Switch Theme:

Is a model ''within itself''?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






If a model has a rule that affects friendly models within x'', does the said model benefit from the special rule? I'm looking for a page reference or a FAQ.
Thanks!
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

The BRB FAQ says that a rule saying "within" means partially within. It has to explicitly say "wholly within" (like disembarking from transports) to be considered different.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain





Bristol (UK)

Normally it specifies either way.
However I would say yes.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






Per the FAQ, a model is always within range of itself.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in ca
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






 EnTyme wrote:
Per the FAQ, a model is always within range of itself.

I searched but did not find. Can you indicate me the page? Thanks!
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 RenegadeKorps wrote:
 EnTyme wrote:
Per the FAQ, a model is always within range of itself.

I searched but did not find. Can you indicate me the page? Thanks!

He may be thinking of the Age of Sigmar FAQ:

Q: Is a unit within range of itself?

A: Yes.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





From a practical standpoint, measure the distance from the model to itself. Is the distance to itself less than the maximum range from the model to be affected? If yes, he's affected.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets






 doctortom wrote:
From a practical standpoint, measure the distance from the model to itself. Is the distance to itself less than the maximum range from the model to be affected? If yes, he's affected.

That works.

40k drinking game: take a shot everytime a book references Skitarii using transports.
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Usually if the effect doesn´t work on itself it will say within the wording of the ability you are looking to use. Example would be the Daemons relic Grimoire of True Names. Specifically says doesn´t effect the bearer even though you can target the unit the bearer is within.

Is there a specific rule/spell you are looking to use?
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

Measure the radius of the affect around the model. Is the model within this area?
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






nareik wrote:
Measure the radius of the affect around the model. Is the model within this area?


Technically no as your measuring from the edge of the base out, forming an area like a blast marker with a hole in the middle.

Do I agree the model should be affected too though? Yes

3000
1500
2200 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: