Switch Theme:

Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Of course an FAQ isn't the same as a rule.

If someone had asked the question,
Q: Can units that are the same faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

The answer would obviously be yes. But no-one asked that question, as it's obvious by the normal rules.

Would this now be a rule that contradicts the other faq answer?

No, because they are generic guidance on interpreting the core rules, not specific rulings on units with two factions.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Lord Perversor wrote:
Warhanna, you can take Ynnari as allys but only if you field the. In a Reborn warhost or in one of the Fracture of. Biel-Tan new formations.

The Ynnari rules specify you only can field them as such so no regular CAD or Ally CAD allowed as Ynnari


You are quite right, thank you. I didn't know that. But then the opposite still applies - if you have a Ynarri Rebort Warhost or one of the Ynarri formations as your primart detachment, you cannot then have an Eldar, Dark Eldar or Harlequin Allied Detachment, right?

 doctortom wrote:

just going by RAW you look to see if there are different factions, not the same faction to determine if you can hop in the other guys' transport at the beginning of the game. It should really be FAQ'd


In the FAQ, the question that explicitly states what Battle Brothers can do in each others transports is actually right before the question about what SAME Faction units can do with each other's transports:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s
Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.
Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction
embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.

In fact, the above FAQ question goes one better, as it's saying they don't even have to be in the same detachment, they just need the same faction.

If we are saying these Ynarri units have both factions, both of the above FAQ questions apply, which is a bit annoying. I'm inclined to think GW would say "Having both factions overrides not having the same faction".

Captyn_Bob wrote:


If someone had asked the question
Q: Can units that are the same faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?


They did

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2017/02/14 20:13:25


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

I agree that the original interpretation of the rule was clear and the FAQ blatantly changed it, but that doesn't make it any less of a rule*



*and by rule I mean the instruction we have been given by the company that writes the instructions by which we play this game.
You can denounce the FAQ all you want (and I'll agree there are some head scratchers) but by the strictest application of this game, the FAQ/Erratas are the final word. Choosing not to use them is fine, but at that point you are making a house rule. Not everyone uses the same house rules, but EVERYONE can use the same FAQ.


My frustration with this is that I believe that Ynnari units should be able to deploy in each other transports, no matter what there original faction is. They are all Ynnari
But since there is still a bit of grey and this is a new unique situation, I am preparing myself for the argument against it.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/14 20:17:07


   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I think it's pretty clear that all units in the reborn war-hosts are the same faction. So being the same faction and even being taken in the same detachment. I don't know how you could argue that I couldn't take a DE Raider (fast attack section) and put 5 WG in it at the start of the game.

-Reborn warhosts units can use any reborn warhosts vehicals for transport.
-Reborn warhost Eldar units can use a CAD Beil-Tan Eldars transports too.

Dont forget none of this overrides the dedicated transport rulings. You still have to follow those.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




these multi faction detachments are just plain banana's in terms of what can do what.

Why don't they just FAQ stating that a detachment that has multiple units from different factions do not use allies as they are one faction for rules purposes
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 Xenomancers wrote:
I think it's pretty clear that all units in the reborn war-hosts are the same faction. So being the same faction and even being taken in the same detachment. I don't know how you could argue that I couldn't take a DE Raider (fast attack section) and put 5 WG in it at the start of the game.

-Reborn warhosts units can use any reborn warhosts vehicals for transport.
-Reborn warhost Eldar units can use a CAD Beil-Tan Eldars transports too.

Dont forget none of this overrides the dedicated transport rulings. You still have to follow those.


The argument (and please let me be clear, I do not agree with this, but) is that while they are the SAME faction, they are also DIFFERENT factions if taken from other codices (Eldar & Harlies, for example). So while this would apply:
Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction
embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes

This would also apply::
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s
Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

So the question is whether they are the Same faction or Different faction. They cannot be both AND still satisfy both above FAQs
Until FAQ'd, this is basically a roll-off situation, which means you still can't build a list around it as you might loss the roll off. Then what are your WG gonna do? Emark turn 1 onto a dead Raider?

-

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/14 21:35:37


   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Galef wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
I think it's pretty clear that all units in the reborn war-hosts are the same faction. So being the same faction and even being taken in the same detachment. I don't know how you could argue that I couldn't take a DE Raider (fast attack section) and put 5 WG in it at the start of the game.

-Reborn warhosts units can use any reborn warhosts vehicals for transport.
-Reborn warhost Eldar units can use a CAD Beil-Tan Eldars transports too.

Dont forget none of this overrides the dedicated transport rulings. You still have to follow those.


The argument (and please let me be clear, I do not agree with this, but) is that while they are the SAME faction, they are also DIFFERENT factions if taken from other codices (Eldar & Harlies, for example). So while this would apply:
Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction
embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes

This would also apply::
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s
Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

So the question is whether they are the Same faction or Different faction. They cannot be both AND still satisfy both above FAQs
Until FAQ'd, this is basically a roll-off situation, which means you still can't build a list around it as you might loss the roll off. Then what are your WG gonna do? Emark turn 1 onto a dead Raider?

-

Sadly, I now agree with this, RAW. The ally matrix says you have to use it when two models have different factions (which they do), and says nothing about models that have different factions, while still having a faction in common. So you're both allowed and forbidden to embark upon each other transports…

That being said, I played yesterday and everybody was okay for shared transport, as it seems in the spirit of the new Ynarri detachment (and people not interested in Ynarri never imagined it could be anything different). I think most people would be okay with this ruling, but I think it's a houserule at the moment.
   
Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript






Ynnari/Eldar Banshees are BBs with Ynnari/Dark Eldar Raider as they have different faction. One has Eldar, the other has Dark Eldar.
It does not matter that they both also have Ynnari, as the allies matrix is applied to units with different factions, which these 2 units have. Thus they consider each other BBs


If you want to think ynnari eldar and ynnari dark eldar are battle brothers with each other, what about pure ynnari models and ynnari eldar/dark eldar/harlequins. Would that mean yvraine and the visarch can't start in transports in a ynnari detachment as all those transports and their second faction would be battle brothers as yvraine and the visarch are only ynnari and not any other faction? These characters are forever forced to start the game on foot? Doesn't that seem like an unnecessary ding against them?


//ALL GLORY TO THE PARTRIDGES

//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hard to understand how people are rules lawyering that two units that have the faction Ynnari cannot be the same faction. Pretending that 'Ynnari/Dark Eldar' is a specific faction is pure nonsense.

The book states that all units in the reborn warhost have the Ynnari faction, thus they are the same faction and the allies rule doesn't apply.

Taking them outside the detachment that grants that faction would remove their ability to share a ride.

This kind of thing will definitely be clarified if 40k adopts the keywords system that AOS uses.

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Silentz wrote:
Hard to understand how people are rules lawyering that two units that have the faction Ynnari cannot be the same faction. Pretending that 'Ynnari/Dark Eldar' is a specific faction is pure nonsense.

The book states that all units in the reborn warhost have the Ynnari faction, thus they are the same faction and the allies rule doesn't apply.

Taking them outside the detachment that grants that faction would remove their ability to share a ride.

This kind of thing will definitely be clarified if 40k adopts the keywords system that AOS uses.

The last quote on the rule I read stated that they gain the Ynarri faction in addition to their current one. In other words, the units in the detachments carry two Factions with them at all time.

So while their Eldar Faction may not trigger the Allies rules, the Ynnari would be Battle Brothers to the Eldar, and vice versa.

So, if that quote was correct, then they will always be Battle Brothers to every other unit in that same detachment, even if they are Dedicated Transports.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





 Charistoph wrote:
Silentz wrote:
Hard to understand how people are rules lawyering that two units that have the faction Ynnari cannot be the same faction. Pretending that 'Ynnari/Dark Eldar' is a specific faction is pure nonsense.

The book states that all units in the reborn warhost have the Ynnari faction, thus they are the same faction and the allies rule doesn't apply.

Taking them outside the detachment that grants that faction would remove their ability to share a ride.

This kind of thing will definitely be clarified if 40k adopts the keywords system that AOS uses.

The last quote on the rule I read stated that they gain the Ynarri faction in addition to their current one. In other words, the units in the detachments carry two Factions with them at all time.

So while their Eldar Faction may not trigger the Allies rules, the Ynnari would be Battle Brothers to the Eldar, and vice versa.

Sorry, but I totally disagree with your conclusion there. I have no skin in the game - don't have a single Eldar model - but it seems clear that units in that detachment are all granted the faction Ynnari and become the same faction as each other. Yes, they have their codex detachments as well but that is irrelevant for this interaction.

They are the same faction (Ynnari) in the same Detachment (Reborn Warhost) so the Allies rules do not come into play.

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Eldar = Same Factions, can start in transport
Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Dark Eldar = Same Faction AND Different Factions, cannot start in transport

Same Faction units can begin in Same Faction transports. Different Factions cannot
If you have 1 'can' and 1 'cannot', then the answer is 'cannot'
It is really that simple

Otherwise, a unit that fired an Assault weapon at unit A, could charge unit B instead. Assault weapons give permission to assault, but you still have to charge the unit you shot at
Or, Units in a Raider that Deep Strikes could disembark and assault that turn. Open-topped makes the Raider an assault vehicle, but you still cannot assault from Reserves
In both cases, you have a "can" and a "cannot". You must have permission in every regard to do an action. 1 "cannot" in a see of "cans" is still a "cannot"

-

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/02/15 14:04:35


   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Silentz wrote:
Sorry, but I totally disagree with your conclusion there. I have no skin in the game - don't have a single Eldar model - but it seems clear that units in that detachment are all granted the faction Ynnari and become the same faction as each other. Yes, they have their codex detachments as well but that is irrelevant for this interaction.

They are the same faction (Ynnari) in the same Detachment (Reborn Warhost) so the Allies rules do not come into play.

Nope. Unless it was a misquote of the rule, I am perfectly accurate.

 Galef wrote:
Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Eldar = Same Factions, can start in transport
Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Dark Eldar = Same Faction AND Different Factions, cannot start in transport

Same Faction units can begin in Same Faction transports. Different Factions cannot
If you have 1 'can' and 1 'cannot', then the answer is 'cannot'
It is really that simple

Otherwise, a unit that fired an Assault weapon at unit A, could charge unit B instead. Assault weapons give permission to assault, but you still have to charge the unit you shot at
Or, Units in a Raider that Deep Strikes could disembark and assault that turn. Open-topped makes the Raider an assault vehicle, but you still cannot assault from Reserves
In both cases, you have a "can" and a "cannot". You must have permission in every regard to do an action. 1 "cannot" in a see of "cans" is still a "cannot"

This is your misconception, there is no Ynnari/Eldar Faction. Ynnari and Eldar are two separate Factions, not the same Faction. The Ynnari is Battle Brothers to Eldar, and vice versa.

When it is checked to see if the Ynnari & Eldar Transport can carry a unit, it will see Eldar and Ynnari Factions in the unit. The Ynnari of the Transport is Battle Brothers with the Eldar of the Unit, and the Eldar of the Transport is Battle Brothers with the Ynnari of the unit.

So we have a case of 1 cannot and 1 can, the cannots win.

If you could quote the rule as being different than the "in addition to" that has been previously submitted, then I will accede.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/15 14:52:01


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





 Galef wrote:
Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Eldar = Same Faction, can start in transport
Ynnari/Eldar - Ynnari/Dark Eldar = Same Faction AND Different Faction, cannot start in transport

It is really that simple
For the record, I I donn't think it is that simple - I understand your point that you feel ALL factions should match, but I think ANY faction matching is sufficient to say they are the same faction. I don't agree with your assertion that Ynnari/Dark Eldar is a faction. I think the unit is both Ynnari AND Dark Eldar, not some kind of combo. Ynnari is a faction. Both have it. That's good enough for me to say they are the same faction.

I dunno. Why they don't FAQ this transports ruling is beyond me, particularly as they keep releasing new books (Imperial Agents, Fall of Cadia and Fracture of Biel Tan) which immediately throw everyone's arms in the air asking the same question over and over.

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

I see what you are saying, Charistoph, but it's implications mean that no Aeldari unit can ever start in its own Dedicated transport. And that is quite frankly ridiculous.
The best way to resolve this is to consider units with all the same factions in common as, well, the same faction and not different. Or have any units with a single faction in common as wholly the same faction, no matter what other factions those units may have.

GW really should have just said that Ynnari "replaces" the existing faction, while still counting as their original faction for rules that apply to Eldar, Dark Eldar or Harlequins.

And btw, I am not saying the Ynnari/Eldar is a faction, I am just using that as short hand for a unit that is both Ynnari and Eldar.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/15 15:14:53


   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Galef wrote:
I see what you are saying, Charistoph, but it's implications mean that no Aeldari unit can ever start in its own Dedicated transport. And that is quite frankly ridiculous.
The best way to resolve this is to consider units with all the same factions in common as, well, the same faction and not different. Or have any units with a single faction in common as wholly the same faction, no matter what other factions those units may have.

There are a lot of GW rules that cause such situations, but you were presenting it as how the written rules were presented, not how you would play it. Sadly, the FAQ messed this part up more than anything known.

And no, this is not the best way to resolve this. The best way to resolve it is change the FAQ answer regarding Battle Brothers and Transports to reflect what is actually written in the rulebook.

The next best way to resolve it is:
 Galef wrote:
GW really should have just said that Ynnari "replaces" the existing faction, while still counting as their original faction for rules that apply to Eldar, Dark Eldar or Harlequins.

This gets around those pesky little things, but that would also mean that GW cares enough about the game to take time to map out their rules. That's not going to happen till the next edition, at least.

 Galef wrote:
And btw, I am not saying the Ynnari/Eldar is a faction, I am just using that as short hand for a unit that is both Ynnari and Eldar.

It was presented as such, which leads to confusion for other readers and can lead the writer into a mistaken premises by eventually believing what they have written. A similar convention when considering how certain people believe Stubborn "confers".

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Or we could apply the guidance given in the faq in the context it is given, and not apply it in a way that breaks perfectly clear rules? Rules which represent a new dynamic, unspecified by any FAQ.

This is one of the better written bits in the new book , it allows everything in the one detachment to get along.(unlike the issues in the fall of Cadia detachment)


DFTT 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Considering that all the units in question were already battle brothers. What would be the purpose of creating a new faction called Ynnari if the units in question weren't intended to function like they were in fact their own faction? It would be a complete waste of time if the intention was not to allow these units to function together like they would if they were from the same codex (which they actually are) because everything would function exactly the same with just the battle brothers and ally matrix (if your understanding of factions is that a unit with 2 factions is actually a unique factions instead of having 2 factions they function with.)

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Xenomancers wrote:
Considering that all the units in question were already battle brothers. What would be the purpose of creating a new faction called Ynnari if the units in question weren't intended to function like they were in fact their own faction? It would be a complete waste of time if the intention was not to allow these units to function together like they would if they were from the same codex (which they actually are) because everything would function exactly the same with just the battle brothers and ally matrix (if your understanding of factions is that a unit with 2 factions is actually a unique factions instead of having 2 factions they function with.)

Yes, the intention is clear, and when I played no one had issues with shared transports for Ynarris. I suppose many players would feel the same.
It's just that some places (like most tournaments), don't care at all about RAI, but only about RAW.
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





As far i'm concerned the double faction only applies to the armies they can be part, ( windriders are Eldar faction so only eligible for Eldar armies, when fielded in Ynnari armies they gain the Ynnari faction and count as Ynnari not both)

This means if i field a Ynnari detachment all units within are Ynnati faction and BB to Eldar,DE or Harlies.

I think people are giving to much importance to doble faction when all it indicates it's this unit can be fielded as part of 2 different factions.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'll have to look this up later, but at least in Magic if a card says to target a "non-black" creature, and the creature is black and green, then you still can't target it because it IS black, regardless of what other colours it has. From what I've seen here, the rules ask whether two models have different factions. By the RAW, it doesn't matter if they're the same AND different faction, because by definition they do have a different faction. If this is worded even just slightly differently (checks to see if they're NOT the same faction), then it'll see that they ARE the same faction, because whether or not they are also a different faction wouldn't matter.

So yeah, if it defines allies as being a unit with a different faction, then they're Battle Brothers and can't start in each other's transports, even if they're both Ynnari.

However, if it defines allies as being a unit that doesn't have the same faction, then they're not Battle Brothers and CAN start in each other's transports, because they're all Ynnari.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/15 16:26:35


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






That's not what it says. It says they gain the Ynnari faction in addition to their own faction if taken as part of the reborn warhost.

They have 2 factions.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

Consider one more example. Ynarri are battle brothers with Eldar. If I choose a Ynarri unit of Dire Avengers and take a dedicated transport for them, I could argue that the dire avengers are Ynarri and the dedicated transport is Eldar, and therefore battle brothers. The dire avengers cannot deploy on their own dedicated transport!


Actually this example is flawed because the FAQ states:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Underline emphasis mine - it has nothing to say about units trying to embark in their own dedicated transport so they can.

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I don't like the magic analogy but i'll bite on it because it has similar logical ques.

There is a lot of destroy target non black creature cards in magic. You can't use them on any creature including multi colored creatures that have a black type. Black green creatures are still immune to destroy target non black creature kills.

Same can be said about determining the type of creature. If you have a mana cost of that color type - you are that type regardless of all other types.

Same can said about land walk - you control 1 mountain? and 3 swamps? They can mountain walk on you.

Factions I believe work the same way. As long as you have a matching faction - you are the same faction - regardless of all other factions.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
fresus wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
Considering that all the units in question were already battle brothers. What would be the purpose of creating a new faction called Ynnari if the units in question weren't intended to function like they were in fact their own faction? It would be a complete waste of time if the intention was not to allow these units to function together like they would if they were from the same codex (which they actually are) because everything would function exactly the same with just the battle brothers and ally matrix (if your understanding of factions is that a unit with 2 factions is actually a unique factions instead of having 2 factions they function with.)

Yes, the intention is clear, and when I played no one had issues with shared transports for Ynarris. I suppose many players would feel the same.
It's just that some places (like most tournaments), don't care at all about RAI, but only about RAW.

I suspect this wont be an issue for 99% of players....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/15 16:44:43


If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Mr Morden wrote:
Consider one more example. Ynarri are battle brothers with Eldar. If I choose a Ynarri unit of Dire Avengers and take a dedicated transport for them, I could argue that the dire avengers are Ynarri and the dedicated transport is Eldar, and therefore battle brothers. The dire avengers cannot deploy on their own dedicated transport!


Actually this example is flawed because the FAQ states:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Underline emphasis mine - it has nothing to say about units trying to embark in their own dedicated transport so they can.


The rules for dedicated transports on page 120 say "but for all other rules purposes count as having the same Battlefield role and Faction (if any)" the dedicated transport would have the same factions as the Dire Avengers. We're really dealing more with a question such as could a Ynarri Farseer be joined to a unit of Ynarri Kabelite Warriors and deploy in their Raider.. As the rules stand, even though both are Ynarri, one is Eldar and one is Dark Eldar faction, so you couldn't.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Mr Morden wrote:
Consider one more example. Ynarri are battle brothers with Eldar. If I choose a Ynarri unit of Dire Avengers and take a dedicated transport for them, I could argue that the dire avengers are Ynarri and the dedicated transport is Eldar, and therefore battle brothers. The dire avengers cannot deploy on their own dedicated transport!


Actually this example is flawed because the FAQ states:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Underline emphasis mine - it has nothing to say about units trying to embark in their own dedicated transport so they can.


Expanding on this, the FAQ does not say a unit can never deploy in a transport with a different faction, only that battle brothers can't deploy in each other's transports. If the unit and transport share a faction it seems like there is a strong case for saying they are deploying in their own transport, so the each other's clause never comes into play.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Fhionnuisce wrote:

Expanding on this, the FAQ does not say a unit can never deploy in a transport with a different faction, only that battle brothers can't deploy in each other's transports. If the unit and transport share a faction it seems like there is a strong case for saying they are deploying in their own transport, so the each other's clause never comes into play.

The issue is that we do not know if units on a Reborn Host are considered BBs or not. There is no precedent for units with multiple Factions.

Take a Reborn Host with WraithGuard and a Raider. They are both Ynnari. Cool. But they are also Eldar & Dark Eldar respectively.
Even though they are from the SAME detachment, having different factions makes them treat each other like BBs. Ergo having the same faction wouldn't matter.

HYWPI: Ynnari are Ynnari and can start in each others transports. But I could not, in good conscience, support that RAW.

-

   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

I view it as such. Eldar are red. Dark Eldar are blue. Ynnari is yellow. Adding yellow to red or blue does not make them the same color.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Galef wrote:
Fhionnuisce wrote:

Expanding on this, the FAQ does not say a unit can never deploy in a transport with a different faction, only that battle brothers can't deploy in each other's transports. If the unit and transport share a faction it seems like there is a strong case for saying they are deploying in their own transport, so the each other's clause never comes into play.

The issue is that we do not know if units on a Reborn Host are considered BBs or not. There is no precedent for units with multiple Factions.

Take a Reborn Host with WraithGuard and a Raider. They are both Ynnari. Cool. But they are also Eldar & Dark Eldar respectively.
Even though they are from the SAME detachment, having different factions makes them treat each other like BBs. Ergo having the same faction wouldn't matter.

HYWPI: Ynnari are Ynnari and can start in each others transports. But I could not, in good conscience, support that RAW.

-


I'm inclined to think they are not meant to test each other as BB. In fact I think the whole reason they keep their original faction is (ironically considering the thread) so they can deploy in their original faction's transports.

I don't think it needs to matter when talking about Ynnari units and Ynnari transports though. Ownership isn't exclusively yours or mine, it could also be ours. To the WG dude in your example, any Ynnari transports or Eldar transports would be seen by him as mine. Any Dark Eldar transports yours/theirs. Any Ynnari/Dark Eldar transports though he would see at worst as ours. If ours then he still had ownership so he's not using "each other's" transport, he's using his own. The fact that there is a BB faction involved doesn't matter as long as he's not using someone else's transport.

That's how I see it and I'm a certain as it's possible to be when speculating on someone else's reasoning that is how the rules writers for this intended it to be viewed. Of course we could have eliminated any ambiguity had they bothered to explain their FAQ answer instead of just "No."


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Galef wrote:
Fhionnuisce wrote:

Expanding on this, the FAQ does not say a unit can never deploy in a transport with a different faction, only that battle brothers can't deploy in each other's transports. If the unit and transport share a faction it seems like there is a strong case for saying they are deploying in their own transport, so the each other's clause never comes into play.

The issue is that we do not know if units on a Reborn Host are considered BBs or not. There is no precedent for units with multiple Factions.

Take a Reborn Host with WraithGuard and a Raider. They are both Ynnari. Cool. But they are also Eldar & Dark Eldar respectively.
Even though they are from the SAME detachment, having different factions makes them treat each other like BBs. Ergo having the same faction wouldn't matter.

HYWPI: Ynnari are Ynnari and can start in each others transports. But I could not, in good conscience, support that RAW.

-


I'm inclined to think they are not meant to treat each other as BB. In fact I think the whole reason they keep their original faction is (ironically considering the thread) so they can deploy in their original faction's transports.

I don't think it needs to matter when talking about Ynnari units and Ynnari transports though. Ownership isn't exclusively yours or mine, it could also be ours. To the WG dude in your example, any Ynnari transports or Eldar transports would be seen by him as mine. Any Dark Eldar transports yours/theirs. Any Ynnari/Dark Eldar transports though he would see at worst as ours. If ours then he still had ownership so he's not using "each other's" transport, he's using his own. The fact that there is a BB faction involved doesn't matter as long as he's not using someone else's transport.

That's how I see it and I'm a certain as it's possible to be when speculating on someone else's reasoning that is how the rules writers for this intended it to be viewed. Of course we could have eliminated any ambiguity had they bothered to explain their FAQ answer instead of just "No."


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The more I think about it the more it seems you would only have to match one faction to exempt the unit from the each other clause. Any other interpretation seems to lead to Ynnari units can never deploy in transports. Even if you have WG (factions Ynnari and Eldar) and a Wave Serpent (factions Ynnari and Eldar), you still have the problem since Ynnari and Eldar are BB with each other. So even with an exact faction match you still have a BB transport.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/15 20:20:21


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




I would say that if you have a reborn warhost with a unit of dire avengers in it, and a Combined Arms Detachment formed of Dark Eldar with a Raider in it, then they are battle brothers as both ynarri and eldar are BB with dark eldar, and the dire avengers couldn't deploy in it.

If you had the same reborn warhost but had a CAD of eldar instead, and that CAD had a wave serpent in it, the dire avengers could deploy in it as a unit can deploy in transports of the same faction, even if it is in a different detachment.

Within the reborn warhost, I'd say any unit within the detachment could deploy in any (non dedicated) transport within the same reborn war host (or ynarri formation) as they also share the same faction, regardless of the fact they also have second factions. That's HIWPI and I understand that there isn't enough RAW to show this 100%.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: