Switch Theme:

Charging a vehicle with troops in it  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Grovelin' Grot Rigger




Howdy all,

Might have missed this in the rules but I tend to play CSM or IG with my boyz so this comes up a lot....
If I charge a vehicle that has troops in it, and then pop it in the same turn, my opponent promptly removes his destroyed vehicle and places the troops there. So I have two questions:
1. Am I in combat (i.e. could attack with boyz who haven't attacked yet) with the troop unit? Are they engaged with me i.e. tarpitted?
2. Can other troop units now charge the enemy troops that have just "appeared"?

So I have a few scenarios..
a. I have a unit with a warboss, a boss nob and 10 boyz. On initiative 1 the boss nob hits a rhino with a PK and gets a destroyed pen (lukky). Can my warboss now lay in to the troops that were in the rhino and are now on the field?

b. Same unit, same thing, Rhino pops, but I have another unit of boyz 5 inches away, can I now declare a charge against the troops that are now on the field with the second boyz unit?

Fanks javascript:emoticon('');
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

1. No. The embarked unit is a separate unit from the one you assaulted and you are not locked/engaged with them.

2. No. All charge moves should be made before you conduct any attacks. if you have started swinging, it is too late to charge another unit.

a. No, see above
b. No, see above

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Grovelin' Grot Rigger




Great thanks!

That's a kick in the pants... nothing new there...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




perlot wrote:
Great thanks!

That's a kick in the pants... nothing new there...


Read up on how troops in side are placed after their transport is destroyed. It is often very easy to destroy all or most of the troops if they cannot be placed after their vehicle is destroyed, particulary with Orks and surrounding the vehicle.
   
Made in gb
Grovelin' Grot Rigger




Thanks for that.. had a read around that... there is something in the disembarking section about an emergency disembarkation... so I'm thinking if it the vehicle only has one exit, and my boyz are on that, then they would have to an emergency, which means they can't do anything else this TURN, so that includes them. So they sit there, and provided I am still around, I can charge 'em next turn!

I didn't find anything about destroying them though?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, you could charge them next turn (though if you destroyed the vehicle in your turn, they would be able to act during their turn - it's only that player turn that they can't do anything).

If the models can't be placed (say, the enemy has the vehicle surrounded, so you can't place the models more than 1" away from an enemy model), the models that can't be placed are destroyed.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

perlot wrote:
I didn't find anything about destroying them though?

Check 'Effects Of Damage On Passengers', second, third and fourth bullet points (main rulebook, pg. 82).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/24 17:01:58


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 doctortom wrote:
Yes, you could charge them next turn (though if you destroyed the vehicle in your turn, they would be able to act during their turn - it's only that player turn that they can't do anything).

If the models can't be placed (say, the enemy has the vehicle surrounded, so you can't place the models more than 1" away from an enemy model), the models that can't be placed are destroyed.

Indeed, IF the Transport was Wrecked. It's possible for some to be place if it Explodes, though.

Part of the problem with Wrecking is that the unit has to Disembark before the Transport model is converted to terrain. If they can be placed base to hull next to an Entry Point, and 1" away from an Enemy mdoel, then this isn't a problem. If they can be placed base to hull away from the Entry Point and 1" away from an Enemy, then they do an Emergency Disembark. All Embarked models have to be in base contact before they move away from the Wrecked Transport. If any model violates these restrictions or no models can be placed at all, then they are removed from play.

So if the Orks Wreck the Transport and have it almost completely surrounded, leaving less than 3" available around the Transport, the unit is dead.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in hu
Devastating Dark Reaper




If you block every Entry Point when it's wrecked, it goes to Emergency Disembarkation.
You place the models one by one to a point of the hull that is not blocked, then move them.

There is even a picture of it in the BRB.

I can hardly imagine a case, where you can completely encircle a transport, even with a bunch of boyz.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Easier to surround it with warbikers than boyz
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Tyrpak wrote:
I can hardly imagine a case, where you can completely encircle a transport, even with a bunch of boyz.

If the enemy models were in base contact with a Rhino, surrounding it enough so that there was a less than 25mm+1in gap between each enemy, and there were 10 Marines inside, there wouldn't be enough room on the Rhino chassis for all the Marine bases. The problem is rolling enough charge range to get to the backside of a Rhino, but if you can do that it's pretty simple.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Plenty of scenarios where part of the hull is right next to something impassable already. Let's say two Rhinos are side by side. If you charge one of them from the 'open side', you'd only need to surround the side you're charging, the front and the back. The other side is already covered by the second Rhino.

This is potentially easier to do if you have your own Vehicles to roll up alongside the Transport you want to assault. You could use literally any models to help block off a Transport. Anything with JSJ helps to give you a little more range to get into position. I've used units of Gun Drones to block off the backside of a Transport while allied SMs with Thunder Hammers crack it open. Everyone inside dies.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






It's definitely possible to surround a vehicle such that the unit inside dies on wrecking it. And you don't need 30 orks to do it either, just a decent charge range so you can actually surround it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: