Switch Theme:

If Inquisitor Coteaz dies mid game do my other units in the same detachment still have obsec?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Question is posted as thread title.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Your list doesn't become illegal when you kill off all the troops in a CAD. Why would this matter?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Can you quote the exact wording of the rule?

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Obsec is a benefit granted upon army creation to the detachment. Rules can not be given to taken away without explicit instructions to do so. So in the end as long as the detachment was granted Obsec it does not matter what models die or even when since no instructions are give to ever remove that command benefit.
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






Stroggified wrote:
Obsec is a benefit granted upon army creation to the detachment. Rules can not be given to taken away without explicit instructions to do so. So in the end as long as the detachment was granted Obsec it does not matter what models die or even when since no instructions are give to ever remove that command benefit.


The difference here is that it's not hte detachment that grants the rule. But the warlord trait. And the warlord trait stops affecting the game as soon as the warlord is dead. You don't get +1 cover in ruins if the warlord with this trait dies, do you? So, i think you loose obsec when Coteaz dies. Cause it was he who granted the rule. And not the detachment.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/30 09:16:12


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It's not a warlord trait it's a special rule for the character and the exact wording is what matters.
The wording says any detachment that contains Cortez.
This means Cortez grants obj secured to any detachement he is a part of whether he is on the table, in reserves, or dead. Because Cortez is always a part of a detachment when you pay for his unit. However he currently can only be purchased in a handful of detachments.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Assuming it is a Warlord trait, from 'Death of the Warlord':

"If your Warlord is removed as a casualty during your game, any abilities or special rules granted by his Warlord Trait are immediately lost."

If it's a model special rule, well then unless it says only while he is alive...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/30 09:36:34


 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






So, a special rule is also removed.
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

His obsec ability is NOT his warlord trait or in any way related to it, similar to how tigurius has a reroll reserves ability that is also not his warlord trait.

The obsec is legit the whole game regardless of if coteaz lives or dies, since his rule doesn't specify that he needs to be alive.

Warlord traits on the other hand DO vanish upon the death of the warlord, but that isn't relevant here.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






 niv-mizzet wrote:
His obsec ability is NOT his warlord trait or in any way related to it, similar to how tigurius has a reroll reserves ability that is also not his warlord trait.

The obsec is legit the whole game regardless of if coteaz lives or dies, since his rule doesn't specify that he needs to be alive.

Warlord traits on the other hand DO vanish upon the death of the warlord, but that isn't relevant here.


Doesn't the rulebook state that special rules stop working after death?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/30 11:16:56


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 koooaei wrote:
 niv-mizzet wrote:
His obsec ability is NOT his warlord trait or in any way related to it, similar to how tigurius has a reroll reserves ability that is also not his warlord trait.

The obsec is legit the whole game regardless of if coteaz lives or dies, since his rule doesn't specify that he needs to be alive.

Warlord traits on the other hand DO vanish upon the death of the warlord, but that isn't relevant here.


Doesn't the rulebook state that special rules stop working after death?


No mention of that on page 156, the beginning of the Special Rules section before it gets into specific rules.
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






Hmm. Means you still get to re-roll dice even if fateweaver dies? Good to know.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/31 07:47:44


 
   
Made in nl
Dakka Veteran





 koooaei wrote:
 niv-mizzet wrote:
His obsec ability is NOT his warlord trait or in any way related to it, similar to how tigurius has a reroll reserves ability that is also not his warlord trait.

The obsec is legit the whole game regardless of if coteaz lives or dies, since his rule doesn't specify that he needs to be alive.

Warlord traits on the other hand DO vanish upon the death of the warlord, but that isn't relevant here.


Doesn't the rulebook state that special rules stop working after death?

so when the source of a rule has been removed, the rule is still in effect?

 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

Depends. Some rules state "as long as Mr. dude is alive/on the table you can do X." Obviously you need him alive for this.

Some say "Mr. dude can do X." Also need him alive since he's the one doing it. It's a little hard for him to be doing some personal ability from the dead pile.

And then some say "An army containing Mr. dude can do X." As long as it doesn't specify he needs to still be alive, you're home free on this one even if Mr. dude bites it turn 1. These are usually things like Typhus allowing zombie cultists, or biker HQ's from marines making bikers troops.

It's all in the wording.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: