with them as in terminator armor. So I take that to mean that a company master with the Demi company(also available in the inner circle for posterity) with terminator armor can deploy with the Deathwing formation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
It only says they have to placed in normal reserve if they DONT have the deep strike special rule. Which he would if he is in terminator armor. Which he is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/23 14:40:34


 
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Yes, but IC's do not gain the benefits from formations they are attached to, but not part off. That was clarified in the FAQ's released so far.
So you cannot choose to let him automatically DS on Turn 2, but need to roll separately for him - which would possibly split him off the unit again.

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




...which you have no permission to do. You cannot make a seperate roll as their is only a single unit, and he canot leave the unit until the follwing movement phase as he has no permission to do so.

Meaning you lose the auto turn up for the terminators, I would say.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

nosferatu1001 wrote:
...which you have no permission to do. You cannot make a seperate roll as their is only a single unit, and he canot leave the unit until the follwing movement phase as he has no permission to do so.

Meaning you lose the auto turn up for the terminators, I would say.
That was my point. The game doesn't cover one of these situations. I agree, the Terminators should lose the ability.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 casvalremdeikun wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
...which you have no permission to do. You cannot make a seperate roll as their is only a single unit, and he canot leave the unit until the follwing movement phase as he has no permission to do so.

Meaning you lose the auto turn up for the terminators, I would say.
That was my point. The game doesn't cover one of these situations. I agree, the Terminators should lose the ability.


By that logic than the inner circle would also lose the ability. Which they don't. So neithe Will a terminator from the demo company deployed with the Deathwing.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

The draft FAQ ruling on how ICs interact with formations is contradictory and goes again the IC rules covering applied effects. As such, there are now several problems with how the rules use to work versus how they want us to use the rules now. As GW is taking feedback on their FB page, it behooves each if us to post these interaction conflicts on the FB page, so we can have the conflict addressed. In the case of the new draft FAQ, YMDC is not the proper forum.

Once the FAQ is finalized, YMDC will be more necessary that it ever has been!

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: