Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/24 17:16:47
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Using his "I've been expecting you" rule, can coteaz and/or his unit fire their 'interceptor' shots from a firing point? If they can, can they do it as many times as they want and can they still shoot out in their next shooting phase?
|
For Khaela Mensha Khaine
For the Emperor and Sanguinius!
DS:90+S++G+++MB--IPw40k15#+D+A+/mWD-R+T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/24 17:29:40
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
Absent an FAQ entry saying otherwise I believe they can. "I've Been Expecting You" is a distinct rule, advantages and limitations of Interceptor don't carry over to it just because they do something similar.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 04:50:08
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
GW FAQ says no - they specify a rule like this must have a line saying it can be used by embarked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/25 04:50:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 05:35:36
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Massaen wrote:GW draft FAQ says no - they specify a rule like this must have a line saying it can be used by embarked.
Fixed that for you - not everyone plays by the draft FAQs.
More importantly though, and without needing to reference draft rules, 'I've Been Expecting You' requires the enemy unit to arrive within Coteaz's line of sight.
Coteaz has no line of sight while embarked on on a transport, except for firing shooting weapons or using witchfire psychic powers via the vehicle's fire points.
While 'I've Been Expecting You' allows Coteaz to make a shooting attack, the special rule itself is not a shooting weapon or witchfire psychic power, and so does not qualify for allowing Coteaz to draw line of sight from a fire point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 06:08:33
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
The Fire Point rules make that a bit iffy. Things like "Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself", and that it states that it works with Shooting and not limited to the Shooting Phase like other extra shooting rules. It allows the capacity for drawing Line of Sight and shooting at any rate.
The Draft FAQ's rule was more about abilities coming out of the Vehicle, if I remember correctly (and it's late and I don't feel like tracking it down). The OP question is about if the rule would work on those inside. Would you say that Relentless or Slow and Purposeful would not work at Combat Speed, just because they are Embarked?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 06:12:53
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:The Fire Point rules make that a bit iffy. Things like "Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself", and that it states that it works with Shooting and not limited to the Shooting Phase like other extra shooting rules. It allows the capacity for drawing Line of Sight and shooting at any rate.
From the second sentence of 'Fire Points' in the Vehicles section:
"A Fire Point is a hatch or gun slit from which one or more passengers inside the vehicle can fire shooting weapons (or use witchfire psychic powers)."
Is there permission elsewhere for doing something other than firing shooting weapons or using witchfire psychic powers from fire points? It seems to me the rest of the paragraph is in relation to this sentence, so the measuring of range or line of sight are only in the context of firing shooting weapons or using witchfire psychic powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 06:28:53
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Charistoph wrote:The Fire Point rules make that a bit iffy. Things like "Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself", and that it states that it works with Shooting and not limited to the Shooting Phase like other extra shooting rules. It allows the capacity for drawing Line of Sight and shooting at any rate.
From the second sentence of 'Fire Points' in the Vehicles section:
"A Fire Point is a hatch or gun slit from which one or more passengers inside the vehicle can fire shooting weapons (or use witchfire psychic powers)."
Is there permission elsewhere for doing something other than firing shooting weapons or using witchfire psychic powers from fire points? It seems to me the rest of the paragraph is in relation to this sentence, so the measuring of range or line of sight are only in the context of firing shooting weapons or using witchfire psychic powers.
What is Coteaz's rule other than permission to fire at an unusual time? Or are you saying that the Fire Point does not allow for the trigger to occur?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 06:50:23
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:What is Coteaz's rule other than permission to fire at an unusual time? Or are you saying that the Fire Point does not allow for the trigger to occur?
Yes, that is what I'm saying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 08:37:13
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Might be a stupid question but wouldn't model effects only work if the model is on the table. And if they are in a transport then the model is technically not on the table. I know the faq said something to this effect. So wile fire ports slow you to have a model embarked in a transport to fire it dose not say you can use any of its abiltys.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 14:41:20
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Charistoph wrote:What is Coteaz's rule other than permission to fire at an unusual time? Or are you saying that the Fire Point does not allow for the trigger to occur?
Yes, that is what I'm saying.
Fire Points allow for Line of Sight (for Shooting). I New You were Coming allows for Shooting at an odd time. Being Embarked doesn't stop model rules from affecting themselves, just from spreading out from the Vehicle.
Ghosthand wrote:Might be a stupid question but wouldn't model effects only work if the model is on the table. And if they are in a transport then the model is technically not on the table. I know the faq said something to this effect. So wile fire ports slow you to have a model embarked in a transport to fire it dose not say you can use any of its abiltys.
So, a model cannot take advantage of Relentless just because they are Embarked? I'm sorry, that doesn't fly.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 15:48:00
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Charistoph wrote:Mr. Shine wrote: Charistoph wrote:What is Coteaz's rule other than permission to fire at an unusual time? Or are you saying that the Fire Point does not allow for the trigger to occur?
Yes, that is what I'm saying.
Fire Points allow for Line of Sight (for Shooting). I New You were Coming allows for Shooting at an odd time. Being Embarked doesn't stop model rules from affecting themselves, just from spreading out from the Vehicle.
Ghosthand wrote:Might be a stupid question but wouldn't model effects only work if the model is on the table. And if they are in a transport then the model is technically not on the table. I know the faq said something to this effect. So wile fire ports slow you to have a model embarked in a transport to fire it dose not say you can use any of its abiltys.
So, a model cannot take advantage of Relentless just because they are Embarked? I'm sorry, that doesn't fly.
As per the draft faq.
Under transports.
3rd question
Q. I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units in transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a transport.
A. When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and dose not interact with anything on the battlefield. However certain rules may create exceptions to the rule, with the most obvious examples being fire points and psychic powers and transports. If a unit's rules are ment to apply even when embarked on a transport, they will specify this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 18:14:52
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ghosthand wrote:As per the draft faq.
Under transports.
3rd question
Q. I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units in transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a transport.
A. When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and dose not interact with anything on the battlefield. However certain rules may create exceptions to the rule, with the most obvious examples being fire points and psychic powers and transports. If a unit's rules are ment to apply even when embarked on a transport, they will specify this.
Note the question, this is about special rules that affect within a certain range of the model/unit. Does "I Know You are Coming" do that, or is it in a rule for Coteaz and his unit?
If the latter, then it applies just as much as Slow and Purposeful, Preferred Enemy, or Relentless do.
If the former, then it doesn't actually state it doesn't affect anything in the Transport.
But if the former, then it definitely would not affect anyone near the Transport.
Either way, the question would be is, "does the LoS provided by Fire Points provide LoS for Coteaz' special rule?"
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 22:11:12
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:Mr. Shine wrote: Charistoph wrote:What is Coteaz's rule other than permission to fire at an unusual time? Or are you saying that the Fire Point does not allow for the trigger to occur?
Yes, that is what I'm saying.
Fire Points allow for Line of Sight (for Shooting). I New You were Coming allows for Shooting at an odd time. Being Embarked doesn't stop model rules from affecting themselves, just from spreading out from the Vehicle.
I disagree. I've Been Expecting You allows the unit to fire when a unit arrives from reserves within range and line of sight. The ability to draw range and line of sight is not granted until the ability to shoot is granted. It's the chicken before the egg, so to speak.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 22:32:43
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:I disagree. I've Been Expecting You allows the unit to fire when a unit arrives from reserves within range and line of sight. The ability to draw range and line of sight is not granted until the ability to shoot is granted. It's the chicken before the egg, so to speak.
Having found a copy, the version I saw states that the enemy unit has to arrive from reserves within 12" of the model. It is this part which would be preventing it.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 23:22:56
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:Having found a copy, the version I saw states that the enemy unit has to arrive from reserves within 12" of the model. It is this part which would be preventing it.
Yes, and the sentence of the rule continues with, "and within his line of sight," meaning use of the rule fails on both fronts.
The rule allows shooting to take place once its conditions are satisfied, but they cannot be satisfied via fire point because at that point it's not firing a weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/25 23:23:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 17:04:41
Subject: Re:Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
So the general consensus seems to be maybe, but probably not. Pretty much what I was expecting, but I'll ask in my local gw and see what they think first.
|
For Khaela Mensha Khaine
For the Emperor and Sanguinius!
DS:90+S++G+++MB--IPw40k15#+D+A+/mWD-R+T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 18:14:56
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Charistoph wrote:Having found a copy, the version I saw states that the enemy unit has to arrive from reserves within 12" of the model. It is this part which would be preventing it.
Yes, and the sentence of the rule continues with, "and within his line of sight," meaning use of the rule fails on both fronts.
The rule allows shooting to take place once its conditions are satisfied, but they cannot be satisfied via fire point because at that point it's not firing a weapon.
Line of Sight is irrelevant if one does not fulfill all of the conditions which trigger the rule. The Fire Point allows for Line of Sight for Shooting Purposes. Coteaz' rule allows for Shooting out of Phase, but requires another trigger to work. That trigger cannot be used, as it does not consider Coteaz being in a Transport within range of that unit coming from in from Reserves. At least as far as the Draft FAQ is concerned.
If Coteaz being in a Transport was sufficient to be considered within range for this rule, then the Fire Points would provide Line of Sight at that point.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 21:27:30
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:Line of Sight is irrelevant if one does not fulfill all of the conditions which trigger the rule. The Fire Point allows for Line of Sight for Shooting Purposes. Coteaz' rule allows for Shooting out of Phase, but requires another trigger to work. That trigger cannot be used, as it does not consider Coteaz being in a Transport within range of that unit coming from in from Reserves. At least as far as the Draft FAQ is concerned.
If Coteaz being in a Transport was sufficient to be considered within range for this rule, then the Fire Points would provide Line of Sight at that point.
But even without the draft FAQ, neither range nor line of sight can be determined from the line of sight for determining whether a unit has arrived within what is specified.
Simply put fire points allow range and line of sight to be determined for shooting, but determining whether an enemy unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight is not shooting.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/26 21:28:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 21:37:21
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:But even without the draft FAQ, neither range nor line of sight can be determined from the line of sight for determining whether a unit has arrived within what is specified.
Simply put fire points allow range and line of sight to be determined for shooting, but determining whether an enemy unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight is not shooting.
But the Fire Point is sufficient to determine if one CAN shoot at the target which is the same level of requirement that Coteaz' rule is establishing.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/27 00:21:53
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charistoph wrote:But the Fire Point is sufficient to determine if one CAN shoot at the target which is the same level of requirement that Coteaz' rule is establishing.
Only if you are entitled to fire. In the case of Coteaz you must first establish whether a unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight, and then you are allowed to shoot.
Fire Points are explicit in that they can only be used, with range and line of sight drawn from them, to fire shooting weapons or use witchfire psychic powers. Checking if a unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight of Coteaz whole embarked isn't firing shooting weapons or using witchfire powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/27 00:41:54
Subject: Coteaz in Transports
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Only if you are entitled to fire. In the case of Coteaz you must first establish whether a unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight, and then you are allowed to shoot.
Fire Points are explicit in that they can only be used, with range and line of sight drawn from them, to fire shooting weapons or use witchfire psychic powers. Checking if a unit has arrived within 12" and line of sight of Coteaz whole embarked isn't firing shooting weapons or using witchfire powers.
I disagree since the Fire Point is being used to provide Line of Sight for Shooting. Coteaz's rule asks Line of Sight for Shooting.
But either way, it is irrelevant as it is not triggered in this case if we follow the Draft FAQ (and that is one that doesn't explicitly counter the BRB). If you want to bring up another case, then bring it up and let us review that one.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|