Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/24 22:49:56
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
As far as I know from the recent FAQ draft, they explicitly said that models are only allowed one relic each, unless explicitly stated otherwise. In the new revised version of the WG! supplement, it says that an Ork unit with access to Gifts of Gork and Mork can take a relic from Orkimedes' Gubbinz in addition (rather than OR) to the usual quota from the codex. I'm guessing this means it allows both one relic from the main codex and one from WG! on one character.
The reason I ask this is because of the Green Tide formation. Unfortunately, this was inexplicably excluded from the revised supplement but the recent Ork FAQ says that it's still legal to use as a dataslate. Would the revised version of WG! regarding relics still apply on the character for the Green Tide formation since it is technically still part of the WG! supplement or is it restricted to the old wording from the old WG! book where the characters are only restricted to the WG! relics? I'm list building a Green Tide list and it'd be hell of a lot easier if the Green Tide Warboss could take both the lucky stikk and the big bosspole together rather than having to buy a Big Mek to tag along with the Tide as a relic caddy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/24 23:25:46
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No it does not mean that. It mean you can take from either lost. It dies not mean you can break the FAQ wgichh only allows one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/25 03:19:33
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No it does not mean that. It mean you can take from either lost. It dies not mean you can break the FAQ wgichh only allows one.
Hm, looks like I misread that clause now that I've looked it over again. Ah well, I guess I'll throw a PK on the Big Mek to get some more oomph out of the Lucky Stikk.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 12:41:20
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No it does not mean that. It mean you can take from either lost. It dies not mean you can break the FAQ wgichh only allows one.
It's not breaking the FAQ, the new W!G supplement explicitly says we can take from Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz "in addition to" Gifts of Gork and Mork - perfectly in line with the one relic unless stated otherwise FAQ.
As for using the Greentide formation I would discuss with your group whether to use the old W!G rules or the new ones but to be on the safe side I would assume you should use the old rules as that's the publication the Greentide appeared in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 13:35:36
Subject: Re:Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz: Any units from a detatchment or formation presented in this book that can select Gifts of Gork and Mork can select an item from Orkimedes; Kustom Gubbinz, presented opposite, at the point cost shown, in addition to the gifts of Gork and Mork from Codex Orks.
This simply gives those with access to the Gifts of Gork and Mork access to Orkimedes Kustom Gubbinz as well. It does not contradict the FAQ that limits the model to one Relic.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 13:40:32
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
xlDuke wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No it does not mean that. It mean you can take from either lost. It dies not mean you can break the FAQ wgichh only allows one.
It's not breaking the FAQ, the new W!G supplement explicitly says we can take from Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz "in addition to" Gifts of Gork and Mork - perfectly in line with the one relic unless stated otherwise FAQ.
As for using the Greentide formation I would discuss with your group whether to use the old W!G rules or the new ones but to be on the safe side I would assume you should use the old rules as that's the publication the Greentide appeared in.
Incorrect.
The rule allows you to take relics from both lists. It does not allow you to take more than one relic on the same model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:04:21
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Ghaz wrote:Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz: Any units from a detatchment or formation presented in this book that can select Gifts of Gork and Mork can select an item from Orkimedes; Kustom Gubbinz, presented opposite, at the point cost shown, in addition to the gifts of Gork and Mork from Codex Orks.
This simply gives those with access to the Gifts of Gork and Mork access to Orkimedes Kustom Gubbinz as well. It does not contradict the FAQ that limits the model to one Relic.
Thanks for posting the rule directly I didn't have my book to hand earlier but I do now. I still stand by my earlier comment, the rule really seems to me to allow one of each and not one or the other.
"...can select an item from Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz, presented opposite, at the points cost shown, in addition to the Gifts of Gork and Mork"
nosferatu1001 wrote:xlDuke wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No it does not mean that. It mean you can take from either lost. It dies not mean you can break the FAQ wgichh only allows one.
It's not breaking the FAQ, the new W!G supplement explicitly says we can take from Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz "in addition to" Gifts of Gork and Mork - perfectly in line with the one relic unless stated otherwise FAQ.
As for using the Greentide formation I would discuss with your group whether to use the old W!G rules or the new ones but to be on the safe side I would assume you should use the old rules as that's the publication the Greentide appeared in.
Incorrect.
The rule allows you to take relics from both lists. It does not allow you to take more than one relic on the same model.
I'm not convinced. I'm told I can select an item from Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz as well as Gifts of Gork and Mork, it doesn't say "or", it says " in addition to".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:07:14
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. The passage in question only allows you to select from the Gifts of Gork and Mork as well as Orkimedes Kustom Gubbinz. It does not allow you to ignore the ruling that allows a model to only take one Relic.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:21:06
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
In my mind it does explicitly allow us to take one relic from OKG and GoGaM. I can select an item from OKG in addition to GoGaM. Surely this meets the FAQ requirement for "unless otherwise stated". We're reading the same words and coming to different conclusions on the meaning. I can understand how you came to your conclusion and I hope you can understand how I came to mine.
I've already discussed with my opponents how we'll play the rule and others are entitled to play it differently, I was simply adding in my counterpoint to the topic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:27:12
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Again, giving permission to select items from list A and list B does not change how many items may be selected.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:39:15
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Does it not? I can select an item from one list "in addition to" another list. That's multiple items. It's not saying I can take an item from one or the other; it's saying (in my opinion) I can take an item from one list as well as the other list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 17:55:58
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No it doesn't. All it does is allow use of list A and list B. Nothing more.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/26 17:57:21
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 18:00:43
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
I'll have to disagree with you still but I respect your stance, at this point I'm not sure I really have much other than that to add.
Peace
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 19:03:54
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
xlDuke wrote:Does it not? I can select an item from one list "in addition to" another list. That's multiple items. It's not saying I can take an item from one or the other; it's saying (in my opinion) I can take an item from one list as well as the other list.
This stance basically means that any faction with a supplement can have a model with more than one relic, simply based on the existence of the supplement. Because supplements (except the rare one that explicitly disallows using codex relics) use the same wording to tell you that you can pick a relic from the supplement list as well as the codex list. Using this logic, space marines with new artifact lists in Angels of Death can have more than one relic, while space marine chapters that are only in the codex can have only one relic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 19:15:24
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
I can't claim to have any knowledge of other supplements because I don't own them but if they were worded exactly the same then I would play the rues in exactly the same way, whether it's SM or not. If you're right and that is indeed the case perhaps the idea was to give a relic 'bonus' to those that bought the supplements as an incentive of sorts. That's speculation of course but disparity between what some factions get compared to others is hardly a new revelation.
Which codex or supplement states that you can take multiple relics and how are they worded? Is there is a different convention of phrasing in those places?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0018/11/09 19:16:59
Subject: Re:Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
1 relic per guy. You just have access to both list.
|
Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/26 19:21:01
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
xlDuke wrote:I can't claim to have any knowledge of other supplements because I don't own them but if they were worded exactly the same then I would play the rues in exactly the same way, whether it's SM or not. If you're right and that is indeed the case perhaps the idea was to give a relic 'bonus' to those that bought the supplements as an incentive of sorts. That's speculation of course but disparity between what some factions get compared to others is hardly a new revelation.
Which codex or supplement states that you can take multiple relics and how are they worded? Is there is a different convention of phrasing in those places?
With the exception of a single codex, every codex says either "May take one relic from the following list:" or "May exchange one weapon for one item on the following list:" (or something similar).
The sole exception (as of right now, without having seen the Deathwatch or Genestealer Cult codex), is Tyranids "May exchange any pair of Scything Talons for a relic".
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/30 22:37:59
Subject: Number of Ork relics allowed for the Warboss in the Green Tide Formation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This is final word FAQ confirmed? Urg I want to read the WG supplement as taking one from both but im guessing not intended that way ... maybe....
|
Three men can keep a secret, if two of them are dead.
6000 points
|
|
 |
 |
|