Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 21:17:33
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
"Jump units can use their Jump Packs once each turn to move more swiftly in either the Movement Phase or the Assault Phase - they cannot use their Jump Packs in both phases in the same turn"
Does arriving from Reserve count as using your Jump Pack in the Movement Phase? What if you're a Daemon that arrives not from the air but from a rift in reality?
Edit: note that this question is about units that have a rule overriding the 'no charging from reserve' rule.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/02/07 22:15:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 21:23:16
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
|
If your question is, can all jump infantry assault on the turn they deep strike, the answer is no, since the rules for deep striking specifically say you cannot assault from deep strike.
That said, I have always played my murder talon raptors as having HoW from the jump packs in the assault on the turn they deep strike, because the jump packs have not been used for any 'Movement' that turn.
|
Night Lord XIII Company: 6,600 Points, 12W-4L
Skaven Cheese-stealer Renegade Cult: 2,000 points, 0-0
Warboss Spine Squisha's Ork Warband: 3,000 Points, 1W-3L
Carcharadons Astra: 2000 Points, 11-2
Drukhari: 1250 Points, 2-0
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 21:23:46
Subject: Re:Jump Infantry that can Charge on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Moving On From Reserve' ( pg. 136, main rulebook):
A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 22:03:52
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
lindsay40k wrote:"Jump units can use their Jump Packs once each turn to move more swiftly in either the Movement Phase or the Assault Phase - they cannot use their Jump Packs in both phases in the same turn"
Does arriving from Reserve count as using your Jump Pack in the Movement Phase? What if you're a Daemon that arrives not from the air but from a rift in reality?
For those few that CAN Charge after arriving from Reserves, it depends on how the Jump Infantry comes on to the table. For example, if not using Deep Strike, and they use their Jump Packs to move on the board from the Player's Edge or Outflank, they wouldn't normally be able to Charge with their Jump Packs.
Deep Strike is not noted as using the Jump Pack Movement, either in Deep Strike rules or in the Jump unit rules. The unit was not there, then is there. They probably didn't bother addressing it since under normal rules, you can't charge anyway, but this just shows the lackluster job GW editors do on their rules.
It probably should (unless another rules states otherwise), but that's a discussion for Proposed Rules.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 22:21:09
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Yeah, my interpretation of it is that a unit that clearly arrives by floating down out of the sky can be said to be "using their Jump Packs in the Movement Phase" but if they step out of a Warp Rift or Webway Tunnel or Telly Porta then they are not and get to fire up their jets and HoW when charging. But then that opens up the whole can of worms about AA guns using their Interceptor capability to plug away at a Trygon as it breaks through the pavement...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 22:43:04
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
lindsay40k wrote:Yeah, my interpretation of it is that a unit that clearly arrives by floating down out of the sky can be said to be "using their Jump Packs in the Movement Phase" but if they step out of a Warp Rift or Webway Tunnel or Telly Porta then they are not and get to fire up their jets and HoW when charging. But then that opens up the whole can of worms about AA guns using their Interceptor capability to plug away at a Trygon as it breaks through the pavement...
And that's why we don't look at the fluff to make rules determinations, it becomes a point where some can and some can't because "reasons" without written rules. There are several storied ways of Deep Striking in, and while Jump Packs use one of them, it is possible to make things rather wonky.
Take a Jump Captain joined to a Terminator Squad. Both can Deep Strike, but normally in different ways. Terminators teleport in, while the Jump Infantry drops in. The story does not allow for Power/Artificer Armored units to be teleported, and the logistics of timing Terminators to appear right around the exploding dirt pile of the Captain's landing is ridiculous. And yet, from a gameplay perspective, 100% legal, and sometimes even desired.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/07 23:55:02
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
While there is currently no ruling on this, it has been ruled in the past that Jump models deep strike by using their jump packs. However , that is from previous editions and has no bearing on current rules.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 03:26:00
Subject: Re:Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
This thread has some insight into the fluff side of gaining hammer of wrath after arriving by deepstrike if you're uncomfortable with the idea. It is fluff though, so it will always be a subjective matter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/08 11:36:49
Subject: Jump Infantry that can Charge (due to Formation bonuses etc) on same turn as Deep Strike
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
I am extremely comfortable with my Warp Talons stamping on faces when they arrive but wanted to resolve any rules and narrative issues with doing so
|
|
|
 |
 |
|