Switch Theme:

Orks- KFF and the no escape rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy






Not sure if it's already been talked about, but my searches haven't brought anything up except vagueness.

As the title suggests: does the KFF of an UNEMBARKED big mek give a 5++ to the boyz inside an open topped transport that is attacked by a flamer weapon?

My heart wants to say yes because Orks need some kind protection and it would make some since for it being a RAI type deal, but my brain says no because the no escape rule just says automatic hits which doesn't define if it's technically from a shooting attack or not to trigger the KFF saving it.
As far as i can tell, the hits caused by no escape are caused by the rule itself (like hits from the mob rule), and thus don't count as shooting attacks.
What do you all think?

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy




Pittsburgh

I would say yes since it is a shooting attack from the flamer that caused it. That's just my thought though.

My Armies:
Orks about 15000-16000 mostly unpainted but slowly being worked on
Militarum Tempestus about 2000 points just built
Inquisition about 2000 points unpainted
Officio Assassinorum 570 unpainted
I dont paint quickly 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think the Draft FAQ would stop the KFF from affecting Boyz inside a vehicle the same way it stops effects from units inside a vehicle affecting things outside the vehicle.

If you're not playing by the Draft FAQ, however, I think it would work. The No Escape clause comes from shooting the flamer, so would be the shooting attack causing it. Note, however, they have the KFF now only working on a transport carrying the unit and not something on the other side of the vehicle's walls, so somebody could argue that as a precedent for not being able to affect those inside. Combined with the Draft FAQ, it's safest to say that the KFF doesn't work for the unit inside; you'd need to have the model with it embarked in the vehicle with them.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I think maybe a single 5++ should be taken to protect the vehicle, and if its stopped their then nobody inside gets hurt. Good combination of broken stupid rules from GW

 Tomsug wrote:
Semper krumps under the radar

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Unfortunately that's not RAW, but it is a very nice house rule for dealing with it.
   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy






SemperMortis wrote:
I think maybe a single 5++ should be taken to protect the vehicle, and if its stopped their then nobody inside gets hurt. Good combination of broken stupid rules from GW


That would actually be cool, lol. Since the no escape.rule says it happens 'in addition to' the regular effects if.the weapon, it could be argued that if you save the initial shot, you negate ALL effects of the eeapon, including the no escape..

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Voidraven5829 wrote:
SemperMortis wrote:
I think maybe a single 5++ should be taken to protect the vehicle, and if its stopped their then nobody inside gets hurt. Good combination of broken stupid rules from GW


That would actually be cool, lol. Since the no escape.rule says it happens 'in addition to' the regular effects if.the weapon, it could be argued that if you save the initial shot, you negate ALL effects of the eeapon, including the no escape..


Realistically the No-escape rule was added to give the final FU to orks. How many other factions are afraid of Flamers in OT Transports? And of those, who has it worse, 6+ Boyz or their units?

 Tomsug wrote:
Semper krumps under the radar

 
   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy






Dark eldar have it prrtty bad from flamers. And they don't even have to option to buy better armor.

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Voidraven5829 wrote:
Dark eldar have it prrtty bad from flamers. And they don't even have to option to buy better armor.


True, but they don't rely on transports in their armies Those are just extra gun platforms for them.

 Tomsug wrote:
Semper krumps under the radar

 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

SemperMortis wrote:
Voidraven5829 wrote:
Dark eldar have it prrtty bad from flamers. And they don't even have to option to buy better armor.


True, but they don't rely on transports in their armies Those are just extra gun platforms for them.

But Orks can take a few points and make their Transports not Open-Topped. I know that defeats half the point of them, but the option still exists. Dark Eldar do not have this as an option.

So, not an FU to Orks, just an FU to Dark Eldar.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





It also really hurts Genestealer Cults when they have people in a truck. With only 5+ Armor they don't get any save against most flamers either.
   
Made in us
Snivelling Workbot






I am pretty aure that orks inside the trukk don't get the save from the independant KFF because how do you measure from one model to a unit that is not on the board.

Admech: Lords of Jupiter
Custodes: Shadowkeepers
Astra Militarum: Jupiter pdf
Inquisition: Ordo Chronos
Tryanids: Hive Fleet Kraken
CSM: The Purge
Daemons: Garden of Nurgle

Cogito Ergo Sum

It is better to remain silent and be thought of the fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Longshadow7 wrote:
I am pretty aure that orks inside the trukk don't get the save from the independant KFF because how do you measure from one model to a unit that is not on the board.

Please see 'Embarking', last sentence of the first paragraph (pg. 80, main rulebook).

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: