Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 05:28:34
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
Bartali is correct. You cannot purchase Drop Pops as dedicated transports for either flavor Terminator Squad sadly.
You don't have to purchase Drop Pods for them though as they can Teleport in normally, though this is somewhat more risky with no Pod.
With the three pods removed you're well under 1350 points could put a basic CAD together with it.
2x bare bones squads of scouts are 110 points and a Mastery Lvl 1 Librarian is just 65, so for 175 points you can plug that CAD in and then purchase the 3x Drop Pods for 105 points, filling up the 3x Fast Attack slots.
That said, I don't know if those Drop Pods could even be used by the AOIF formation since they're not purchased as part of that formation. I do believe they cannot be put in Drop Pods unless the formation specifically makes an addition of Drop Pods as part of the Terminator's Dedicated Transport options.
Hope that helps, if nothing else. Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
|
You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 15:45:41
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Red__Thirst wrote:Bartali is correct. You cannot purchase Drop Pops as dedicated transports for either flavor Terminator Squad sadly.
You don't have to purchase Drop Pods for them though as they can Teleport in normally, though this is somewhat more risky with no Pod.
With the three pods removed you're well under 1350 points could put a basic CAD together with it.
2x bare bones squads of scouts are 110 points and a Mastery Lvl 1 Librarian is just 65, so for 175 points you can plug that CAD in and then purchase the 3x Drop Pods for 105 points, filling up the 3x Fast Attack slots.
That said, I don't know if those Drop Pods could even be used by the AOIF formation since they're not purchased as part of that formation. I do believe they cannot be put in Drop Pods unless the formation specifically makes an addition of Drop Pods as part of the Terminator's Dedicated Transport options.
Hope that helps, if nothing else. Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
From what I am seeing and reading I could put them in the drop pods as part of the CAD (which is actually what I ended up doing to create a bound army) 3 scout squads with snipers, a libby termie and 3 drop pods = 464pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 15:48:41
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Yeah, you could.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:06:51
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
by running things this way i accomplished a few things, chapter ancients landed turn one in their drop pods and disembarked with pods between them and the enemy, conferring shroud for the turn they kinda sat still (not awful when using 3x libby dreads with av13) turn two saw the arrival of the AOIF in their 3 pods, with the shooty guys shooting twice and the assaulty ones charging into combat. While all this is hitting the opponent in the face I also used well timed blow to shoot with my dreads twice, did a good job of thinning out the opponents minotaurs significantly. I'll be running it a few more times, and may try some tricks with fewer pods and teleport homers, however I like having Chapter Ancients on the board turn one, distracts the opponents and lets me start using warp charges
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:08:02
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
Little Rock, Arkansas
|
GodsCronik wrote: Red__Thirst wrote:Bartali is correct. You cannot purchase Drop Pops as dedicated transports for either flavor Terminator Squad sadly.
You don't have to purchase Drop Pods for them though as they can Teleport in normally, though this is somewhat more risky with no Pod.
With the three pods removed you're well under 1350 points could put a basic CAD together with it.
2x bare bones squads of scouts are 110 points and a Mastery Lvl 1 Librarian is just 65, so for 175 points you can plug that CAD in and then purchase the 3x Drop Pods for 105 points, filling up the 3x Fast Attack slots.
That said, I don't know if those Drop Pods could even be used by the AOIF formation since they're not purchased as part of that formation. I do believe they cannot be put in Drop Pods unless the formation specifically makes an addition of Drop Pods as part of the Terminator's Dedicated Transport options.
Hope that helps, if nothing else. Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
From what I am seeing and reading I could put them in the drop pods as part of the CAD (which is actually what I ended up doing to create a bound army) 3 scout squads with snipers, a libby termie and 3 drop pods = 464pts
The issue is that that creates questions. Does the formation split up across turn 1 and reserves because of drop pod assault even though their formation wants them to arrive at the same time? Are they cool to deploy in vehicles that aren't from their formation, even though the GW FAQ seems to hate the idea of models doing anything with models from a formation. (Admittedly they have only been talking about IC's, but the intent seems to be a full-on blockade against anything ever synergizing with a formation that it isn't in. For example you are flat out disallowed from attaching an IC to any formation that has some kind of special reserve timing per the FAQ.) If you end up with more than one squad or even the entire formation still in reserve (say due to other pods that you dropped in first,) do you still roll once and get the whole crew from the reserve roll?
I mean, sure, these aren't the hardest of questions to rule on. It would seem that most sensible people would say "try to obey all formation rules as close as possible, while ignoring the ones that are made impossible," but there IS room for disagreement, and I for one don't like it when there's room to disagree over the rules.
|
20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:15:29
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
niv-mizzet wrote:GodsCronik wrote: Red__Thirst wrote:Bartali is correct. You cannot purchase Drop Pops as dedicated transports for either flavor Terminator Squad sadly.
You don't have to purchase Drop Pods for them though as they can Teleport in normally, though this is somewhat more risky with no Pod.
With the three pods removed you're well under 1350 points could put a basic CAD together with it.
2x bare bones squads of scouts are 110 points and a Mastery Lvl 1 Librarian is just 65, so for 175 points you can plug that CAD in and then purchase the 3x Drop Pods for 105 points, filling up the 3x Fast Attack slots.
That said, I don't know if those Drop Pods could even be used by the AOIF formation since they're not purchased as part of that formation. I do believe they cannot be put in Drop Pods unless the formation specifically makes an addition of Drop Pods as part of the Terminator's Dedicated Transport options.
Hope that helps, if nothing else. Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
From what I am seeing and reading I could put them in the drop pods as part of the CAD (which is actually what I ended up doing to create a bound army) 3 scout squads with snipers, a libby termie and 3 drop pods = 464pts
The issue is that that creates questions. Does the formation split up across turn 1 and reserves because of drop pod assault even though their formation wants them to arrive at the same time? Are they cool to deploy in vehicles that aren't from their formation, even though the GW FAQ seems to hate the idea of models doing anything with models from a formation. (Admittedly they have only been talking about IC's, but the intent seems to be a full-on blockade against anything ever synergizing with a formation that it isn't in. For example you are flat out disallowed from attaching an IC to any formation that has some kind of special reserve timing per the FAQ.) If you end up with more than one squad or even the entire formation still in reserve (say due to other pods that you dropped in first,) do you still roll once and get the whole crew from the reserve roll?
I mean, sure, these aren't the hardest of questions to rule on. It would seem that most sensible people would say "try to obey all formation rules as close as possible, while ignoring the ones that are made impossible," but there IS room for disagreement, and I for one don't like it when there's room to disagree over the rules.
it does pose a few questions, but doesn't seem to contravene RAW at all, this is why I am posting here about it, to get a larger than my meta feel for how this ought to or could work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:17:10
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
The drop pods aren't joining the formation. Just like a unit that's not in LATF can ride in the scouting LR and benefit from the scout move.
Units from this formation that ride in pods keep their formation text, whether they arrive on turn 1 or roll on turn 2. There will have to be more FAQs to make it otherwise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/05 16:17:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:21:54
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
i guess it could be argued that I should roll for the three turn two pods and the formation individually, not sure, trying to make sure I am playing it properly and not being too too cheesy
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:23:07
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
No, because you must still obey drop pod assault. The drop pods are not even in the formation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/05 16:23:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:45:48
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Martel732 wrote:No, because you must still obey drop pod assault. The drop pods are not even in the formation.
yes, drop pod assault says 1/2 rounded up arrive turn T1, that would be my 3 with Chapter ancients in them, then on turn two drop pod assault lets me start rolling for the remaining three, the formation comes in as a hole on a successful roll, the drop pods as per drop pod assault should require individual rolls no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 16:53:42
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
GodsCronik wrote:Martel732 wrote:No, because you must still obey drop pod assault. The drop pods are not even in the formation.
yes, drop pod assault says 1/2 rounded up arrive turn T1, that would be my 3 with Chapter ancients in them, then on turn two drop pod assault lets me start rolling for the remaining three, the formation comes in as a hole on a successful roll, the drop pods as per drop pod assault should require individual rolls no?
Yes, the pods would all require individual rolls, since they are what is arriving via deep strike, not the terminators.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 17:04:41
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Martel732 wrote:GodsCronik wrote:Martel732 wrote:No, because you must still obey drop pod assault. The drop pods are not even in the formation.
yes, drop pod assault says 1/2 rounded up arrive turn T1, that would be my 3 with Chapter ancients in them, then on turn two drop pod assault lets me start rolling for the remaining three, the formation comes in as a hole on a successful roll, the drop pods as per drop pod assault should require individual rolls no?
Yes, the pods would all require individual rolls, since they are what is arriving via deep strike, not the terminators.
ok, that makes sense, so, would I need a roll for the formation? could the formation arrive separately if lets say only 2/3 of the pods got a successful roll? or would that mean that one of the squads had to teleport into combat?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/05 17:16:11
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Units loaded in pods follow the pod rules. Any stragglers not in pods follow thei own rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/06 22:19:36
Subject: Re:More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Hi All.
I got Space Hulk( SH) and a Archangels Orbital Intervention Force(AOIF) over the holidays. This gives me lots of lovely Blood Angels( BA) terminators to play with. I know they may not be the best unit but what does everyone think is the best way to use them?
At the moment I have Karlaen and the 2 BA terminator librarians in addition to the above 5 units of terminators. There are 2 assault squads of 5 of each option. 3 "tactical" squads, 2 of which have an assault cannon and 1 with a heavy flamer. I know It isn't cheap. At just under 1600 points it doesn't leave much room to maneuver. Even at 2k which we'll be playing at.
I intend to get the chapter ancients box next month to fill out the 2 furioso's which would give me an Archangels demi-company. Which I quite like the look of but are there any other or better options out there that I should maybe consider? Also any ideas on what to use as an AUX choice?
Also with having the SH terminators I was looking at the AOIF but with the 3 Tac squads. Shooting twice sounds fun. Any thoughts?
Any thoughts are appreciated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/06 23:41:48
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
GodsCronik wrote:
ok, that makes sense, so, would I need a roll for the formation? could the formation arrive separately if lets say only 2/3 of the pods got a successful roll? or would that mean that one of the squads had to teleport into combat?
You would roll for the formation first, needing a 3+ for the reserves. If you roll a 3+, then all three terminator units would teleport in together and be placed accordingly per deep strike as per their formation rules and then subsequently be allowed to charge or double-shoot depending on flavor of Terminators.
If however you fail to get them in on the first reserve roll, I suppose you could then attempt to make 3 separate drop pod rolls to get the three squads on to the table, however since they didn't arrive via their own formation mechanic, I don't think they would be able to deep strike then charge or double-shoot after disembarking from the pod.
It's an odd interaction for sure. Me personally, I'd just skip the pods all together and if you absolutely have to use them to make sure your 3x chapter ancients dreadnought formation arrives all on turn one then leave them empty and as objective grabbers maybe.
Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
|
You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/06 23:58:37
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Red__Thirst wrote:GodsCronik wrote:
ok, that makes sense, so, would I need a roll for the formation? could the formation arrive separately if lets say only 2/3 of the pods got a successful roll? or would that mean that one of the squads had to teleport into combat?
You would roll for the formation first, needing a 3+ for the reserves. If you roll a 3+, then all three terminator units would teleport in together and be placed accordingly per deep strike as per their formation rules and then subsequently be allowed to charge or double-shoot depending on flavor of Terminators.
If however you fail to get them in on the first reserve roll, I suppose you could then attempt to make 3 separate drop pod rolls to get the three squads on to the table, however since they didn't arrive via their own formation mechanic, I don't think they would be able to deep strike then charge or double-shoot after disembarking from the pod.
It's an odd interaction for sure. Me personally, I'd just skip the pods all together and if you absolutely have to use them to make sure your 3x chapter ancients dreadnought formation arrives all on turn one then leave them empty and as objective grabbers maybe.
Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
If they are on board drop pods, they don't roll to teleport. They use the rules of the pods.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 16:43:30
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Martel732 wrote: Red__Thirst wrote:GodsCronik wrote:
ok, that makes sense, so, would I need a roll for the formation? could the formation arrive separately if lets say only 2/3 of the pods got a successful roll? or would that mean that one of the squads had to teleport into combat?
You would roll for the formation first, needing a 3+ for the reserves. If you roll a 3+, then all three terminator units would teleport in together and be placed accordingly per deep strike as per their formation rules and then subsequently be allowed to charge or double-shoot depending on flavor of Terminators.
If however you fail to get them in on the first reserve roll, I suppose you could then attempt to make 3 separate drop pod rolls to get the three squads on to the table, however since they didn't arrive via their own formation mechanic, I don't think they would be able to deep strike then charge or double-shoot after disembarking from the pod.
It's an odd interaction for sure. Me personally, I'd just skip the pods all together and if you absolutely have to use them to make sure your 3x chapter ancients dreadnought formation arrives all on turn one then leave them empty and as objective grabbers maybe.
Take it easy.
-Red__Thirst-
If they are on board drop pods, they don't roll to teleport. They use the rules of the pods.
thought more about this and I will likely play test using the three pods empty with teleport homers on them and on my scouts, leaving the opponent really guessing as to where I will toss the AOIF since most of the board can be covered with no scatter buffs. I will say, this list has breathed life back into the blood angels in my meta, I'll be playing it for a while to hopefully restore some of their former glory
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 18:53:18
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Anyone looking for counters to common problems? That's the discussion in other faction threads.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/16 14:26:14
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
^^^^
How do you make a DCSF (or any BA assault list) work vs Space Wolf TWC/Wulfen/Axe+Shield Dread lists
After a brief foray from their storage box after Angels Blade, my BA will be going back into storage. At lease I can shoot/punch stuff with S10/Force/Gat Psilencers with my GK.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/16 14:29:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/16 16:16:05
Subject: More Angel's Blade Discussion
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
You assault their rest of their list. That's why my LBSF still contains a lot of shooting, including an IK.
BA are still rather poor, but I think they're better at obj games than GK.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/16 16:57:36
|
|
 |
 |
|