| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 02:02:02
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
If a player is playing daemons but he has a unit that is a come to the apocalypse ally trying to create a daemon unit is the conjured unit scoring?
Example:A Chaos Daemon CAD with a small allied detachment of Imperials who conjured some daemons is the new unit scoring?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/07/12 15:38:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 02:06:37
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Armageddon
|
Yes they CAN score but they are not objective secured units because they aren't part of a CAD or formation. (I'm 99.5% sure I'm not a complete idiot here)
|
"People say on their first meeting a Man and an Ork exchanged a long, hard look, didn't care much for what they saw, and shot each other dead." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 03:12:27
Subject: Re:Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
The allies table tells us how units of different Factions interract in the same army - it doesn't tell us how they interract with the player. The summoned daemons are not enemy unit to the player controlling them.
If two units from the same army are both within 3" of an objective, and they are CtA allies with each other, they will contest the objective and neither counts as holding it. But if either one of those units is on it's own, it will controll that objective (unless it is one of the four things specifically dissallowed from scoring).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 12:47:34
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As mentioned, nothing prevents it from scoring. The only gray area is whether it counts as part of a detachment or not. The BRB states that all units must have a battlefield roles and be part of a detachment, or else be unbound. So do conjured unit count as part of the Psyker's detachment? Do they make the army Unbound? Are Conjured units that are troops count as ObSec in detachments that have that command benefit? And this situation can only happen with Imperials, since Eldar can no longer cast Malefic. The BRB says every army has access to Daemonology, and the recent Eldar codex specifies Sanctic. That means that Imperials are the only faction that is CtA with Daemons and has Psykers.(of course this assumes that you aren't using Allies or Eldar Corsairs) --
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/12 12:48:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 14:47:41
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Why are you referencing rules relatuing to building an army during game?
This isnt a grey area. Conjured untis are not part of a detachment. End of.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 15:36:11
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
So do daemons conjured by Imperials count as scoring if you are using Chaos Daemons?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 15:39:53
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
CKO wrote:So do daemons conjured by Imperials count as scoring if you are using Chaos Daemons?
Daemons conjured by anyone counts as scoring, no matter who summons them or what army you field. Always.
They just don't get command benefits (such as ObSec) from your detachment
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/12 15:40:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 16:19:17
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
CKO wrote:So do daemons conjured by Imperials count as scoring if you are using Chaos Daemons?
Again, everything in 7th edition "scores" objectives, barring the specific exceptions unambiguously noted in the rulebook.
What they dont have is "Objective secured" rule, because they canot be part of any detachment that would grant such a rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 16:21:34
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Do the daemons summon have the one eye open rule?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 16:44:59
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
CKO wrote:Do the daemons summon have the one eye open rule?
They still have the Chaos Daemons Faction, regardless of who summoned them (they're probably not happy about being bossed about by Imperials) and will follow the standard rules for interactions with other Factions shown in the allies rules.
If you have an army containing Imperial psykers summoning Daemons, but also have Chaos Daemons as part of your army, the summoned Daemons will be Battle Brothers with the Daemons you started the game with, but CtA with the psykers that summoned them.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/12 16:46:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 17:12:12
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Which then leads to the issue of deploying them. CtA Allies cannot be deployed within the range that Demonology Conjuring provides.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 18:02:51
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Charistoph wrote:Which then leads to the issue of deploying them. CtA Allies cannot be deployed within the range that Demonology Conjuring provides.
Which then will lead to a discussion about how CtA "deploying" refers to what is done before turn 1 with the models you paid for in your army roster, i.e. Deployment. Conjured units are "deployed" via the deep strike rules. "Common sense" tells you what the difference is, but alas "common sense" is often no so common, or not enough for some people. Better stick with summoning Daemons with Daemon Psykers (or CSMs)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/12 18:03:30
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 20:24:44
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Galef wrote: Charistoph wrote:Which then leads to the issue of deploying them. CtA Allies cannot be deployed within the range that Demonology Conjuring provides.
Which then will lead to a discussion about how CtA "deploying" refers to what is done before turn 1 with the models you paid for in your army roster, i.e. Deployment. Conjured units are "deployed" via the deep strike rules. "Common sense" tells you what the difference is, but alas "common sense" is often no so common, or not enough for some people.
Better stick with summoning Daemons with Daemon Psykers (or CSMs)
To which I respond that if "deploys" only happens before Turn 1, then you cannot Arrive From Reserves, including Outflank and Deep Strike, since units "deploy" when they Arrive From Reserves.
But yeah, Daemons and Conjuring is usually best left to someone without Apocalypse relations to the Conjurees for precisely that reason.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 23:12:25
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Back the other way in the whole scoring thing, do they still count with regards to kill points?
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/12 23:47:15
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Why wouldn't they?
Again they're just a unit without a detachment. Nothing else has changed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/13 11:21:00
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
None of them have any special rules like Fen Wolves are 'Never scoring units'?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/13 11:21:33
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/13 12:24:20
Subject: Conjured Units and Scoring
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Again: all that has changed is that they are a unit without a detachment
They have no detachment. There is no other change to the basic rules. NOTHING
All special rules they have on their dataslate, they still have. Because that isnt a detachment rule.
You might as well ask if they are still infantry, cavalry or similar.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|