Switch Theme:

Magnetokinesis - Land Raiders - Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Hello Dakka,

Considering making a fun list with terminators, and weighing my options for deployment.

I think this should be possible - not sure how smart it is - but want to make sure it is before I think about it.

1. Take a Land Raider Redeemer, fill it with terminators.
2. Take a Psyker with Magnetokinesis.
3. Cast Magnetokinesis on the land raider; Move it forward up to 18"
4. Drop wicked flames, a melta shot, and some assault cannon.
5. Assault from the redeemer with your terminators. Not possible. Disembarking occurs in movement.

[strike]Now, Magnetokinesis mentions that the target cannot charge. However, the terminators were not the target - the land raider was, so they should be able to charge from it since it is an assault vehicle. [/strike]

Then, the following turn:
1. [strike]Cast Electrodisplacement on the land raider[/strike] nope. must target non vehicles.
2. Move the Psyker and his unit up to where it was.
3. Charge with this unit. Or, if someone charged the land raider expecting an easy kill and it survives, surprise, you're in combat with a squad designed for melee.

I don't expect to win competitive games, but this could be hilarious & fun. it would give me a very high likelihood of having a realistic 20-26" charge range on turn 1. (Could be up to 30" but planning on 2 6's in charge is cray cray).

EDIT: updated with current rulings. thanks to the community.

What you *can* do is drop pod in some units, and then electrodisplace them with your terminators and then charge. It's such a roundabout way to get a reliable charge with terminators. But what made this fun was the land raider. I am deeply saddened by the fact that you can't do this.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/02/20 21:33:07


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton





Magnetokinesis says "the model then may make a move of 18"."

Models can't disembark from a transport that has moved more than 6" unless they have special rules.

I'd say no, but good try!
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






For the Magnetokinesis one, if you move the Land Raider in the Psychic phase, then you've already missed the opportunity to disembark with the Terminators - they are a separate unit from the Land Raider (even if it's Dedicated) and don't get a bonus move if the LR is what was targeted. They cannot declare a charge directly from within the LR.

Not sure on the Electro stuff.

   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Hmm.

The magneto rule says:

"and all models in the unit count as having moved in the Movement phase for the purposes of shooting weapons in the Shooting phase."

The way this is written, I would say that the Land Raider hasn't moved in its movement phase, it has moved in the psychic phase. Which means, it would get another 6" move in the movement phase.

Finally, would that mean the LR could only fire its primary weapon, if the 18" is a move? Even though it's not moving flat out, or anything?

Second question:

If you throw down a drop pod, you could swap the librarian and a set of terminators with electrodisplacement. Thereby, charging turn 1 in the place of the drop pod, provided it was within 24". Right? Would the units that disembarked from the pod be pulled back as well?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Quanar wrote:
For the Magnetokinesis one, if you move the Land Raider in the Psychic phase, then you've already missed the opportunity to disembark with the Terminators - they are a separate unit from the Land Raider (even if it's Dedicated) and don't get a bonus move if the LR is what was targeted. They cannot declare a charge directly from within the LR.

Not sure on the Electro stuff.


Yes but technically it counts as a move only for the purposes of shooting, not moving, so in theory it could move again. it doesn't lose its movement phase.


EDIT 2: Blah, I probably won't be doing this. The land raider is what made it fun. charging terminators without the land raider is sadface mcdisappointing. I so badly wanted to use the land raider in a cool way. And on that note, may as well just take the stupid save reroll power and make them tanky at that point. Dang! I wanted this bad.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/02/20 21:12:46


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Marmatag wrote:
Hmm.

The magneto rule says:

"and all models in the unit count as having moved in the Movement phase for the purposes of shooting weapons in the Shooting phase."

The way this is written, I would say that the Land Raider hasn't moved in its movement phase, it has moved in the psychic phase. Which means, it would get another 6" move in the movement phase.

The Psychic phase occurs after the Movement phase.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

 Ghaz wrote:
 Marmatag wrote:
Hmm.

The magneto rule says:

"and all models in the unit count as having moved in the Movement phase for the purposes of shooting weapons in the Shooting phase."

The way this is written, I would say that the Land Raider hasn't moved in its movement phase, it has moved in the psychic phase. Which means, it would get another 6" move in the movement phase.

The Psychic phase occurs after the Movement phase.


As you can see, I have little experience with the psychic phase. Also, we've been playing it wrong for some time.

Dream smashed. Thanks for the help though, guys, much appreciated

After further research electrodisplacement doesn't work either because it has to target non-vehicles. These powers are so mediocre it's stunning. Or, i'm a moron for misreading them. Both are possible.

EDIT: Screw it, i'm going to do this anyway. they'll wait a turn before charging. big deal.

Second question: does the 18" move restrict the guns you can fire? or is it all guns?

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2017/02/20 21:25:49


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: