Switch Theme:

Questions about Angels of Death/Traitor's Hate Psychic Powers.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Hi Dakka, I have a RAW question to deal with.

In Fulmination/Ectomancy, Magnetokinesis/Ghost Storm is a blessing that:

The Rules wrote:targets a single unit within 18"


It doesn't say "friendly unit", just "unit." Considering many other Blessings from Angels of Death/Traitor's Hate specify "friendly unit" or some variation thereof, would you consider this an editing fail, or an intentional exception to the BRB rules that Blessings can only target friendly units? For example, could a Space Marine Librarian use Magnetokinesis to move a unit of Fire Dragons or D-Scythe Wraithguard 18" across the map? Currently, I lean towards "GW misprint" due to it not explicitly saying it can target non-friendly units.

The Rules wrote:All models in the unit count as having moved in the Movement Phase for purposes of shooting weapons in the Shooting Phase

For Vehicles, which are Relentless but have different movement speeds in the Movement Phase, how does this interact with their ability to fire different weapons? For example, if a tri-Las Predator did not move in the Movement Phase, but a Librarian used Magnetokinesis to move it 18", how many Lascannons would it be able to fire at full BS? Would it be:
- 3 because it didn't move in the movement phase?
- 1 because it "counts" as moving, but didn't move in the movement phase.
- 0 because it was displaced 18"?
I'm viewing it as "3" since RAW-wise, the vehicle did not declare a movement speed in the movement phase. The closest things to "shoot-out-of-sequence" moves that currently exist are the Eldar Crystal Targeting Matrix (Move Flat-Out, fire 1 weapon), and the Tau Hunter Cadre's "Feints and Ambushes" formation bonus (A Hammerhead that was stationary, but near a Fireblade/Shas'o could flat-out 6" and still fire to full effect). I want to know your take on the situation though.

In Geokinesis/Geomortis, the power Shifting Worldscape/Worldwrithe lets you move a terrain piece up to 24" with assorted restrictions. I'm assuming, since there are no "ignore intervening models/terrain" stipulations in the power description, you can't move the terrain through enemy models. How have you ruled it? Also, in addition to moving the terrain, can you rotate the terrain? If yes, do vehicles/models maintain their relative position on the terrain-piece? For example, could you use Shifting Worldscape to expose a vehicle's rear armor?

In Technomancy/Heretech, Machine Curse/Scrapcode Curse and Machine Flense/Flayerstorm both:

The Rules wrote:target a single enemy vehicle unit within 18".


Machine Curse/Scrapcode Curse says the "target model" immediately suffers D3 Strength 1 AP - hits with the Haywire Special Rule, while Machine Flense/Flayerstorm says "the target" immediately loses D3 Hull Points.

My question is: How does this work with vehicle squadrons. Suppose I hit the "closest vehicle" in a squadron and kill it; would the excess Hull Points spill over onto the next vehicle in the squadron?

For Librarius/Sinistrum, Psychic Scourge/Dark Invigoration is a Malediction (and not a Witchfire) that lets you target an enemy Psyker and do a roll-off against it, Mind War-style. If you roll high, that enemy Psyker suffers a wound with no save of any kind allowed. Since it's a Malediction and not a Witchfire, would I be able to use this on a Swooping Hive Tyrant or other FMC Psyker? Since it's technically not a shooting attack/witchfire, would my opponent get to use Look Out Sir against it? (I'm imagining this power's use against Genestealer Cults; pop goes the Magus).

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

For the last bit, I would say Hull Points lost carry over. I'm not sure if it's that RAW (not sure at all what the RAW is) but it's what I think should happen.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






I'm not sure ghost storm would work for moving an enemy unit even if it did override the friendly targets.
It's not like lash of submission by saying something like: pick a unit, move that unit. Instead it says : pick a unit, it moves. So at best you would be giving the opponent a free out-of-sequence 18 inch move, since he would control the movement.
Maybe they thought of allowing allies to benefit from this spell? They wouldn't count as a friendly units but you could still shift them around, I doubt it though.

As for the movement part, a vehicle only cares how much it moved in the movement phase. Page 73 just above the relentless part. So by moving it 18 inch in the psychic phase, it still counts as stationary for determining how many weapons it can fire. It also counts as having moved, but since it has relentless that doesn't affect it.


With worldwrithe you aren't moving the terrain. You are picking it up and placing it anywhere withing 24 inch, so you can ignore intervening units in that sense. I would assume you are allowed to rotate the terrain, it doesn't seem to imply either allowing or forbidding it. So it's up to you and your opponent I guess.

Scrapcode is a focused witchfire. It only has a target when you manage to harness more warpcharges than it costs. So on two or more harnessed warpcharges you get to pick a vehicle in the unit, if not, you pick the closes instead. The power causes d3 hits, so should you kill the vehicle with the first hit, the rest are allocated to the next in line.

Yes, for warp lure. You just do what it says, it's not an attack. So you can "fire" it at a FMC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/16 16:35:05


 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener



Virginia

On Ghost Storm and targeting non-friendly units: You can't do it. It's a blessing, and the rules for blessings state that they can only target friendly units. Therefore the special rules for a specific power don't need to include the restriction; other rules are just overdetermined.

On Ghost Storm and vehicles: One possible construction of the sentence is "All models in the unit count as having moved that distance in the Movement Phase..." It's the only construction that allows the rule to fit with the vehicle movement rules. Incidentally, I'd have to guess it also fits with RAI.

On Psychic Scourge: I agree with Ragnar that you can target a Flyrant because it's on its own, and there's nothing stopping you from casting maledictions on flyers. However, I don't think it's clear that you can target a psyker within a unit because maledictions target units, not models, and there's nothing in the rule saying you can ignore the usual restriction on targeting specific models within a unit (unlike focussed witchfire or precision fire, for example). RAW, it looks like you can only target psykers on their own or units with the Brotherhood of Psykers rule (because it states that the unit "is a Pskyer unit.")

I agree with Ragnar on the rest.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Hesperus wrote:
On Psychic Scourge: I agree with Ragnar that you can target a Flyrant because it's on its own, and there's nothing stopping you from casting maledictions on flyers. However, I don't think it's clear that you can target a psyker within a unit because maledictions target units, not models, and there's nothing in the rule saying you can ignore the usual restriction on targeting specific models within a unit (unlike focussed witchfire or precision fire, for example). RAW, it looks like you can only target psykers on their own or units with the Brotherhood of Psykers rule (because it states that the unit "is a Pskyer unit.")

On targeting Psykers in units it becomes more complex than that. Take the rules for the psychic phase. To cast a power you are asked to select a psychic unit. If a psyker while joined to a non-psychic unit doesn't count as a psychic unit then they are unable to cast powers while a part of that unit.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener



Virginia

You're right, that's confusing. Since it breaks normal targeting restrictions without specifically mentioning it, I'm still inclined to say you can't target Psykers inside other units, but I admit that's inferring a lot. I didn't realize the rules for Psykers in units were written so poorly.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Just reading over Psychic Scourge I think that it is quite clear that you target a specific Psyker even if they are within in a squad. An IC does not cease to be a Psyker just because they joined a random squad. The wording on the power is sufficient permissions to target them out as it says to target a Psyker rather than unit (other maledictions such as Null Zone specify unit)

I would also say that no look out sirs can be taken for the same reason that you can't los a perils result - it is neither a wound caused from a shooting or melee attack.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

JakeSiren wrote:
Just reading over Psychic Scourge I think that it is quite clear that you target a specific Psyker even if they are within in a squad. An IC does not cease to be a Psyker just because they joined a random squad. The wording on the power is sufficient permissions to target them out as it says to target a Psyker rather than unit (other maledictions such as Null Zone specify unit)

I would also say that no look out sirs can be taken for the same reason that you can't los a perils result - it is neither a wound caused from a shooting or melee attack.


Doesn't have to be a Wound from a shooting or melee attack. It simply has to be a Wound allocated to a character.

Certain things (such as Dangerous Terrain, Perils and Gets Hot) don't allocate wounds which is why they cannot be LOS'ed. Psychic Scourge is the same thing - the wound is not allocated, simply suffered by the Psyker.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




 Happyjew wrote:
JakeSiren wrote:
Just reading over Psychic Scourge I think that it is quite clear that you target a specific Psyker even if they are within in a squad. An IC does not cease to be a Psyker just because they joined a random squad. The wording on the power is sufficient permissions to target them out as it says to target a Psyker rather than unit (other maledictions such as Null Zone specify unit)

I would also say that no look out sirs can be taken for the same reason that you can't los a perils result - it is neither a wound caused from a shooting or melee attack.


Doesn't have to be a Wound from a shooting or melee attack. It simply has to be a Wound allocated to a character.

Certain things (such as Dangerous Terrain, Perils and Gets Hot) don't allocate wounds which is why they cannot be LOS'ed. Psychic Scourge is the same thing - the wound is not allocated, simply suffered by the Psyker.


Out of genuine curiosity what other situations outside of wounds caused by shooting/melee attacks can LoS be used?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

JakeSiren wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
JakeSiren wrote:
Just reading over Psychic Scourge I think that it is quite clear that you target a specific Psyker even if they are within in a squad. An IC does not cease to be a Psyker just because they joined a random squad. The wording on the power is sufficient permissions to target them out as it says to target a Psyker rather than unit (other maledictions such as Null Zone specify unit)

I would also say that no look out sirs can be taken for the same reason that you can't los a perils result - it is neither a wound caused from a shooting or melee attack.


Doesn't have to be a Wound from a shooting or melee attack. It simply has to be a Wound allocated to a character.

Certain things (such as Dangerous Terrain, Perils and Gets Hot) don't allocate wounds which is why they cannot be LOS'ed. Psychic Scourge is the same thing - the wound is not allocated, simply suffered by the Psyker.


Out of genuine curiosity what other situations outside of wounds caused by shooting/melee attacks can LoS be used?

Any time wounds are generated and allocated, such as Vector Strike and Mawlocs Terror From the Deep special rules.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: