| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/24 22:45:19
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Tough Traitorous Guardsman
|
If a model has a rule that affects friendly models within x'', does the said model benefit from the special rule? I'm looking for a page reference or a FAQ.
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/24 22:52:48
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
The BRB FAQ says that a rule saying "within" means partially within. It has to explicitly say "wholly within" (like disembarking from transports) to be considered different.
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/25 11:43:55
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Normally it specifies either way.
However I would say yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/25 16:30:36
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Per the FAQ, a model is always within range of itself.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/25 22:05:02
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Tough Traitorous Guardsman
|
EnTyme wrote:Per the FAQ, a model is always within range of itself.
I searched but did not find. Can you indicate me the page? Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/25 22:13:29
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
He may be thinking of the Age of Sigmar FAQ:
Q: Is a unit within range of itself?
A: Yes.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/25 22:21:57
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
From a practical standpoint, measure the distance from the model to itself. Is the distance to itself less than the maximum range from the model to be affected? If yes, he's affected.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/26 03:45:50
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
doctortom wrote:From a practical standpoint, measure the distance from the model to itself. Is the distance to itself less than the maximum range from the model to be affected? If yes, he's affected.
That works.
|
40k drinking game: take a shot everytime a book references Skitarii using transports.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/26 11:04:49
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Usually if the effect doesn´t work on itself it will say within the wording of the ability you are looking to use. Example would be the Daemons relic Grimoire of True Names. Specifically says doesn´t effect the bearer even though you can target the unit the bearer is within.
Is there a specific rule/spell you are looking to use?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/27 14:36:44
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Measure the radius of the affect around the model. Is the model within this area?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/27 16:14:34
Subject: Is a model ''within itself''?
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
nareik wrote:Measure the radius of the affect around the model. Is the model within this area?
Technically no as your measuring from the edge of the base out, forming an area like a blast marker with a hole in the middle.
Do I agree the model should be affected too though? Yes
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|